We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We enjoyed the free wine & beer happy hour (from 5:00pm-6:00pm) at the lobby.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Allegro Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Allegro Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Allegro Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   171 W Randolph Street, Chicago, IL 60601 (The Loop)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 15%
Ranked #79 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersGold level
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“We enjoyed the free wine & beer happy hour (from 5:00pm-6:00pm) at the lobby.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Very contemporary hotel. Perfectly located in the Chicago Theater District. Excellent customer service. We enjoyed the free wine & beer happy hour (from 5:00pm-6:00pm) at the lobby. During the day they offer free hot chocolate with at least 6 toppings. With respect to price, very reasonable. We come to Chicago a lot, we are now considering this hotel for future visits. Cheers!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    699
    656
    254
    99
    34
See reviews for
182
571
123
508
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Illinois
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Stayed for the hotel for opening night of the phantom of the opera in January. The hotel is lovely : clean: and has friendly service at effect turn. The location is prime for all theatres and they have a great restaurant called encore down stairs. The hot cocoa and wine socials are not to be missed!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Very conveniently located, helpful and courteous staff, nice rooms, good value for money, free wifi, one of the very few hotels that lets 18 year olds check in, good gym, close to mag mile, free coffee and complimentary wine hour

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Hotel Allegro in November 2013 and we absolutely adored it! The room is beautiful and the location is extremely convenient! The hotel is newly renovated and is simply stunning. The staff was very courteous, friendly and helpful - they helped us pick a nearby restaurant on our first night!

Since the hotel is located in the Theatre District, there are plenty of things to visit and see. We're both in our early 20's and it took us about 15-20 minutes to walk to the Magnificent Mile, 20 minutes to the Navy Pier, roughly 30 minutes to Millenium Park/Art Institute, and 45 minutes to Soldier Field. Taking a taxi is very cheap (we realized this on our last day) - it's around 5$ for a ride to Soldier Field from the hotel!

The only downside is there is no parking within the hotel you have to park at a parking garage. I believe it is like this for many hotels in downtown Chicago though. We parked our car for 3 nights in the "Lasalle Parking", if I remember correctly, and the service was fantastic!

I definitely recommend this hotel to everyone! It is in a great location, quiet, beautiful, and the beds were very comfortable. My one and only tip would be to visit the lobby desk regarding internet access! We thought we had to pay but if you sign up as one of their members you receive FREE wifi in your room!

Room Tip: Rooms on a higher level are most likely best. We were on the 12th floor and we could somewhat hear t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
detroit
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We had a great stay at the Hotel Allegro. What keeps us coming back? The friendly, caring and attentive staff definitely tops the list as well as their wonderful social hour, excellent location in the theater district, dog friendly policy, comfortable beds and delicious breakfast in the hotel's restaurant 312. We have been visiting Chicago for over 30 years and have never enjoyed a hotel as much as this one!

Room Tip: Although some rooms are bigger than others, we have never been uncomfortable in any of the rooms.
See more room tips
Green Features: It is my understanding that all of the properties are committed to environmentally friendly practices including recycle baskets along with regular waste baskets in every room. They make is so easy to recycle!
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlett, IL
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

This is an older hotel that has been completely renovated. The entry and registration area are very beautiful. At the holiday's the decorations were quite festive and fun. I would forego the free hot chocolate in the reception area though. It was so watered down I couldn't drink it.

Our room was TINY! This isn't unusual in the Chicago market for the older hotels that have been renovated but if you are an above average size you may have a hard time in the bathroom. I've never seen a bathroom quite this small. That being said, it was very clean and for what we needed it fit the bill. A place to sleep is pretty much all we needed. The bed was on the hard side but not so much so that it was uncomfortable. Lot's of nice pillows.

It is right next door to the Oriental Theater which is nice. Most of the other Chicago theaters are within walking distance. It's also nice if you're there for holiday shopping since the Chriskindlmarket is just around the corner and Macy's just a couple blocks away.

We got a decent rate on the hotel through Groupon and we wouldn't be opposed to staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

The staff was very helpful and attentive, the food at the downstairs restaurants, 312, was wonderful. Clean and luxurious rooms, fun wine happy hour each night. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone. I would say it seems a bit more friendly for couples or groups of adults rather than little kids.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllegroManager, Rooms Director at Hotel Allegro Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
We're thrilled you chose our hotel and had a great time! We look forward to your next visit! You'll find some exciting new enhancements and we think you'll like them.

Iris Junge
Rooms Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Allegro Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Allegro Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 171 W Randolph Street, Chicago, IL 60601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Chicago
#19 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#39 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#68 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#68 Family Hotel in Chicago
#68 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Allegro Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the downtown Chicago Loop and newly renovated, the exquisite Hotel Allegro Chicago has reopened to great acclaim. Centered in the lively theatre district, adjacent to Encore Lounge and restaurant 312 Chicago, this hotel is convenient to Chicago’s greatest attractions. The historic building, dating from 1924, features original Art Deco elements combined with modern luxuries to create a multi-sensory feast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Allegro Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Allegro Chicago Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Allegro Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.