We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Greenacres Animal Park

Greenacres Animal Park
Cottage Lane, Deeside CH5 2AZ, Wales
01244 531147
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 9 things to do in Deeside
Attraction details
Cheshire, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Terrible”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Totally disappointed when we visited yesterday. Think it has new owners as lots have changed and not for the better. It used to be great value for money but cost me thirty five pound for one adult and three children to get in with a couple of rides each per child. Not able to hold any animals now just a quick stroke of a guinea pig, snake and a duck. My children used to love sitting in the circle holding and petting the animals so now total waste of time they were bored waiting with about forty other children all for one stroke of an. Animal. Tractor ride quite good fun still even though we were asked to move from the front to allow for school trip to take over best seats. My kids were not amused.cafe food ok but not cheap. Spent fifteen pound on three kids meals and drinks, taking my total spend to over fifty pound and my children were bored after a couple of hours unless they were in outside park area. Would have been better taking them to a public park!!! Zip wire and pony rides also gone!!! Will not go again.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    24
    19
    16
    28
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Prestatyn, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We visited Greenacres for the first time yesterday, we had a fantastic time, our 6 year old had plenty to do and lots to see. You can get close to all the animals which is a real bonus. This place is fantastic for a day out, clean, tidy and lots to do. We ate at the café, pretty basic but clean & tidy, and the food was lovely. This is one place that I would definitely recommend and we will be visiting on a regular basis that's for sure. Our day flew by, we were disappointed to leave. Greenacres appeals for all ages.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswestry
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“More like 'Brownacre' but fun for young children”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Don't know much about these sort of places, but this seems typical I guess. You know, animals, swings, rides that drain your pound coins.

Fiver each to get in, even for toddlers over 2. Want to relieve the farm feed bill? Spend 2 quid on 3 tiny bags of food and do the keeper's job. Having said that, the nipper seemed to like feeding piggies and turkeys. But she can go to gran's house and see budgies.


There's a shop and cafe which were both busy, and the playground was packed (I suppose even kids get fed up feeding goats after a while. No puns intended) but a bit rundown... As was most of the place actually, kind of small, shabby and under funded.


However, if you're looking for a bronze position alternative to Chester Zoo's gold, this place might do.

Just don't go by the glossy website. Whilst it may not be a 'Santa's Lapland Adventure with threads of artificial snow and abysmal horse with antlers stuck on', a magical fairyland of cute 'n cuddly disney refugees this ain't.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“More animals than expected ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Worth a visit.
Hadn't been here in over 16 years but when i went back I wasn't disappointed.
There was a large array of animals to see and stroke!
The goats and sheep were especially friendly.

Despite being aimed at children greenacres is suitable for any age!
Time flew whilst there too. What seemed like half an hour had infact been just over 2hours!

Cheap entry fee too, £5 per adult!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merseyside
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fab day out for all the family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Went here last week with my little boy who is 1 and my friend and her daughter who is 4. Lovely day out. The day consisted of feeding the goats their milk and petting them. Going into several different animal enclosures. They have rabbits, chicks, ducks, pigs, piglets, a sheep, horses, parrots, reptiles etc! All the usual you would expect from a farm.

At certain times throughout the day they hold a meet and greet where they bring different animals out for both children and adults to pet. The staff will tell you some information about each animal and will answer any questions you may have. My son loved it and stroked a snake, a millipede and a large lizard! (Brave!)

The farm also consists of a playbarn which was good as we were freezing! There is also an outdoor park area with swings slides grass etc. The farm has picnic facilities and toilets. Couldn't find the baby change so had to change my son in his pram.

Can purchase tokens from the main entrance for fair rides and a tractor ride. The tractor ride was brill and fun for the little ones. This was £1 each. The tractor driver again gave information about the animals and we got to meet "smiley the horse".

Lovely full day out. Can't wait to go back in the summer :-) brilliant cheap day out. The kids loved it :-)

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greenacres Animal Park also viewed

 
Connah's Quay, Deeside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Been to Greenacres Animal Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greenacres Animal Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.