We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding cuisine and service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Home Bistro

Home Bistro
3404 N Halsted St, Chicago, IL 60657-2415 (Lakeview)
773-661-0299
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #987 of 8,489 Restaurants in Chicago
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Dutch, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Lakeview
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding cuisine and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

This restaurant is special! It has a very welcoming atmosphere as one might infer from having "home" in its name. The staff made us feel that they had invited us for dinner in their own home. And the food was outstanding. The four of us each ordered a different dish but also tried each others'. We were in agreement that each of them was terrific. I highly recommend Home Bistro.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    14
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Romantic venue. Palate pleaser.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Came here for night out with hubby and some BYOB. Saw many couples, a group of friends and single people. Its a great intimate environment where the waitstaff make you comfortable.
We called ahead that night for reservations. I'm unsure if they are needed if you show up early. We got there at 7pm and it was still empty...full by 8pm though.

Bacon wrapped dates with almonds...best appetizer ever!

They have evening specials that the cook created...so I had the special
Gnochi with peaches and pork. Sound strange but was amazing on my palate. the Dish was SO big I had leftovers.
Husband had the rabbit dish. Delightful.
Entrees ~$20-25
Appetizers ~$5-10
and BYOB!!!!! no corkage fee! You should go!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Charm and excellence.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

This is our second visit; the last was a couple of years ago. I was not aware of the Dutch connection until I sampled the artichoke/edam fritters and knew immediately that they were bitterballen -- or similar.

The salads were lovely; the fritters perfectly fried and not greasy. My husband had a fish stew that he a boullibaise lover found excellent. My son was a fan of the hog jowl sandwich. My trout was beautifully prepared and served with pickled cabbage, potatoes, a soft boiled egg and horseradish creme fraiche.

The owner is charming, on top of the service, and treated us to a sample of dessert as we discussed Dutch cuisine with him.

The place is also BYOB.

We will definitely be back; one of the best restaurants we have tried since our recent move to Chicago.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“You can have it all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

All the acclaim is well-deserved. It is rare enough to find a truly inspired menu so well executed. But to find it in such a friendly unpretentious atmosphere is even more surprising. We greatly enjoyed the repartee with owner Jon.
Our group had 5 appetizers, 5 entrees, and 4 desserts – all were remarkable.
This is a BYOB establishment. The 7-11 across the street has some decent wines. Its proximity allows you to sprint over and purchase wine to match your meal choices before the appetizers arrive. How cool is that.
The whole experience was much more memorable than the Blue Man Group entertainment we saw later that night close by.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Dutch dessert served by the chef”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

A great evening at Home Bistro - turned out that our waiter was the chef/owner - who at times like to be out front. An eclectic menu but everyone will find something. Had the Spring Salad which had great textures and a slightly tangy dressing. The rainbow trout was perfectly done - and served with a soft boiled egg. The crowning touch was a Dutch cake dessert served with a cherry sauce and a mountain of whipped cream. Fun atmosphere... and it didn't hurt that the chef/owner is cute.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Home Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Home Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.