We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cracking Curry well worth a visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amantola

Amantola
Welsh Road, Deeside CH5 2RF, Wales
: 01244 811 324
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 39 Restaurants in Deeside
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Cracking Curry well worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I have never been let down whenever I have visited the Amantola. The food is always of an excellent standard, whilst it's the service you receive that makes the place special and turns your meal into more of an experience. I haven't been for about a year or so but I've never witnessed this places standards drop. The interior is very clean and well presented, and the smells wafting through from the kitchen soon work up a keen appetite. I would highly recommend this restaurant to anybody out there, I have been with friends and family before and never had a bad do. The only downside I suppose is that is it's a bit off the beaten track, but on the upside it is easy to find being just off the Motorway. Well worth the trip to Wales.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    25
    8
    19
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Flintshire, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Food and Hospitality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Me and the missus fancied an Indian last Thursday so went to the Amantola having seen the adverts in the paper which looked good value. Haven't been for a few years, so was interested to see how much it had changed too.

Got there and were made to feel welcome as soon as we walked through the door. The staff are all really courteous and this counts for a lot as far as we're concerned. We were led to a table and asked if it was ok for us, which it was, so we sat and were asked if we would like to choose from the A la carte menu or whether we'd like the buffet option. We chose the A la carte because we have our specific tastes when it comes to Indian, and don't like getting too stuffed - plus it was Two-for-One on main courses! Must say though, the buffet looked impressive with loads of variety on offer.

Our food came in good time and was really tasty, appetising indian food, thoroughly enjoyed by both of us. Atmosphere was nice in there too, not overly busy but people seemingly enjoying themselves also. Two courses was enough for me, missus had a dessert (I let her because of the free main course haha!!) but I don't have a sweet tooth so enjoyed another beer! She said it was gorgeous, some sort of mint ice cream covered in chocolate which did look nice.

Got the bill, and fair do's, noticed that the free main course had made a pleasant difference - really good value for a nice, all-round restaurant experience.

Chose the right place on this occasion and won't be leaving it years before going back the next time. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Sunday Buffett was awful. Table cloth wa dirty and had holes into. Over priced as well. Disappointed and we left as soon as we could.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Food nice BUT”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

the food was nice, BUT the place needs to get new menu's which were torn and shabby, the plates were old and faded. The whole place looks like it was fitted out by Delboy!. My girlfriend had redwine which had sediment in the bottom, when she complained they were kind enough to bring her another one which when she got to the bottom again it was the same so sort of took the shine off what was really nice food. Revamp the place guys and it would be brilliant

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Great buffet, the quality and the range of food was amazing. They took the time to go round with me and identify anything that had gluten in it, and the price of just under £20 including alcoholic drinks was excellent. Would go again in a heartbeat.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amantola also viewed

Shotton, Flintshire
Shotton, Flintshire
 
Connah's Quay, Deeside
Connah's Quay, Deeside
 

Been to Amantola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amantola, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.