We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendliest doorman ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile to your Saves list
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   300 East Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60611 (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park and Chill Savings
Ranked #100 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Friendliest doorman ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

We booked a hotel last minute through H-wire and ended up getting a killer deal at a great hotel. We spent about a total of $100 for the hotel, taxes and the parking garage (across the street). Big Ben (the doorman) was the friendliest person ever. He immediately made up feel welcome on a very cold and rainy December day. He unloaded our car, made us laugh and whisked us inside to check-in. The lobby was decorated very nicely for the Holidays, our room was clean and comfy and the cookies were delicious. The best part is that we were just a few quick steps out the door to food and shopping on MI Ave. I would definitely stay here again. Garrett popcorn is just around the corner and and the Lavazza Cafe next door makes fabulous orange mocha yumminess that will warm you up on a cold morning.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear 0H-IO-travelchick,
Thank you for your review and choosing to stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile. We are thrilled to read how much of an impression Big Ben left on you! He is an institution around here and our guests consistently rave about him. You truly cannot beat our convenient location only steps away from Garret popcorn, Michigan Avenue shopping and popular Chicago attractions. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Best,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    455
    635
    312
    99
    53
See reviews for
450
342
89
390
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

This Doubletree is one of our favorite locations to stay in Chicago. It’s just a short walk off the Miracle Mile. Cookies are always hot and plentiful. The staff was very friendly and helpful. This is the 4th time we have stayed at this Doubletree and we will stay again. One tip, don’t stay in room 2121. Elevator backs up to headboard. We didn’t complain because this trip I was there on points and didn’t want to change rooms. It didn’t change my mind about location. Still a great place to stay while in Chicago.

Room Tip: Not room 2121
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Ironman91,
We are thrilled to hear that the DoubleTree by Hilton Magnificent Mile is one of your favorite hotels in Chicago! Our team provides unsurpassed hospitality and is willing to bend over backwards to ensure our guests have an unforgettable stay. Yes, there are guest rooms that are close to the elevator banks, but far enough away as to not cause too much disruption. We are delighted to be your hotel of choice when visiting Chicago, and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Be Well,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Stayed here during the Chicago Marathon this year. I'd prefer to stay somewhere cheaper and get more value out of my stay than what I experienced here.

First, I was given a King size room when I asked for 2 Beds, I the day I was able to do so. Luckily we were allowed to change rooms. The elevators were ridicuously slow. The staff was okay, but could have been more friendly.

I asked for a late check-out as I was running the marathon and they couldn't give it to me. So we had to store our luggage then sit there for 2 hrs while we waited for our shuttle b/c I wasn't sure what time I'd even finish the marathon to begin with. I payed over $575 for two nights b/c it was marathon weekend and it wasn't worth that. We were stared at by the luggage store staff b/c we sat there the entire time, excuse me, you just made way too much money off my stay and I just ran 26.2 miles!

The room was clean, the hotel was in a good part of town, but the service sucked.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Karri_f85,
Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns with us. We can assure you that we have a very accommodating team, and that your situation was a rare one – one that we hope you will allow us to improve upon if given another opportunity in the future. Providing a positive experience for every guest is our mission and we hope to have the opportunity to regain your confidence on a future stay. If you plan on running the Marathon in 2014, please give our General Manager, Birgit Radin, a call in advance and she will be happy to personally ensure you have a much improved stay!
Best,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Front of house staff brilliant, and rooms totally acceptable, but not matched by quality of the rest of the experience. Below average "marketplacea" resturant on the ground floor, no atmosphere, BROWN, forgettable meal, only thing momorable was massive pile of soggy chips (frites) for sheer quantity.
Location good but lobby bar an adjunct with no atmosphere, taxi booked by concierge didn't arrive but day saved by night porter. Good big TV and wifi free for HIlton Honours guests, but they could not find my number on their system, despite the fact that the hotel in Phili the next night had no trouble. Not great.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Marianne C,
We wish to take this opportunity to thank you for staying at our hotel and for sharing your concerns. Our staff appreciates and relies on guest feedback to help us understand the areas which may need improvement. We are fully aware that guests who stay at our hotel expect and deserve the very best accommodations and service we have to offer.

As always, we appreciate the time you took to share your feedback with us and we can assure you the specific matters you mentioned in your review will be addressed so that these same issues can be avoided in the future.

We sincerely hope to welcome you back and regain your confidence in us if given another opportunity.

Be Well,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

This is a fantastically clean, warm hotel in Chicago. The staff are extremely friendly and are eager to make your stay as pleasant as possible. My room was clean, comfortable and everything was in working order. The fitness facility is well equipped, the business center well stocked, and the restaurant has excellent food in a calming atmosphere. I would definitely stay here in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Kellee W,
We are thrilled to hear that you had a fantastic experience at the DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile! It gives us great pleasure to hear that you will be returning to us again in the near future.
Be Well,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We stayed at the Doubletree for a weekend getaway to Chicago with 6 adults and 3 young children. The staff, including doormen, front desk, bellboys and concierge could not have been more friendly, helpful and understanding. They answered all questions with a smile and certainly made our stay much easier. The rooms were good for the price we paid, and the location is excellent. We were able to walk to nearby shops, restaurants, Navy Pier and more while traveling with 3 children ages 6 and under. The Einstein Brothers Bagels in the lobby is handy for grabbing a bite for the kids. We parked in the hotel garage for $50 per night as we wanted the easy in and out, but there is cheaper parking across the street if you do not need your vehicle often. One drawback for those traveling with kids is the pool is outdoor and not available in the winter. Overall this was a great value for our family and helped us have a wonderful stay in Chicago

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear SeyHey24,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the DoubleTree for your recent weekend getaway. We pride ourselves on our friendly service and helpful team members, and glad you had the opportunity to meet them firsthand. Our hotel parking rates are competitively priced and we offer special in-and-out privileges that other hotels do not. We hope to welcome you and the family back in the summer, so the kids can use our outdoor pool!
Be Well,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

nicely located DoubleTree property in the heart of Chicago. very comfortable and immaculate rooms. nice welcoming staff. Restaurants all around the hotel. excellent wi fi connections the only thing I didn't like was the so called 'breakfast upgrade' for $ 7. they should either charge for a full breakfast or provide it complimentary for Gold / diamond HHonors

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Sriram N,
The DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile is Chicago's best kept secret; centrally located and offering a tremendous value. We regret if the price for our breakfast caused any inconvenience, but can assure you that our prices are very competitive with our nearby hotels. Thank you for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again.
Happy Holidays!
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile

Address: 300 East Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#84 Family Hotel in Chicago
#87 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#89 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile 3.5*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent Chicago location, The Doubletree Chicago Magnificent Mile offers modern accommodations in a superb location between the famed Magnificent Mile shopping and the excitement of Navy Pier on Lake Michigan. Walk to dozens of historic Chicago attractions, shopping and countless restaurants. O'Hare International (ORD) and Midway (MDW) airports are 45 minutes by train, taxi, shuttle or limo. $21 million rejuvenation offers a dynamic, urban retreat. Doubletree Chicago Magnificent Mile features vibrant new contemporary guest rooms in charcoal, white and fushcia. Residential-style amenities include ultra-comfortable Sweet Dreams® beds; MP3 compatible stereo clock radios; Wolfgang Puck® gourmet in-room coffee service; luxury bath and body products; showers and bath tubs, and a spacious work desk complete with wireless, high-speed internet access and ergonomic desk chairs. Room Service served daily from 3pm-11pm.Markethouse is now closed for lunch and dinner.Dinner is served in the Lobby Lounge from 4pm until 10:30pm. Breakfast is served inside Markethouse Monday - Friday 6am-10am Saturday/ Sunday 7am-11am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Chicago
Doubletree Magnificent Mile
Chicago Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.