We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value for a Suite in a High End Area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Suites Chicago/Magnificent Mile

Save Saved
You added Hilton Suites Chicago/Magnificent Mile to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Suites Chicago/Magnificent Mile
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   198 E. Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
American Girl Package
Ranked #75 of 168 hotels in Chicago
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Value for a Suite in a High End Area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I did a decent amount of shopping around before booking here, and this is definitely the best value per sq ft that you are going to get in this area. I was attending a conference and had 2 other guys staying with me, so we were looking for a little extra space than the standard room would provide. The hotel is in a prime location on the magnificent mile and walkable to the lake. The suites are roomy, clean, and quiet. We all slept very comfortably. The living area closes off to the bedroom, and the couch is a pull out, so we all had our own bed. The bathroom is accessible from both the living area and the bedroom. There is a lot of seating in the living area, as well as a wet bar with a fridge and microwave. Our room ended up as a gathering area for others prior to going out bc we had way more space than anyone else. There is also a desk where you can get some work done if you need to. Wifi is free if you are an AT&T customer. The staff are very helpful downstairs, and the workers outside can always get you a cab quickly.

It certainly doesn't have the frills or ambiance of a boutique hotel, but that is usually what I would look to get with my wife on a romantic getaway. This hotel really doesn't fall in that category. I would definitely recommend this to anyone who was wanting to stay in this area and wanted more space than a standard room provides at a really good value. It worked perfectly for our situation.

Room Tip: I have heard that the rooms higher up have great views. You should try and request one of these. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickFilatre, General Manager at Hilton Suites Chicago/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear rwjacobs,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. It is both valued and appreciated. I am glad that you enjoyed our hotel and its great location. There is no doubt that being steps away from the Mag Mile, the John Hancock Tower and the restaurants on Rush Street makes it easy to enjoy our fabulous city. An there is more to do when you stay with us, the shopping is just steps away and after shopping, it is always nice to go for a relaxing walk by Lake Michigan that is just a block away. The fact that all our rooms are suites makes it comfortable to have friends over to share a drink before going for a nice dinner. I am delighted that yoiu enjoyed our hotel, the lopcation and the service your received.

Looking forward to seeing you in the great city of Chicago again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    277
    298
    110
    45
    16
See reviews for
222
139
46
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Located in one of the nicest neighborhoods in the city this all suite hotel really delivers. With an easy walk to Michigan Ave/Mag Mile and the Lakefront you can't beat the location. Rooms are spacious(ask for high floor lake view) with all the amenities. Courteous , helpful staff with a nice top floor pool and gym add to this gem. The first floor connected restaurant, The Local Chicago is outstanding for breakfast, lunch, dinner & late night. The Local offers a variety of fresh sourced interesting foods and a large list of liquid libations

Room Tip: best rooms face the lake on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickFilatre, General Manager at Hilton Suites Chicago/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Joe D,

Thank you so much for taking time from your busy schedule to share your experience. It is both valued and appreciated.

Thank you for recommending our location. There is no doubt that being steps away from the Mag Mile, the American Girl, and the restaurants on Rush Street makes it easy to enjoy our fabulous city. I am glad that you had the opportunity to experience the Local restaurant. Indeed, it is a great way to relax and enjoy Chicago’s local cuisi

Looking forward to seeing you in the great city of Chicago again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great staff - very professional, helpful & friendly. They assisted us with advice on bus routes, taxis, & restaurants. The pool was a big hit with my daughter & she absolutely loved all of the special treats included with the American Girl package. Very comfortable & relaxing weekend for mom & girl.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickFilatre, General Manager at Hilton Suites Chicago/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Jane M,

Thanks so much for your comments. It sounds like you had a great time here in Chicago and it is truly a pleasure and a privilege to read the feedback of our guests. All of us at the hotel are commited to the satisfaction of our guest and ansure a pleasant stay, we are delighted to read that you enjoyed our great city and our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I requested a lake view room and the view was Amazing! Our room was very comfortable and clean. The hotel is in a great location - just a few steps to Michigan Ave, Watertower Place. My husband informed me after my stay with our daughter that the hotel has hosted every American President since the hotels opening. Interesting little fact.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickFilatre, General Manager at Hilton Suites Chicago/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Amada S,

Thanks so much for your comments. It sounds like you had a great time here in Chicago. Reading the experiences of our guests is something that we enjoy doing and yours is no exception. Our location next to Michigan Avenue, steps away from the Lake and a short walk to many restaurants makes it easy to enjoy Chicago.

Looking forward to seeing you in the great city of Chicago again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canberra
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hilton Chicago/Magnificent Mile Suites as you might guess from the name, is an all-suites hotel. It sits downtown about a block from the famous North Michigan Avenue, a block or a bit from Lake Michigan. I didn’t care for the Check in Pod in the lobby. Firstly, it didn’t work. Secondly, when a cursing and swearing kid got it to work, it spit out all the wrong rooms. We tried to suss out the area by computer and found that the wifi—for which you pay—is something like 1980s teletext.
C’est La Vie. These things happen. I tried to order from the room (‘suite’ is a bit of a stretch of English vocabulary), and we finally left in fear of starvation. (The stuff, undelivered, appeared on the bill but was graciously and apologetically removed.) We gave up and went for a walk. It’s a nice neighborhood—in daylight and generally at night. There are plenty of great eateries (a Chicago word), nice clothing shops, and loads of brand names.
The food in the place is good. That’s because it is almost impossible in Chicago to get a bad meal.
I have nothing else to say because mum always said that if you have nothing good to say, keep your trap shut.
It’s not bad. But it is not great. It could easily be so much better.

Room Tip: It's Chicago. Go upstairs for peace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickFilatre, General Manager at Hilton Suites Chicago/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Roemanner,

Thank you very much for staying with us and thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience with us. Please know that we are dissapointed that certain aspect of your stay were not met on this visit. Your feedback is highly valued and will be shared with the appropriate managers and associates to make sure things are handled differently in the future.

We look forward to having you stay with us on your next visit and I am confident that you will enjoy your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Rooms are all suites, very clean, and great location! Walking distance to all the cool places! There are plenty of good / great restaurant within walking distance and other great attractions. The staff was very friendly and helpful .Highly recommend this hotel!

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickFilatre, General Manager at Hilton Suites Chicago/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Cochisedog,

Thank you so much for taking time from your busy schedule to share your experience. It is both valued and appreciated. I am glad that you enjoyed the service receieved at the hotel as well as our location. Many of our guests have found that our location is the perfect place to enjoy everything Chicago has to offer and be in the Gold Coast. The restaurants, the shopping, Lake Michigan, the Magnificent Mile and Oak Street are all in walking distance from the hotel.

Looking forward to seeing you in the great city of Chicago again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is nice. Just don't plan on asking the concierge for anything or expect to have someone in your family sleep on the pullout sofa. The sofa was completely broken and no one offered to switch our room or fix the bed. Additionally, my mother came in before the rest of the family. She asked the concierge for suggestions on somewhere to eat and the lady just suggested room service. Seriously? This is right off of Michigan Ave. there may not be a ton of eating options but there were a few at least. Very disappointed. Go stay in the loop where it is much cheaper.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickFilatre, General Manager at Hilton Suites Chicago/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Susan M,

Thank you for staying with us. Please know I regret your expectations were not met on this visit. Your feedback is highly valued and has been shared with the appropriate managers and associates to make sure things are handled differently in the future. We take the satisfaction of guests very seriously and I apologize for not meeting your expectations and our own standards.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly so we can make it right on your next visit to Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Family-friendly...
Show More
Hilton Garden Inn Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Family-friendly...
Show More
Gold Coast
Doubletree by Hilton Chicago Magnificent Mile
Mid-range, Free...
Show More
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Mid-range...
Show More
Near North Side
Embassy Suites Hotel Chicago Downtown
Pool, Luxury, R...
Show More
Hilton Chicago
Hilton Chicago
#86 of 168 in Chicago
4.0 of 5 stars 2,326 reviews
Restaurant, Fre...
Show More
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Suites Chicago/Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Suites Chicago/Magnificent Mile

Address: 198 E. Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#63 Business Hotel in Chicago
#69 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Suites Chicago/Magnificent Mile 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Suites Chicago/Magnificent Mile hotel in downtown Chicago is an upscale all-suite property in a prime downtown Chicago location. Our modern, all suite-hotel provides comfortable, well-appointed two-room guest suites and executive accommodations.... more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hilton Suites Chicago/Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Suites Chicago/Magnificent Mile Hotel Chicago
Hilton Hotel Chicago
Hilton Chicago
Chicago Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Suites Chicago/Magnificent Mile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.