We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel and great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Allegro Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Allegro Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Allegro Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   171 W Randolph Street, Chicago, IL 60601 (Downtown / The Loop)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct: Get 20% Off!
Ranked #88 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersGold level
Troy, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice hotel and great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I stayed at Allegro for a day and enjoyed the stay. The people were nice and the valet service was good too. The only thing that bothered us was that the walls were very thing. You can hear everything....Other than that the services were great and there is free wifi.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    721
    684
    272
    101
    36
See reviews for
186
592
126
540
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I have stayed at the Allegro 11 times so far this year for business and I really like the place. The rooms are small but have a nice ambiance. You can't beat the free wine hour nightly and their staff rocks. From the doorman "Big D" to the Encore manager Jason and even George the electrician really make me fell like I have some friends at my home away from home. Try it, join the in touch club and make some new friends.

Room Tip: Higher floors get less street noise inherent in the big cities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

This boutique style hotel delivers an old world European feel with modern amenities in the heart of the theater district. The staff was extremely friendly from the moment I hit the curb to the moment I checked out. Little tip – save yourself a few dollars and take your suitcase up to the room yourself instead of handing off to the bellman. Although the room and bathroom was small and I could hear the guests in the room next to me this hotel makes up for it by offering nice amenities including a yoga mat, around the clock yoga TV, device charging pod, and an IPOD home for the alarm clock. The bathroom products are C. O. Bigelow and there is also a full size hair dryer which is always a nice bonus. If you are looking for the Coffee maker you will need to call down to the front desk to request one. They do offer complimentary tea and coffee in the lobby each morning as well as wine and/or beer in the early evening. I had the opportunity to test out both of the hotel restaurants ENCORE and 312 along with room service for dinner. The room service menu offers a little for everyone however I came in late so I just ordered some French Onion soup and the allegro salad. It arrived quickly – well before the promised 30 minutes. The French Onion soup was hot and delicious and the salad was crisp and perfect for a late dinner. The food at the Encore restaurant is Bar food and the menu is limited – sandwiches, salads, and appetizers. The food was slow to come out and not especially hot. I would go there for their specialty drinks and stick to an appetizers instead of ordering a full meal. The other restaurant 312 with it’s Italian and seafood filled menu was absolutely incredible and because of this be sure to make reservations. Additional tip – sign up for the Loyalty Program and receive free access to Wi-Fi and a $10 credit towards the mini-bar.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Simsbury, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

I stayed here last week for two nights on a business trip. The hotel is in a great downtown location with lots to do around the hotel. The room was a little small but very clean and comfortable. The food at the restaurant was good but enjoyed the diner across the street as well.

Room Tip: During the week it had a lot of business travelers so getting an elevator was tough in the morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign-Urbana, Illinois
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

I stayed at the Allegro for almost a whole week. It was such a nice stay that I wouldn't even think twice to stay there again. The staff was really nice and accommodating, I got to check in early. I wouldn't recommend staying here if there's more than 2 people to a room because there's not much closet space and the bathroom is small (sink is extremely small), but that didn't effect me since I traveled alone. They had good tea and coffee every morning. Also, you can conveniently go to Starbucks and Encore (lunch/dinner/lounge) from the inside of the hotel. The location is AWESOME. Few blocks away from State Street, less than a mile away from Michigan Ave and Millenium Park, 10 minute walk from Union Station, next to the El and other bus stops, and you can walk around at night, too. Every evening when I got back the room was tidied up and clean. I would HIGHLY recommend becoming a Kimpton InTouch member because you get free internet and a $10 credit to "raid the mini bar" and the mini bar has a wide variety of food and drinks. Make sure to ask for a room away from the El if you are a light sleeper!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Enjoyed my stay very much. Recommend you become a Kimpton Intouch Member (free signup loyalty program). Not only do you get free wifi but I believe they will check you into a larger room if available (not a proven fact but it worked for me). Also recommend asking for a room on an upper floor for less noise/light.

Pros:
Friendly, accommodating staff
Great microbrew beer in the lobby during complementary wine/beer hour
Comfortable room
Incandescent dimmer bulbs on every lamp is a nice touch (less "green" but I prefer it)
Location

Cons:
Towels could use softener
Elevators can take a while as is common in boutique hotel

Room Tip: Upper floor = less noise and light from street, Join loyalty program
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

I had a 2PM meeting and was arriving into Midway airport at 11AM. I had requested an early check-in so I could change from my comforatable travel clothes into my business suit. When I checked in at the reception desk the young woman announced that my room was ready - I didn't even have to ask.
The staff in the Encore restaraunt and the morning breakfast delivery person were very personable and helpful.
the staff at this hotel really understand service excellence.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Allegro Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Allegro Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 171 W Randolph Street, Chicago, IL 60601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Chicago
#21 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#45 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#70 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#74 Family Hotel in Chicago
#76 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Allegro Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the downtown Chicago Loop and newly renovated, the exquisite Hotel Allegro Chicago has reopened to great acclaim. Centered in the lively theatre district, adjacent to Encore Lounge and restaurant 312 Chicago, this hotel is convenient to Chicago’s greatest attractions. The historic building, dating from 1924, features original Art Deco elements combined with modern luxuries to create a multi-sensory feast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Allegro Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Allegro Chicago Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Allegro Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.