We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basics Near the Action of the Arch” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn St. Louis Collinsville, IL

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn St. Louis Collinsville, IL to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn St. Louis Collinsville, IL
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Gateway Drive, Collinsville, IL 62234   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Collinsville
Indiana, United States
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Basics Near the Action of the Arch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Located in the convention hub of Collinsville, Illinois, this is the basic Fairfield Inn you expect very near to St. Louis without the higher prices you'd get in the big city itself. This doesn't mean that this is an inexpensive hotel, it was still over $100 a night.

The bed was acceptable quality but the pillows were very flat as soon as you laid your head down. Maid service while we were there was just the basics and it was clear that there was some mold or mildew around the bathtub under the faucet.

The room had a refrigerator and microwave along with a hairdryer and coffee/hot water maker with a selection of instant tea and coffee. There was a separate desk and chair for computer work and a fairly large screen, flat TV with Showtime and HBO on the cable line-up.

The front desk staff and everyone we encountered was very friendly. One of the evenings we were there they had Otis Spunkmeyer cookies freshly baked for folks and the breakfast room was well-stocked during the hours it was open. There was more at the breakfast (included in your room price) than I expected -- beyond the waffle maker, hard boiled eggs, cold cereals, juice, milk, and oatmeal there was some type of heated meat and eggs as well. The water filter container was just outside the breakfast room so it was easy to get water or coffee/tea/cocoa at all times of the day.

One big down for this was that the heater/air conditioner's fan was unable to run without it blowing out hot or cold air which was annoying since without circulating air our room on the third floor felt stifling. A secondary disappointment was the lack of counter space on both side of the sink in the bathroom; we had to share the same side and that got our supplies a bit mixed up from time to time.

I haven't stayed at the other hotels in that same area so I can't say if we'd stay there again or not.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    28
    17
    10
    5
See reviews for
31
18
2
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Collierville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Standard Fairfield Inn - which means everything was decent and the rooms were clean. Others have complained about the smell of chlorine from the indoor pool, but it wasn't that overwhelming. I probably wouldn't have even noticed it if I hadn't read other reviews. We stayed here because of its proximity to Cahokia Mounds and it is convenient to that (you can get there without getting on the Interstate). Staff was friendly, convenient to lots of restaurants and the interstate.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmetto, Florida
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This Fairfield Unit is showing a lot of wear. Our beds were soft and our room, although clean, needed repairs and paint. The entry door was misaligned and scraped the door jamb each time we used it. Help was friendly and helpful with dining hints hints. This unit was also one of the higher priced locations, even for a Marriott property.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Stayed here two nights on business. The location was quiet but convenient to the interstate. The staff was friendly. The room was fine for its purposes and was clean. I traveled with a colleague who had a lower floor and she mentioned the smell from the pool; fortunately I was on a higher floor and didn't smell anything.

Room Tip: Avoid getting a room near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Our room was spacious and clean. The staff was helpful and quick to get us checked in. The beds were amazingly comfortable. The continental breakfast in the morning was a pleasant surprise. Rather than just cereal and coffee, there were fresh scrambled eggs and sausage plus bagels, fresh fruit, muffins, etc. It was an excellent way to start our day. We would surely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Yes, it was typical but seemed smaller. I was going to give it a 3 for this but I'd say a 4. The halls and rooms seemed a bit smaller but it was nice. It was a little difficult to get to off of the interstate but there was a very nice Mexican restaurant across the street. Very good food. We were on a quick road trip to Detroit with plans of staying in Marshal, IL but I under estimated the distance by over 100 miles. This seemed like a good stop and it was. I wanted to stay at the Drury but wife wanted to get points for her Gold Status at the Marriott's so she won. But if this would have taken place after she was mistreated in The Woodlands near Houston by Marriott the Drury would have had out money. That will be another review.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed here on our drive out to Indiana. When I reserved the room, I requested extra feather pillows, towels, and a room near an elevator as we were driving a long way the first day and I knew I'd want to almost fall into bed upon arrival. Yes, we noticed the chlorine smell mentioned in another review, bit it was certainly not offensive or overwhelming. The staff was very friendly and helpful and when walking into our room, I was very pleased to find the additional items I had requested. We were so pleased with Fairfield Inn that we chose to stay at them for our entire trip! Breakfast was very decent; the eggs were a bit dry but only due to a group pulling out early and almost wiping the container out. The woman taking care of breakfast was quick to freshen the containers of eggs and sausage. We'll definitely stay again should this town be a stopping point for us.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn St. Louis Collinsville, IL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn St. Louis Collinsville, IL

Address: 4 Gateway Drive, Collinsville, IL 62234
Location: United States > Illinois > Collinsville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Collinsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn St. Louis Collinsville, IL 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Marriott so you can book your Fairfield Inn St. Louis Collinsville, IL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn St. Louis Collinsville, Il Hotel Collinsville
Fairfield Inn Collinsville
Fairfield Collinsville
Collinsville Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn St. Louis Collinsville, IL, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.