We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kruta Bakery

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Kruta Bakery
300 Saint Louis Road, Collinsville, IL 62234
(618) 344-1115
Improve this listing
Type: Specialty Shops
Attraction Details
Edwardsville, IL
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Awesome.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Some of the best cakes, cookies and pastery around. It's best to go early as lines can be long, especially on weekends.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    3
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairview Heights, Illinois
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The Bakery That Time Forgot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Walk into Kruta's and let yourself drift back to a time when outstanding bakery goods were the norm and not the exception. Everything here is freshly baked mainly because it gets sold as soon as it is put out. The white cake with white icing is really, really good. The frosting is thick and smooth. Add" frosting roses" for an extra nice touch to your cake. My wife got me a cake for my birthday tomorrow. I can hardly wait to eat it! The gooey butter cake, a St. Louis specialty, is extremely gooey and tasty! They have these things called "fudgies" which is devil's food cake, topped with chocolate frosting! I can hardly wait to try more delicacies at Kruta's.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairview Heights, Illinois
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Heaven for Pastry Lovers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Forget Krispy Kreme or Dunkin Donuts--Kruta's Bakery is ten times better! As soon as you walk inside the aroma makes you salivate and have a tough decision--how much to buy. Cream puffs have custard, made at the bakery, that oozes out with each bite. November begins the Holliday Bread season that draws many to the bakery, but don't wait too long, Holliday bread is offered until the new year. Kruta's is the best bakery and worth the wait if it is crowded.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
1 review
“The BEST!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I grew up down the road, caught the school bus to high school at the corner that the bakery in on. The best bakery I have found, I have lived in four other states and can't find a bakery that comes close, the gooey butter cake is wonderful!! Best coffee cake, bread, cream horns, etc.etc.etc.. Every time I am in the area I never leave town without bringing these wonderful treats back with me. The only problem is this time I only got one gooey butter cake and my husband likes it more than me!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, IL
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“great, old fashioned bakery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

They have been around a long time. Not always at this location but as a child my parents always ordered holiday bread from them and that was over 30 years ago. They still have the best gooey butter cake around with just the right amount of goo.........cream puffs are real and home made. Great place just farther for me to drive now.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kruta Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Kruta Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kruta Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Kruta Bakery to your Saves list