We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel & Spa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kilronan Castle Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Kilronan Castle Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Kilronan Castle Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Castle   |   Ballyfarnon, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel & Spa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Whilst the Hotel is a bit out of the way it is worth the trip there. It is a beautiful setting in the middle of a forest and overlooking a lake.The whole place is geared towards relaxation and the generally the staff make this possible. Even though there was a wedding there at the time it did not effect our enjoyment. The spa is luxurious and we both had treatments which were excellent. We only had the bar food there but this was well presented and delivered. A few small things in the bedroom like a mini bar, dressing gowns and bottled water would even further enhance the experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    491
    137
    56
    35
    21
See reviews for
138
396
9
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

From start to finish we really loved this stay! It was exactly what we wanted and needed. Yes it is secluded but we knew this before we booked it. it's the perfect place to go to if you want to just totally relax, do very little and take stock of the world! We spent the majority of our time eating, drinking, reading and walking. It was truly blissful. The hotel was quite busy as it was the Halloween holidays but it has lots of areas to sit if you wanted to escape from everyone.

We spent most of our time in the Drawing Room - a really quaint and private rooms, with only about a dozen tables and arm chairs. here you could have anything from afternoon tea to sandwiches to a sirloin steak, or even a wee tipple. It was an idle place to spend a day.

We dined in the Drawing Room one night and in the dining room on the other night. Dining room is very elegant and relaxed with beautiful food. Breakfast was fresh and plentiful. Overall food was of a good quality. Only one criticism of breakfast was that it wasn't made clear that you could actually order from another menu, instead of simply having the cooked breakfast in the bain marie. I am not a fan of cooked breakfasts so would have chosen the other option had I known on our first morning, I only spotted this other menu at the door on my way in on the second morning. So the second morning I had Belgian Waffles which were simply delightful!

There is excellent Wi-Fi throughout. The option of free late check out was very welcome and finished our stay off on a lovely note!

We enjoyed some spa treatments. The spa and thermal suite are beautifully designed and decorated, it felt like a real treat!! The walks around the grounds are absolutely beautiful, especially along the water edge.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Was looking foward for sooo long to visiting this castle and staying over. The staff were very friendly and helpfull the spa experience was wonderful, the grounds spectacular and so well maintained, however the bedroom and rest of the castle was freezing cold we had to move o a smaller bedroom after booking into a suite and got heaters brought to the bedroom to try stay warm.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

We chose a two night break. Staff are welcoming & hospitable. Beautiful grounds. Stunning bedrooms with quite definitely, the best bed I have ever slept in. Dinner was a special experience, not rushed and mains particularly impressive. Only complaint was pre cooked breakfasts sitting on Bain Marie. No breakfast menu displayed to offer alternatives.
If you want a serene break in luxurious surroundings, this is an excellent choice

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights. Castle itself is beautiful and spa is of a very high standard, however food and service was terrible. Although staff are very friendly & welcoming they are highly incompetent in the restaurant and bar as we had to ask for everything 2-3 times before we finally got what we asked for, on two occasions they forgot about us completely. Also on numerous occasions we got the wrong drinks bills and on check out it was the same story, wrong bill.
Food standard is low despite the fact they say there restaurant is "award winning" i beg to differ! I could not even cut the beef with a steak knife and the pork belly was inedible. Afternoon tea was also a disgrace, this resulted in us having to go to carrick on shannon for dinner the next evening. It is such a shame because it really is a lovely hotel, however be warned it is quite secluded and there is no atmosphere in the bar or the hotel itself so only suited to people looking for a very quite time!
I have submitted a letter of complaint to the hotel as it was quite a disappointing stay however I not received any feedback, typical!

Room Tip: we stayed in room 104 and there was an awful smell of sewage when toilet was flushed so stay away fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Stayed as a couple, Wonderful room 118, Beautiful walks around lake. Lovely food and dungeon bar. Spa was excellent and good value. Dinner and breakfast as good as expected. The staff are a credit, friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and couldn't fault anything.
Kilronan is a lovely quiet castle hotel which was perfect for a relaxing break.
The food in the restaurant was fabulous.
The room we stayed in was in the old castle with a view of the garden and the lake and it was fantastic.
The drawing room bar was such a delightful place and was so relaxing.
The staff were friendly and courteous and nothing was any trouble.
There are various walks on the grounds of the castle and we went on one and it was a lovely walk by the lake.
The swimming pool and spa were very clean and relaxing.
All in all a very good hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms in the castle with a view of the lake are gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kilronan Castle Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilronan Castle Hotel & Spa

Address: Ballyfarnon, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Roscommon > Ballyfarnon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Ballyfarnon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kilronan Castle Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kilronan Castle is one of Ireland’s most luxurious Castle Hotels in Roscommon Ireland, Kilronan Castle Ireland is the ancestral home of the Tennison family and the legendary Colonel King Tennison. It is one of a few Irish castle estates that can trace its history back to royal families. This secluded, luxury, Roscommon Castle hotel is majestically set on the shores of Lough Meelagh, surrounded by over forty acres of breathtaking Irish scenery, lush green pastures, ancient forests and historical points of interest. Approached by a meandering drive that passes acres of magnificent Roscommon lawns, the luxury Castle hotel overlooks a glistening lake which commands the panoramic beauty of the surrounds. Our World Class Spa & Leisure Centre is now open. Relax and unwind in our Pool or let us pamper you with one of our luxurious treatments. Our commitment is to provide the highest level of luxury, comfort and service. You will enjoy old world elegance with modern day comforts. One step inside Kilronan Castle, Roscommon and you are at home. With our warm and friendly atmosphere we will see to your every need, everything has been designed with your desires in mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Kilronan Castle Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilronan Castle Hotel Roscommon
Kilronan Castle Hotel And Spa
Kilronan Castle Roscommon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kilronan Castle Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.