We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so good” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Countryside

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Countryside to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Countryside
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6201 West Joliet Rd., Countryside, IL 60525   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Countryside
Normal, Illinois, United States
1 review
“Not so good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I've been pretty blessed with the hotels I've stayed at, I guess, because this one, though not HORRIBLE, makes the grade for worst hotel I've ever stayed at. No fans in the bathroom = keeping my shower sandals on. Nails in the ceiling? Mold? Yep, this hotel has got it. Plus the pillows were like little tiny hard marshmallows.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Countryside, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Nora D,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the room conditions prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    32
    32
    17
    14
See reviews for
49
10
7
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
North Salt Lake, Utah
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I think its above average in services and amenities for a typical Holiday Inn. Its decor and finish is a little worn and dated but its clean and neat. They have bar/restaurant that is nice... have local patrons drop in for drinks which you don't see often at hotel bar. I'd stay for another 1 night stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Countryside, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear N T,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. Your satisfaction is important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. My apologies for any disappointment you may have had during your stay. We have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Nice clean rooms. Whirlpools awesome..two pools. Very relaxing pool area. Love that. Steam room and a hot sauna. Huge Bonus there. Gym equipment is adequate. Needs serious updated equipment. Lovely atmosphere. Hugely courteous and friendly staff. Wonderful food and services at William tell restaurant. I would recommend stsying here if you can enjoy the amenities.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

I needed a room for one night and the location was decent. I have to say that I expected more from a Holiday Inn. The first room we were given had a lot of ants. When we brought this to the attention of the front desk, they promptly moved us to another room (thank you). Unfortunately, we were met with more ants. The good thing, not as many as room number 1. We were told that because we were on the first floor, we would see ants. I have been on first floors before with no ants. And even though the second room had fewer living ants, the corners seemed to have dead ones in them - that I blame on housekeeping... I may stay at this hotel again, in a pinch and not on the first floor!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Countryside, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear LJSWD96,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We are very sorry to hear about the troubles you encountered over the ants. Rest assured that your comments will be looked into and take actions accordingly. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve. If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to let us know. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Countryside hotels

Hilton Head, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

For business, had the opportunity to stay in this hotel for 7 months. The location is great, close to highways and rail connections into Chicago. And the free shuttle is helpful for Midway and other local runs. A full service restaurant and sports bar themed lounge offer a wide selection of foods. Lots of restaurants in the area also. Beyond all this, and most important, the staff was excellent. Helpful, smiling, responsive. They made my stay pleasant and pass by so quickly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tecumseh, MI
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

It was very easy to find and had a lot in the area if you need anything. The front desk was nice but we had a mix up and ended up with an occupied room at first. My husband opened the door and let our kids go in first so we really dodged a bullet that the man in the room was only working out and was understanding. They fixed it quickly though and kept apologizing. The rooms could use major updating but it worked for our short stay.
The pool is dangerous! The tile is so slippery, even walking slow you have to be very careful. They had 2 hot tubs by a small pool for younger kids which was nice that we could relax while our 6 year old was right there. They have the local YMCA using the pool on tues and thurs morning so that put a kink in our plans and then Friday morning the pool cleaner was there at nine, also kinking our plans. Pool opens at 6 am, why not clean then?
Didn't try the restaurant but was bummed they don't follow most of the other Holiday Inns and offer a small free breakfast. Would have saved us a ton of time and money in our short, packed trip to Chicago.
Over all it was a decent stay but they could definitely make some improvements.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Countryside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Countryside

Address: 6201 West Joliet Rd., Countryside, IL 60525
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Countryside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Countryside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Countryside 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Countryside LaGrange hotel. Our facility offers 172 comfortable and newly renovated non-smoking guest rooms and suites, as well as banquet and meeting room facilities, situated in a classic setting just minutes from downtown Chicago, Chicago O'Hare International Airport and Chicago's Midway Airport. There is a complimentary shuttle, based on availability 6:30 AM-10:30 PM, for Midway arrivals/ departures. Shuttle must be booked in advance directly through the hotel. We feature a spectacular indoor recreational facility which is a must see! We boast an enticing restaurant on property, the William Tell Restaurant, which offers breakfast, lunch and fine International cuisine for dinner. The new look and menu at Stanley's Lounge offers a great option for lunch and cocktails. Our present clientele reflects our link to downtown Chicago and as a corridor to the western suburbs of Chicago. We are conveniently located to both I-55, the Stevenson Expressway, and I-294, the Tri-State Tollway. The accessibility to all major highways makes us a short drive to many business and leisure destinations. High-speed Internet access in all guest rooms and wireless access in the lobby, new business center, and lounge. You must be 21 years of age to rent a room. *Complimentary breakfast for guests is only Mon-Fri mornings for 2 ppl. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Countryside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Countryside Hotel Countryside
Countryside Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Countryside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.