We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Czech Cuisine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Klas Restaurant

Klas Restaurant
5734 W Cermak Rd, Cicero, IL 60804-2130
708-652-0795
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 92 Restaurants in Cicero
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Reservations
Peshtigo, WI
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Authentic Czech Cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

This restaurant has been popular with my family since it opened, my great Aunts who lived down the street thought of this place like a second home. My family was originally from the Czech Republic, from Domazlice. My grandpa passed on his Czech pride to the whole family. We went down here to see why my aunts loved this place so much. We found out it is truly a very Czech expierence. The dumplings are very fluffy, which is important if your Czech. I had the pork medallions wraped in bacon, which was very good. It reminded me of my trip to the Czech republic, if you like Czech food or have Czech ancestry this is the place to go to try out are amazing food.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    8
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glenview, Illinois
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great food at a modest price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

The restaurant is very old world. The atmosphere seems like you are in Bohemia. The food is very good, the portions reasonably sized and the price very reasonable. Try their apple strudel. It is made as good as it gets.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Worth It On So Many Different Levels!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

A throwback to another era: architecturally, interior of beautiful woodwork, the food! Took my Mom & family for Christmas Day dinner though we've frequented Klas for decades. My brother had goose ($38) and thought it excellent; he can be picky, too. My Mother & I each ordered the quarter portion of duck ($12). Husband had the pork loin ($13). Most of us had the liver dumpling soup starter; mine was not as flavorful as I remember my Czech Grandma's (or nearby Riverside Restaurant's version). Knedlicky (bread dumplings): perfect-o. Sauerkraut ("zeli") was missing the caraway seeds from Grandma's version, but we never had cumin as earlier review noted missing. Maybe cumin a German version? I don't like caraway seeds so a happy camper. And, the beer! Why have a Pilsner Urquell (which they offer) when can have a *draft* Staropramen? De-lish! Dessert: Kolacky & apple streudal.

Don't leave without ducking your head in the a) bar (right out of a film noir scene) and the b) second floor (stunning!) Beer garden in the summers. Excellent experience.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“where's my laderhosen??!?!? and my hat with the ltl feather?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2008

where's my laderhosen??!?!? and my hat with the ltl feather?

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
“Klas Restaurant: One of America's last real restaurants.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2005

Klas Restaurant is a great old restuarant filled with beautiful antique appointments. Klas has the feel of old Chicago. The menu is unique containing real old-world bohemian dishes. Schitzel, sauerbraten, goulash, red cabage - no fusion here.

Meals are very inexpensive ($7-12" and include soup, sides and desert. Good selection of Czech beers.

No trip to Chicago is complete without visiting Klas.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Klas Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Klas Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Klas Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.