We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute place with a split personality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ma & I Thai

Ma & I Thai
1234 S Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60605-2596 (The Loop)
312-663-1234
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #693 of 8,264 restaurants in Chicago
Cuisines: Thai
Neighborhood: The Loop
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: The Loop
Connecticut
Top Contributor
244 reviews 244 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
202 helpful votes 202 helpful votes
“Cute place with a split personality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Entrance to this restaurant is via what I call mall hall.

Folks are friendly and expedient. When it is warm out they can open up their window front to see S. Michigan Ave.

Japanese and Thai dishes

Their summer roll uses hoisin sauce with peanuts as the sauce and is missing mint and basil and rice noodles but was filled to excess with lettuce but was made fresh by their sushi chef.

I had the tempura udon soup and the broth was excellent and full of umami. The tempura shrimp waa coated just right and was light and crispy - recommended as it was cold and rainy out.

Good food

I would recommend just for the soup!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    11
    16
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Something for Everyone”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Lengthy sushi/sashimi menu, exotic to everyday choices. Tasty and beautifully prepared.
Lots of great curry as well.
Very friendly and knowledgable staff.
During nice weather, they open all the large windows that front the street. Like sitting outside without the worry of cars and people on the sidewalk being a problem.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Thai (or is it Japanese?)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

The service was friendly and engaged, and the food was great. Fusion menus always worry me a bit but the gyoza were tasty and the spicy basil chicken was spicy and tasted as I had hoped. I'll be back, or at least order takeout!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Haven, Michigan
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great prices and convenient to Museum Campus/Soldier Field”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I was looking for a dinner place that was close to the museum campus and tried this one. It was an easy walk from the parking garage at North Soldier Field and the food was very good. We had excellent spring rolls, seaweed salad, curry, and pad thai. With a few beers, tax, and tip, our bill was reasonable at just over $60. The service was prompt and the decor was very nice. I would certainly go here again when in this area of Chicago.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, UK
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Lychee martinis to die for - and very nice food too!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This low-key restaurant was directly opposite the condo we rented in South Loop so have a real local feel to it. Both waitresses who served us were very friendly and efficient. We started with some very nicely made Lychee Martinis - give them a try! The food was piping hot, fresh, flavoursome, and the red curry fair packed a punch!! The vegetables still had their crunch, the spices came through beautifully and the atmosphere was very relaxed allowing us time to really enjoy the food. I'll definitely return to this restaurant next time I'm in Chicago - great value for what you get!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ma & I Thai also viewed

 

Been to Ma & I Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ma & I Thai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.