We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DeWitt Place

Save Saved
You added DeWitt Place to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
DeWitt Place
2.5 of 5 Condominium   |   900 N. DeWitt Place, Chicago, IL 60611 (Gold Coast)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 50 Specialty lodging in Chicago
49418
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2010

This January my three friends and I stayed at DeWitt Place in Chicago for a girls weekend. When we first enter the hotel until we left the hotel, the service was wonderful. We were greeted upon arrival and was given a tour. They have a gym which included a sauna which was very nice coming back from a day of shopping. The rooms were very clean and the beds were extremely comfortable. I had a great night sleep without waking up to back aches. It was also a great location. Being very close to Michigan Ave. made things extremely easy. I would recommended this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    111
    111
    33
    8
    6
See reviews for
39
123
36
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2010

Juan was very kind in greeting us as we checked in, he gave us a tour and showed us to our two rooms. He also made himself available to us should any problems arise. The hotel itself was very clean and quiet, it is also conveniently located near Michigan Ave. Juan let us know about the grocery store right across the street, that was very nice as well since the hotel had a full kitchen. It was a really nice weekend and I'd definitely stay at Dewitt Place again when I travel to Chicago.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoosierman88
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2010

Dewitt was the perfect stay for my girlfriend and I. It is only three blocks off of North Michigan Avenue, and close to the Watertower Place Mall. It is also conveniently within walking distance to the Rush and Division restaurants and bars. The room was good sized, the stay was comfortable, and quiet. I would definitely return if I am ever in Chicago.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2009

Although the room was well appointed and location great, some issues. It was uncomfortably wamr in the room even with all the windows open. A wall of windows was only covered by individual cheap plastic blinds, so was up with the birds at the crack of dawn. Bathroom left a lot to be desired. Shower control knob was broken. Could not adjust temp, so water was cold. Unable to call anyone as it was sunday evening.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrossg, Owner at DeWitt Place, responded to this review, January 12, 2010
We at DeWitt Place strive to provide our guests with the best possible experience during their stays with us, and when we fail to meet expectations, it’s important for us to know. We appreciate your feedback and helping us see where we need to concentrate to ensure our guest expectations are not only met but exceeded.

We realize that you were a guest with us during the final days of our 3 year renovation and restoration and have reviewed the areas of concern that you mentioned and have corrected them to ensure that we provide the very best for our future guests.

Thank you again for expressing your stay with us. It gives us the opportunity to improve for the future. Please feel free to contact us directly if we can be of any assistance to you in the future. We are hopeful that you will be a return guest in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle WA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2009

We just cannot say enough about Dewitt Place. The location is perfection and the management could not have been more accommodating or helpful.

Location! Location! Location!
A few blocks off Michigan Ave. - just east of the Hancock Building and a few blocks from Oak Street Beach. Restaurants, coffee, shopping and anything you could need within walking distance.

Each Studio has a nice size kitchen with all appliances. Beds are comfortable and living space is perfect for lounging. Lots of closet space and a nice, big dresser. It felt nice to have everything put away! There is a Trader Joe's just a few blocks away (Whole Foods is a slightly longer walk) to stock your kitchen.

Free Wifi!!!

Making the reservation was a breeze. the office staff was friendly and quickly replied to phone calls and emails.

We got in hours before the studio was available and had a whole afternoon left in Chicago on the day we checked out. Building management stored our bags cheerfully both days.

We plan to go back to Chicago often and will only stay at DeWitt.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

Great experience. Top of the line gym and sauna, awesome steam shower. Saw the sunrise on the lake. Easy to find parking on the street. ONE block from Lake Michigan! 2 blocks from Michigan Avenue. Great service and price for the location and quality of room.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

DeWitt was a pleasure to stay at, from the service by Juan, the manager, to the little DeWitt place soaps they have in the bathrooms! The lake views and quiet ambiance just east of bustling Michigan Avenue is always inviting. The facilities are always clean and it keeps improving, I saw they were renovating the hallways a few weeks ago at my last stay. I plan on staying again in the near future. The owners and managers do a great job of keeping their guests happy, I have recommended this to personal and business acquaintances and they have stayed, all of which have enjoyed the building.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DeWitt Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DeWitt Place

Address: 900 N. DeWitt Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 50 Specialty lodging in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — DeWitt Place 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DeWitt Place offers Chicago corporate housing and temporary furnished apartment rentals for short-term, intermediate and long term temporary housing solutions. Whether you are looking for short term housing or extended stay for business or vacation, we offer a combination of exceptional service and affordable prices which has made us a leader in Chicago corporate and leisure housing and a wonderfully unique departure from area boutique hotels.Our intimate, newly renovated and restored 82 unit 1924 vintage building offers tastefully decorated furnished studio and one-bedroom apartments that are a unique and affordable alternative to area hotels, located just blocks from Chicago's premier business and leisure destinations, while providing you with a comfortable home during your stay. Our attentive and courteous staff is always available to help make your stay with us a wonderful experience and as enjoyable as possible. At DeWitt Place you have a rare combination of convenience at your finger tips, while maintaining your individual privacy. Located one block from Lake Michigan and just steps from the famous Magnificent Mile in Chicago’s upscale Gold Coast neighborhood, DeWitt Place is conveniently located just minutes from the downtown Loop business district and steps from world class shopping, dining, nightlife, cultural and sightseeing opportunities. Our flexible housing terms allow for short or extended stays.With amenities that includes a fully-equipped, eat-in kitchen, bed and bath linens, wireless broadband internet access, satellite HDTV service, private telephone line with free local calling, a fitness room with steam shower and sauna and all utilities included, guests at DeWitt Place enjoy all of the comforts and conveniences of home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Tingo, Priceline, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your DeWitt Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dewitt Place Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DeWitt Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.