We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lip Smackin Good!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal Lake Rib House

Crystal Lake Rib House
5111 E Terra Cotta Ave, Crystal Lake, IL 60014
815-477-3600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 122 Restaurants in Crystal Lake
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
Restaurant details
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lip Smackin Good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Crystal Lake Rib House is known for their ribs and pulled port meals, which I have enjoyed numerous times, but they also offer battered pollock that is excellent! I get the dinner of 3 pieces, but if you can eat more, try the "all you can eat!" We were at their new restaurant last week and devoured all the fish on our plates and a lot of the steak fries too. Don't usually eat fries, but theirs are tasty. Suggest you try it!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    18
    7
    13
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crystal Lake, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

This is a must if you're visiting the Crystal Lake area and like ribs. You get a ton of great food for a good price and friendly service. You will not leave here hungry. Also I like the fact that it is an actual house. It adds character.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake in the Hills, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Thanks to the New Chef”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

visiting the new location was not much different than the old, confused wait staff, but still tasty,watching from the carry out it's obvious the chef has full control and professionalism in worked running the kitchen,he worked on the orders, ran for every beck and call,you could clearly hear his name Carlton!!!! Thanks chef Great job!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Illinois
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Like the new location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Went to check out the new location. Much nicer and they have a banquet room too. The ribs were wonderful, the honey butter, roll and coleslaw were delicious.
I ordered the red potatoes to avoid some fat from the fries, but they were swimming in butter. Next time I'll just get the fries. Our server was not very attentive, but we did enjoy our meal.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“You would think being in business since 1982 it would be better.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Very disappointed, Ribs were from the day before, quickly reheated for my meal at 5:30 on a Thursday. Beans were passable, kids burgers ok, server tried to make it up me but too little too late. I was hoping she didn't ask if we were happy. Just wanted to get out Never to return.
Website shows Kids eat free Tuesday & Thursday but no mention while we there. My fault again for not bringing it up. just do the right thing, serve good BBQ and I'll be back. Plenty of other places get it right , Gale Street, Great Escape, even Portillo's & Village Pizza serve better BBQ.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crystal Lake Rib House also viewed

 

Been to Crystal Lake Rib House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crystal Lake Rib House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.