We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barbie House Bathroom” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Allegro Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Allegro Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Allegro Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   171 W Randolph Street, Chicago, IL 60601 (Downtown / The Loop)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct: Get 20% Off!
Ranked #88 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersGold level
Granville, OH
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Barbie House Bathroom”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I have now been a guest at the Allegro on four different occasions. The room is small but has a comfortable bed - but that bathroom - honestly I did not think that they made fixtures that small! Really! I am a tall, medium build woman and I can barely wash my face using that sink. That said, the hotel staff are great,they have a free happy hour and it is conveniently located.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    721
    684
    272
    101
    36
See reviews for
186
592
126
540
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

My family and I stayed at this hotel for one night in order to participate in Chicago's annual "Bike the Drive" event in which participants were able to ride their bikes along Lake Shore Drive for a limited time in the morning. The location of this hotel was perfect as it was only a few blocks away from Lake Shore Drive.

The night before the event, we asked the desk about late check-out. We were told that check-out was at noon the next day but that it could be extended to 1:00 if we called the front desk after 8:00 a.m. Because Bike the Drive went from 5:00-9:30 a.m., we were not able to call the hotel until around 10:00 a.m. When we called, we were told that they were limited to the amount of late check-outs they could allow and that they had already reached their peak for the day. The fact that we were simply unable to call until then and that we tried to make the arrangements the night before did not make one bit of difference. This policy is clearly designed to discourage late check-outs, and for a business that is in the service industry, they need to learn to avoid policies that are discouraging to their customer's needs.

The rooms are small with very little space in which to move. If you are planning on working in your room or doing more than just laying your head down to rest, the room may not be conducive to your needs.

Some of the staff were good, like at the restaurant which gave us plates and disposable place settings for us to use with the food we brought-in for a group dinner.

The bell service at the curb of this hotel is great. The people are extremely friendly and nice to be around and made us feel very welcomed. Unfortunately, the awful policy of discouraging late check-outs ruined what could have otherwise been a good review.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllegroManager, Rooms Director at Hotel Allegro Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you so much for choosing the Allegro for the Bike the Drive event.
I am sorry to hear that we were unable to extend a late check out to you on Sunday and I would like to apologize if that ruin your plans in any way.
While we would love to grant every guest a late departure, we do have to ensure that we also have rooms available for new guests arriving.
I did share your feedback with our team and we do hope that you will still consider the Allegro on your next visit to Chicago.

Iris Junge
Rooms Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I highly recommend this hotel, it's located close to the Park and the south side of the Michigan Avenue - great shopping. The Hotel is also located in the theatre district, making it ideal for those in town for a show.

The Décor of the hotel is superb and the service amazing. the rooms were great and the wine hour at 5pm every afternoon is a must - I met some amazing people at the wine hour every evening.

As a solo traveller I was made to feel very comfy and looked after - so if you are a solo traveller, then go for it, ideal also for families couples and those with pets too!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The stay started out nicely when the very curteous front desk clerk let us check in at 1130. The hotel is very spacious and well appointed in the lobby areas. After waiting for quite a few minutes for one of three tiny elevators, we went up to the 6th floor. While very clean, you can tell this bldg is old. Our standard 2 double bed room was tiny. Barely enough room for my husband and I to cross paths in front of the bathroom or beds. The beds were comfortable, big flat screen TV and modern furnishings. While we didnt use them, the yoga mat and animal print robes were a cute touch. But what was with the $15 socks in the ironing closet?
The bathroom was very clean and shower was ok size. you couldnt have two people in there at once unless one was in the shower, no counter space at all. Both mornings there was very little hot water for either of us.
I agree with some of the other reviewers- the bell and front door men were not very helpfull. On one occasion, we didnt realize there was a one group line ahead of us for a taxi, so after being chastised about there being a line, we were left standing there while he gave the next cab to a group of people that came out after us. He realized the mistake before they got in and tried to say he thought we were all together- did he think that we would sit on laps? The other group and ours equalled 7people getting into a small suv-really?
I have stayed in Chicago many times and while I realize its a big old city and lots of rooms are going to be small, I would stay at several other choices before this one again. Please keep in mind my service rating is decent, but not for the front door people. I couldnt seperate the staff positions for ratings so rated a little higher because the room attendant and front desk staff were very nice.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billerica
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We were here for a 2-day business meeting and the staff were very friendly, welcoming and accommodating. Of note, we held a working dinner at the hotel, which was well catered. They ran out of vegetarian options, and the staff went out of their way to find suitable alternative dishes for the guests. All of our attendees had a good experience, and there were no complaints. As we are in Chicago often, I know this is a hotel we will use again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We were very impressed with this hotel. Its Art Deco decor really grabbed our attention!
The rooms were impeccably clean with a comfortable mattress and high end linens/pillows.
We appreciated the complimentary happy hour and the coffee bar in the morning.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

We stayed over Mother's Day weekend and took in a play. The staff was very helpful and the restaurant, 312 Chicago, was so convenient. We enjoyed brunch and lunch at the restaurant. If you prefer a more intimate and quaint hotel, this one is it. There are plenty of sitting areas tucked away in the lobby that provide privacy for guests. Some features we really liked were: the television was large enough to see! If you wanted a coffee pot (Keurig type) for your room they had no problem giving you one. Plenty of hot water. Nice towels.

Room Tip: While the rooms are not gigantic, they are very comfortable. We were on a higher floor but found the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Allegro Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Allegro Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 171 W Randolph Street, Chicago, IL 60601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Chicago
#21 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#45 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#70 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#74 Family Hotel in Chicago
#76 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Allegro Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the downtown Chicago Loop and newly renovated, the exquisite Hotel Allegro Chicago has reopened to great acclaim. Centered in the lively theatre district, adjacent to Encore Lounge and restaurant 312 Chicago, this hotel is convenient to Chicago’s greatest attractions. The historic building, dating from 1924, features original Art Deco elements combined with modern luxuries to create a multi-sensory feast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Allegro Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Allegro Chicago Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Allegro Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.