We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“out dates and crabby” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile to your Saves list
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   300 East Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60611 (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park and Chill Savings
Ranked #100 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“out dates and crabby”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

We had a great experience with Double Tree in Colorado so that's why we went with this one in chicago. It was nothing like the one in CO. First of all, the bell boy or whatever you call the guys waiting in front; said we couldn't pull up to the front and get our luggage out and check in. He said we had to park. Parking is $40 a DAY!!!! We already knew that, so we had planned to park our car at a friends house. So we had to pay $40 just to check in. We later got that refunded, but still! THEN, when we booked the room, we requested a roll away bed for our son. They said they didn't have any available, try back later?! Ok, fine. We got into our room and it looked a bit small to fit a roll away, but we were tied from driving all day and didn't think much of it. We unpacked, did the pool and then wanted to go to supper. We checked on the roll away before we left, because I wasn't going to have my son sleep on the floor or in our bed kicking us all night long. They said they had one available, but that we'd have to switch rooms, because our room wasn't big enough!!?? You couldn't have just put us in a bigger room to begin with? So we had to pack all our stuff again and move. After all that, the room and building was out dated and falling apart. Also, the people their were so crabby!m They treated us like morons, when asking questions about places/directions around Chicago. I know we are tourists and don't know our way around, but duh!
The only good thing was the pool and the fact we got our parking refunded for the one day.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DT-HCMM, Guest Service Admin. Asst. at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, July 14, 2011
Dear Shadowfox83, I apologize that your stay was less than perfect, this is something that we do not want happening to our guest. The room that you had been put into at first did not accommodate the roll away bed and they had to find one for the request. The hotel was filled at the time and when you checked in to the room, that room type was not ready. Once the room type was available to accommodate a roll away we were more than happy to accommodate you and your family. I am happy to hear that they made the correction and refunded the parking fee to you. We value every guest and when we fall short of expectations it is important for us to know, as this helps us to maintain a level of customer service our guest expect. My hope is that you will be back to the hotel to give us another opportunity to redeem ourselves and provide you with a memorable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    642
    314
    100
    53
See reviews for
452
346
89
394
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

Pros: Stayed here while attending a family wedding in July. The location was great- we were able to walk to Michigan Ave, Navy Pier, Millenium Park, and the Shedd aquarium (though the aquarium was a bit of a hike) with little difficulty. Was great to not need a car to get around, and the rates were less than other hotels on Michigan Ave.

Now for the cons- we weren't able to check in until well after the specified check-in time of 3PM, and when we asked if we could check in any earlier the staff was incredibly rude. There were some issues with our room, and while we did bring them up, they were not addressed satisfactorily.

Summary: If you're looking for a less expensive hotel on Michigan Ave and don't care if the staff is rude, this is a good choice. If you're looking for good service, go elsewhere.

Room Tip: Avoid the adjoining rooms- walls are paper thin!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DT-HCMM, Guest Service Admin. Asst. at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, July 14, 2011
Dear RX2013, Please accept our most sincere apologies for any aggravation or frustration experienced during your time here at the hotel. It is our goal to provide only the highest level of customer service and accommodations for all of our guests. We apologize for falling short of that goal. I appreciate you taking time to share these comments with us and hope that you will be back to experience a greater stay with us in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

Spent 4 nights in Chicago with the purpose of experiencing the downtown vibe. Excellent location, within walking distance of all "places to see", shopping, trolley stops and the EL. Hotel was clean, quiet and front desk and concierge were most helpful. Lots of restaurants within the walking block area, along with a grocery store for snacks or quick meals. Safe area, would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Call the desk and ask for specials.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DT-HCMM, Guest Service Admin. Asst. at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, July 6, 2011
Sarainone thank you for taking time to comment on your stay while you were a guest here in the hotel while in Chicago. It is nice to hear stories from guest like you who really get to enjoy the great attractions and shops near us. We hope you will be back again in the soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

This hotel is in a nice locale, and has an outdoor pool, unique for Chicago. But the customer service and quality of the rooms is subpar, I suggest the wit for better service and better rooms. As a Hilton honors member I expect to get a room at the time of check in, they had a room full of customers trying to check in waiting in the lobby at 3pm....the only instruction was to come back in 30 minutes. I think they had rooms empty but didn't have enough staff to clean them quickly I imagine the management is terrible to work for, and the bad attitude trickles down to all of the staff. The manager would not speak to me directly and everyone waiting was angry. Maybe I would have hidden from the mod too. You are better off at any Marriott property in this city

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, July 6, 2011
Dear Kerryroesch,
We were disappointed to read about your recent experience at our hotel. This type of service is not typical of what we offer and we would certainly be interested in getting more details about the situation you encountered. We would like to address, correct, and learn from your experience so that no other guests departs feeling the way you did. Our Hotel Manager, Nichole Benolken, welcomes the opportunity to discuss further, and can be reached at nbenolken@doubletreemagmile.com or (312) 224-4260. We look forward to coming up with a resolution to your negative experience, since we are committed to providing all of our guests with the highest standard of service.
Be well,
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

We were in Chicago for five days for a girls trip. Being two small town southern girls, we needed a little help on a few occasions making our way around the city and using the transit system. The concierge, bell staff, and desk staff were friendly and helpful every time we needed them. This hotel is in an absolutely perfect location, is immaculately maintained, and the rooms and beds are beyond comfortable. The rooftop pool is a real treat if you need a little break. Jason, the attendant at the bar/snack stand out by the pool was helpful in providing tips about thing to do around the city and went above and beyond waiting on us as we enjoyed a couple of hours of poolside R and R. The Doubletree on Ohio is a top notch place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DT-HCMM, Guest Service Admin. Asst. at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, June 28, 2011
Dear ElizfrmTX, it is nice to hear that you and your friend had a wonderful time while staying with us! It is great that the staff was able to show you how we assist our guest with all of their traveling needs and I am glad you enjoyed the guest room as well. We pride ourselves on providing the best in guest service and taking the stress out of traveling. Thank you for choosing us and please check our website for great guest room packages.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mishawaka, Indiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011 via mobile

This hotel offers a great location close to shopping and sight seeing. You have Navy Pier .7 miles away and In the other direction you have shopping, the Hancock building, and House of blues is .65 miles in the other direction. you can walk to everything.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DT-HCMM, Guest Service Admin. Asst. at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, June 28, 2011
Hello, Daytonaman88 thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at the Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Mag Mile. We are in a great area of downtown Chicago where all the fun and excitement can be found, all within walking distance. We hope that you will be back to the Chicago land area and visit us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

We were happy with our stay. Staff was very friendly and help full.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DT-HCMM, Guest Service Admin. Asst. at Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, July 11, 2011
Dear 2SeniorsbyRail, thank you for taking the time out to comment on your recent visit to the hotel. We are very happy to hear of your satisfaction with the hotel and the employees. We do our very vest to provide the best in customer service at all times, hearing feed back such as yours lets us know we are right on track! Thank you and we look forward to being of service to you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile

Address: 300 East Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#84 Family Hotel in Chicago
#87 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#89 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile 3.5*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A magnificent Chicago location, The Doubletree Chicago Magnificent Mile offers modern accommodations in a superb location between the famed Magnificent Mile shopping and the excitement of Navy Pier on Lake Michigan. Walk to dozens of historic Chicago attractions, shopping and countless restaurants. O'Hare International (ORD) and Midway (MDW) airports are 45 minutes by train, taxi, shuttle or limo. $21 million rejuvenation offers a dynamic, urban retreat. Doubletree Chicago Magnificent Mile features vibrant new contemporary guest rooms in charcoal, white and fushcia. Residential-style amenities include ultra-comfortable Sweet Dreams® beds; MP3 compatible stereo clock radios; Wolfgang Puck® gourmet in-room coffee service; luxury bath and body products; showers and bath tubs, and a spacious work desk complete with wireless, high-speed internet access and ergonomic desk chairs. Room Service served daily from 3pm-11pm.Markethouse is now closed for lunch and dinner.Dinner is served in the Lobby Lounge from 4pm until 10:30pm. Breakfast is served inside Markethouse Monday - Friday 6am-10am Saturday/ Sunday 7am-11am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Chicago
Doubletree Magnificent Mile
Chicago Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.