We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent cuisine!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Robinson Taverna

Robinson Taverna
Koutsouras, Crete 72055, Greece
2843051026
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 6 Restaurants in Koutsouras
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Malaga, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent cuisine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Nice, relaxing atmosphere, right next to the sea!The food is really genuine and delicious, lovely decoration and very good service! Just the place to be after having enjoyed the sun and the beach!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    5
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Favourite restaurant in Crete!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We were recommended Robinson Taverna by a young woman who has a lovely jewelry and art shop in Makrigialos (Anemi Jewellery and Crafts Shop - 28430 52292)- she told us it was the best restaurant in the area, serving Cretan specialties not found elsewhere.

We dined here five nights in a row, before leaving Crete. We tried a whole array of establishments while on our two-week holiday - restaurants, very simple tavernas, beach bars - and this was, hands down, our favourite place.

First of all, it's absolutely beautiful. Stylish, romantic, tasteful - an unexpected find among the many very simple or (borderline kitsch) traditional tavernas. Full of curious details like vintage clocks, beautiful shells, candles, lamps, fishing nets, rustic appliances and modern furniture, the restaurant in itself feels like a museum. Pleasant Greek music accompanied every meal- soft, non-intrusive, and perfect for a pleasant dining experience. The owners are friendly, helpful, and speak English. There is a personal feel to the place, with its open kitchen and ever-smiling Chef who waves hello and goodbye as you walk by. You can sit inside the restaurant, next to the cosy hearth, or closer to the full-length window overlooking the sea. The restaurant also has its own private beach access, so, you can even sit directly on the beach, in the sand, if the weather is nice.

Some of our favourite dishes included: Cretan cake, chicken pie, tsatsiki, Bekri Meze, Mousakka, glistrida with yogurt (Purslane, walnut and yogurt salad) and grilled feta with onions, tomatoes and green peppers. We also always ordered the specials of the day (which included veal, beef, calamari and fish) and never once had a disappointing dinner. The owners produce their own wine, both white and red. We enjoyed both and always ordered bottled wine; we did not try their house wine (though many other guests seemed to enjoy it). Each meal came with a complimentary dessert of Greek yogurt and homemade jam- the grape jam was phenomenal!

Thank You for the many wonderful dinners- we will be sure to recommend your wonderful restaurant to anyone we know going to Crete!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Greek Experience at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Spent an evening in this jewel of a restaurant. Greek food at its best situated only yards from the ocean. The owner and his wife provide an atmosphere you will enjoy and remember for a long time. This restaurant is set in a village outside of Ierapetra and is well worth the effort to find.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Koutsaras”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Excellent menu and service, friendly atmosphere a must to visit. A family restaurant and very nice area next to beach.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

This restaurant is a beautiful setting right by the Libyan Sea. The food was excellent, freshly cooked and a good selection. Highly recommended.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Robinson Taverna also viewed

Makry-Gialos, Lassithi Prefecture
Agia Fotia, Ierapetra
 
Koutsounari, Ierapetra
Ierapetra, Lassithi Prefecture
 

Been to Robinson Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Robinson Taverna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.