We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude Hostess” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Benedict's La Strata

Benedict's La Strata
40 N Williams St, Crystal Lake, IL 60014-4472
815-459-6500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 120 Restaurants in Crystal Lake
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: This is the best breakfast place in Crystal Lake. The menu is great, the food is great, the atmosphere is great, the prices are great. Please add it!! look at the google review here http://maps.google.com/maps/place?hl=en&um=1&ie=UTF-8&q=benedict%27s+la+strata+crystal+lake&fb=1&gl=us&hq=benedict%27s+la+strata&hnear=Crystal+Lake,+IL&cid=6372799243711111990&dtab=2&ei=rj6rTJTCBsT_nAfvyJXEBg&sa=X&oi=local_result&ct=result&resnum=1&ved=0CBoQqgUwAA
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Rude Hostess”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

i have been here several times and have always been disappointed. The food is okay, but not great. The last time we went there they gave away our reservation because we were 10 minutes late. Then we were told we would have to wait 45 minutes to an hour for a table. The hostess was hauty and gave us a lecture about being late. I will never go back there.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    17
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Lunch Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Lunched there this week -- large ladies crowd, some couples -- not your typical business lunch spot, but good menu and excellent service. Standout: freshly-squeezed orange juice with strawberry juice. I could've made a meal of that alone!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Execllent food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We have become fans of Benedict's La Strata in Crystal Lake. I would highlight the quality and taste of every meal I have been served, and the service with which it has been presented. A lovely outdoor patio overlooks downtown Crystal lake activities, while a quaint interior dining experience awaits you with light conversation and wonderful food and wine to be enjoyed.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Delicious!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

First time at Benedicts. Food was outstanding...interesting combinations. I had the Talapia and it was excellent. Wine selection was limited, but adequate. Service was attentive. Restaurant was jammed on a Sat night at 6:30. Ambiance leaves something to be desired, but all in all, glad we dined there and would return!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRYSTAL LAKE
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“homey atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

The menu at Benedict's is so interesting; there is something for everyone. Breakfast and brunch are delicious; the best in town. the atmosphere is cozy. Great coffee, too

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Benedict's La Strata also viewed

 

Been to Benedict's La Strata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Benedict's La Strata, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.