We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good -- could be great.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile to your Saves list
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   300 East Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60611 (Streeterville)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Parking Special
Ranked #103 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Dallas, United States
1 review
“Good -- could be great.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Staff quality is the strong point. Gripes: 1) Charge for in-room Internet; 2) Pool is outside but the web site doesn't say so! An outdoor pool is useless in Chicago. It is closed until Memorial day. 3) All the yogurts at breakfast are the same flavor. is this dumb? Lazy product placement?

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    504
    687
    331
    101
    59
See reviews for
475
372
97
427
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My wife and I go to Chicago annually and we usually stay a little farther north near the Water Tower but wanted to try something further south off Michigan. We stayed 2 nights and this hotel is about 2 block off Michigan Avenue so not too bad. Great atmosphere in hotel, with bar and restaurant. There is also a begal shop in the hotel. Our room was fairly spacious for two. The most disappointing thing about the room during our stay was the discomfort of the bed/pillows. My wife and my back was sore for 3 days after departing. I travel alot for my job and I've never had this issue before. In the area, there are lots of cafe's and restaurants for a variety of places to eat. The biggest surprise was Whole Foods located 1 block and can be seen from the front of the hotel. Nice hotel, but uncomfortable for us.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearland, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed here for a couple of day business meeting.

Pros:
- Excellent location, couple of blocks from Navy Pier and the lake
- few blocks from the L
- Rooms look nice
- Decent view, but ONLY on the north side of the hotel
- Good internet, wired and wireless. Free for ATT customers.
Cons:
- The desk chair (the only chair in the room) looks nice, but is torture. I could barely walk after sitting in it for a couple of hours. Literally, my back has been in severe pain for two days (didn't realize it was happening until too late)
- The beds feel like they haven't been replaced in a looong time. In most hotels, sleeping makes my back feel better. Maybe just my room... :^(

Room Tip: NORTH SIDE, high up. South side looks directly into taller buildings. North side can at least get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forsyth, IL
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Good price for downtown Chicago. All staff were friendly and helpful. Nice, kind of small, room. No problems getting an elevator. There is an Einstein's Bagels in building and they serve breakfast, but the hotel restaurant was closed for dinner. But, several places to eat within 2 to 4 blocks. A Whole Foods open just about across the street. Would recommend for anyone not spending their day in the room.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Grove, California
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I chose this Hotel because my week long workshop was here. After staying here for a week I would come back on vacation. I was very pleased. The bed was comfortable, the climate control actually worked and I was able to maintain a room temperature that was comfortable. It was incredibly clean (as recently I have had not so great experiences at other establishments) the cleaning staff were excellent. They took their time and did an excellent job. Even downstairs during the workshop they were always cleaning and the results showed. All of the staff were courteous, friendly and helpful!. In addition it was within walking distance to numerous restaurants and places to see.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The staff at this hotel could now have been any nicer. They were always very helpful. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. Great location if your going to be walking the city. Would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

No doubt the location is perfect. A big smile at check in, a nice little bar (quite small though) . I have not been to breakfast nor did I have any food so can't tell. Big issue, AGAIN in a DoubleTree.. is the noise : first of all, shut the heater before going to bed or you will regret it deeply! secondly, isolation between rooms and front door is catastrophic .. which is annoying when you have people getting in late or getting up very early..

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile

Address: 300 East Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#80 Family Hotel in Chicago
#84 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#85 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile 3.5*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent Chicago location, The DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile is located in a superb location between the famed Magnificent Mile shopping and the excitement of Navy Pier. Walk to dozens of historic Chicago attractions, shopping and countless restaurants. O'Hare International (ORD) and Midway (MDW) airports are 45 minutes by train, taxi, shuttle or limo. Doubletree Chicago Magnificent Mile features vibrant new contemporary guest rooms in charcoal, white and fushcia. Residential-style amenities include ultra-comfortable Sweet Dreams(R) beds; MP3 compatible stereo clock radios; The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf in-room coffee service; Crabtree & Evelyn bath products; showers and bath tubs, and a spacious work desk complete with wireless (fee), high-speed internet access (fee), and ergonomic desk chairs. Room Service served daily from 3pm-11pm. Dinner is served in the Lobby Lounge from 4pm until 10:30pm. Breakfast is served inside Markethouse Monday - Friday 6am-10am Saturday/ Sunday 7am-11am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Chicago
Doubletree Magnificent Mile
Chicago Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.