We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lolovos Studios

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kythira Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lolovos Studios
Save
You added Lolovos Studios to your Saves list
Georgios Semitekolos, Kythira Town, Kythira 80100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Kythira Town B&B and Inns
Athens, Greece
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We spend some days in August 2013 and we had a great time. The studio was just perfect and the hospitality amazing. I would definitely recommend it to anyone. Mr Georgios was very helpful and made our stay there to be remembered for many many years.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
31
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ginevra
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

I fell in love with Lolovos as soon as I saw pictures of the studio: a cosy and warm environment with very romantic atmosphere, ceiling in traditional stone, furniture that you expect to find in your house, not Ikea-like. The pictures did not overpromise, studio no.1 was exactly like that, with a small kitchen and nice rooftop private terrasse that we used for breakfast and after-dinner relaxation under the stars. We learnt afterwards that this is actually the owner's flat during te rest of the year, it seemed indeed the biggest and nicest :)
Besides the lovely setting, what made the difference were Georgios' (the owner) tips. Every morning he would pass by upon your phone call to advise on the best beaches for the day depending on where the wind is blowing, adding some highlights to visit in the area (ie traditional cafe, waterfalls,etc) and the restaurant for the night. My Greek husband and I (Italian) had truly amazing dinners and never got disappointed following Georgios' advice. He spent quality time with us, even offering us drinks when meeting him at the beach.
The location is good, in the southern part of the island on the cute Chora of Kapsali, with a marcellous view on the castle and a glimpse on the sea. You would anyway need a car in Kythira to visit the different beaches as quite scattered across the island - the studio is 5 mins away from the closest beach, 30 from the furthest away we visited at the north of the island.
Breakfast was basic, found in the fridge, but we are used to fresh juice, sugar free and wholegrain food, so I guess that having some milk, white bread, canned juice and portions of honey and jam is ok. Cleaning was good on must surfaces including bathroom, but could be further improved (ie dust on shelves).
The hospitality of Georgios and the beauty of the studio were so priceless that I was not bothered by other little things.
As icing on the cake, our top 3 beaches: kalami (watch-out very rough to get there, you literally need to use a rope and possibly sneakers), kaladi and diakofti by the port.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Everithing perfect! In particular house position and terrace with sea view, rose' hand made wine, complete availability and help for boat rent and all other necessities and very very kind people. Top! Top! Top!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed at Lolovos Studios (at Hora) in July 2013.
The room is exactly as it appears in the pictures with lots of unexpected and welcomed amenities/facilities. Mr. Giorgos, the owner, made sure we had everything we needed (food supplies to make our breakfast, kitchenware, various DVDs in case we wanted to watch a movie and audio CDs).
The view from our private terrace was unique (you could admire the castle and the sea) and there we enjoyed Mr. Giorgos' exceptional wine! But the best of the best was the owner himself and his advice as what to do and see at Kythera. He made us feel like real travellers, and not tourists!
If you go to Kythera, you should definitely go to Lolovos Studios. You may find cheaper accommodation but Lolovos Studios will certainly add to your experience on the island!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed 3 nights at George's rooms in July 13 and were more than satisfied. Very clean rooms and cosy. Thanks George for your hospitality and your daily advices for the best beaches. We will be back for sure! Gia k xara!!!! Eve & Charis

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This was my sixth trip to Kythera, first to Lolovos, and I can assure you if you want a friendly, typical Kytherian family to meet and talk with, you came to the right place. The room is both tasteful and reflects the island's history. They provided staples for the kitchen, which was extremely helpful. The owner, George, will facilitate your stay by giving you needed information about getting around the island. On top of all this, the private rooftop terrace overlooking the sea and mountains is nothing short of amazing!
I would stay there again ...and intend to.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

It's all been said before, but to reiterate: a wonderful island, a comfortable and well-appointed studio with anything you might want and then more, including a double shower, rooftop terrace with breath-taking views and delicious local wine and olive oil replenished daily. But what made our stay memorable were Georgios, the owner, and his assistant Ianni, and the local kitty tribe, kind and generous people who truly made us feel at home.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lolovos Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lolovos Studios

Address: Georgios Semitekolos, Kythira Town, Kythira 80100, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Piraeus Region > Kythira > Kythira Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Kythira Town
Number of rooms: 12

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lolovos Studios, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.