We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile to your Saves list
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   300 East Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60611 (Streeterville)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Parking Special
Ranked #103 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Dallas, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Very convenient location, right in the center of downtown, close to everywhere. The cookie is tasty, too! Nice room. My only little compalaint was the heating was a little noisy when it was on. But overall it's a great experience and the price is really reasonable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Vicgood,
Thank you for your review. Our DoubleTree chocolate chip cookies are addictive and glad you enjoyed it! We are glad the noise from the HVAC did not spoil your overall experience, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Best,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    504
    687
    331
    101
    59
See reviews for
475
372
97
427
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bartlett, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

my friends and I went downtown Chicago for a night and figured it would be easier to just get a room versus having to worry about catching the Metra to get back out to the suburbs. We had a great room, the staff was very friendly and welcoming, beds were comfy, overall it was a great night!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Brittany D,
Thank you for your review. The next time you and your friends go out on the town in Chicago, please feel free to stay with us again! We look forward to serving you again soon.
Best,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alabama
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

First let me say when you appear on the property you are greeted by a warm welcome by Kenneth, Steve, Antwon, & Derrick. When you check in Pablo & Tony are all smiles. They even give you a warm chocolate cookie. They didn't give you anything to drink and the water in the room is NOT free.
When shown to your room Gloria has done a fantastic job cleaning. She was extremely mannerable and was excited to see and help you every day. We went for a conference and the rooms were nice and held everyone for the convention. They have a restaurant called Marketplace. Only ate there for breakfast. The ladies were nice a couple older men didn't seem like they wanted to be there (dark haired man with accent)
The room was ok. Would have been nice if they had a mini fridge or microwave for guest use in the room. If you move anything in the bar fridge you will be charged 5.95 So do not take anything out for your stuff because a motion sensor located in side will charge your room. Other than that it was a great stay and is centrally located to everything. Thank you for all the wonderful, warm welcoming employees .

Room Tip: We had a lake view (2218) which is one the best views in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear mrswolverine,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate you personally acknowledging our staff members throughout your experience at our hotel. At the DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago Mag Mile, we know it's a team of great people that truly makes the difference. It would be a pleasure to serve you again soon.
Be Well,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

I travel to Chicago often, and frequent properties off Michigan Ave; first time at Doubletree. I checked other reviews beforehand, the negatives of which I find to be nit-picky. My check-in was handled promptly and courteously, I was given a range of options for my room, and my room was modern decor and nicely appointed. Could hear the folks in next room so noise dampening between rooms about 3/5, but not a deterrent.

Lobby bar service was great and pricing reasonable. There is an Einsteins by lobby; did not try Marketplace restaurant in lobby. Wifi in room would be nice, but I carry my own hotspot, so no big deal. A lively, upbeat property whose atmosphere I thoroughly enjoyed. The free cookie is a nice touch, too.


Location is excellent, easy walk to anywhere in River North and Grand Red Line station.
A lively, upbeat property

Room Tip: I had a east-facing room on a high floor. Somewhat of a view, but who cares; you're here to expe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Jadfly,
Thank you for your review and choosing to stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile! It gives us great pleasure to hear that our hotel met your needs perfectly. We pride ourselves on our efficient service and central location, and glad you enjoyed these key features. It would be a pleasure to serve you again on your next return to Chicago!
Be Well,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

The staff here was extraordinary, and I have to single Pablo out for wonderful service, and for going out of his way to help me and make my experience here so much better and easier. The location is amazing, a walk to everywhere, and the rooms are wonderful, but it is the service that creates the largest, and longest lasting impression. Hats off to this wonderful staff, in all aspects.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear John B,
Thank you for your review. Each of our staff members has a unique personality that they bring to our team, which makes it full of great hospitality and memorable experiences. Thank you for recognizing all of our team, but in particular Pablo! It would be a pleasure to welcome you back again soon.
Best,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Stayed at your hotel a couple of times. Nice location. However when you are spending that kind of money it would be nice to have a simple breakfast included. a couple of weeks ago I stayed at your hotel on business. I was with some clients and your bartender told us she had to leave for i believe 15 minutes or so. We had no bartender ie no service that was very disappointing.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Eric L,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We appreciate your continued loyalty to our hotel, but regret to learn about your disappointing experience with the bartender. Rest assured, this situation will be addressed internally and we will make sure something like this does not reoccur moving forward. If given another opportunity, we hope to welcome you back for a much improved experience.
Best,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed last weekend and had a wonderful trip. Our flight got in early in the day and it wasn't a problem to check in early, which was nice to relax for a minute. The front desk team had great personalities and recognized us each time we came back for the day. The hotel bed was comfy, the pillows were very soft, which is a personal preference problem. The room was clean and I appreciated the coupon that you can get if you don't have them clean on the second night, which I feel is a waste of resources. The location is awesome and close to everything! We had a recommendation to stay here and glad that we did.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear rjenn2011,
Thank you for your review. We pride ourselves on our outgoing front desk team, and glad you had such a memorable impression of them! Our Sweet Dream beds are super comfortable, and guests consistently tend to praise us for this unique feature. It would be a pleasure to serve you again soon.
Be Well,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile

Address: 300 East Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#80 Family Hotel in Chicago
#84 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#85 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile 3.5*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent Chicago location, The DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile is located in a superb location between the famed Magnificent Mile shopping and the excitement of Navy Pier. Walk to dozens of historic Chicago attractions, shopping and countless restaurants. O'Hare International (ORD) and Midway (MDW) airports are 45 minutes by train, taxi, shuttle or limo. Doubletree Chicago Magnificent Mile features vibrant new contemporary guest rooms in charcoal, white and fushcia. Residential-style amenities include ultra-comfortable Sweet Dreams(R) beds; MP3 compatible stereo clock radios; The Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf in-room coffee service; Crabtree & Evelyn bath products; showers and bath tubs, and a spacious work desk complete with wireless (fee), high-speed internet access (fee), and ergonomic desk chairs. Room Service served daily from 3pm-11pm. Dinner is served in the Lobby Lounge from 4pm until 10:30pm. Breakfast is served inside Markethouse Monday - Friday 6am-10am Saturday/ Sunday 7am-11am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Chicago
Doubletree Magnificent Mile
Chicago Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.