We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Winner for Kimpton” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Allegro Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Allegro Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Allegro Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   171 W Randolph Street, Chicago, IL 60601 (Downtown / The Loop)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct: Get 20% Off!
Ranked #88 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersGold level
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Another Winner for Kimpton”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Kimpton offers boutique hotels at an affordable price in great urban locations. The Hotel Allegro is on the border of the financial and theater districts. It is about a 10-15 minute walk to the north end of Millenium Park. My room was small but very comfortable, with a desk and large flat screen TV. The closet is TINY. The bathroom, also small, is well appointed in marble, a single sink and decent counter space for the size. All to be expected from a building built in the early 1900's. The air-conditioning worked well. Kimpton still offers stocked mini-bars and comfy bathrobes. In contrast, the contemporary design done in black, white, blue and silver, with lots of patterns and interesting shapes creates a modern luxury feel.

The lobby is on the second floor and offers 3 distinct seating areas, also done in stylish contemporary design. Kimpton offers a complimentary wine reception in the lobby. If you choose to partake, come early to stake out your seats. If the hotel is full, the lobby gets busy and the queue for the wine and beer is continuous for the full hour of the reception. There are light appetizers passed and management puts out a few party games for guest use.

The elevators are small, can be slow, especially after the evening reception or when there are events in the ballroom on the 2nd floor.

There is a Starbucks in the building with access through the first floor entrance.

Built by the Eitel Brothers in 1926, as part of the entire block development, including the Cadillac Theater, the hotel has lots of architectural character and an art deco flair; including a working mail chute down the entire building.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,812 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    719
    684
    272
    100
    37
See reviews for
185
591
126
540
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

I love the Allegro. Customer service is my highest priority in any service industry, and I found the Allegro in Chicago to surpass my every expectation. I loved the personal touch exhibited by every staff member I came into contact with; they truly did make me feel as though we were old friends. I stayed for either 4 or 5 nights; a slackening or small error would almost be an expectation in an ordinary situation. There's nothing ordinary about the Allegro. The amenities are unique in my experience. I enjoyed the loan of a highly rated yoga DVD along with a new yoga mat. This was only one of the offerings. Did I mention the food was great? My stay at a 5-star Chicago hotel was easily surpassed by the smaller, more intimate Allegro. What are you waiting for? They offer a last-minute promotion!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Very cramped king room with a small, poorly lit bathroom. This hotel is well located, but much less comfortable than other Kimptons (including others in Chicago). The lobby is very large and still was absolutely jammed during with Kimpton's usual complimentary late afternoon wine and beer hour.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Recently stayed here on business for three nights. Honestly, the worst sleep I have ever gotten at a hotel. To say the walls are paper thin is an understatement. Impossible to sleep at all. I've stayed at hostels with better soundproofing. Don't stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I had a horrible and bizarre experience at this hotel. After returning to my room mid-afternoon to charge my phone, I found that my reservation had been CANCELED without any notification, and that my phone charger had been stolen from my room! Not only did they kick me out without any compassion or care whatsoever, they took no responsibility for the mistake or the fact that my phone charger had disappeared from my room! This was so unfortunate, since the hotel was perfectly located for the conference I was attending, and I loved that they had yoga mats in the room. The staff was cold, heartless, and seemed to think they were doing me a big favor to let me use their phone to find another place to stay!! SO DISAPPOINTING!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I booked a month in advance. Still could not get two beds, until I paid an extra $75 a night. Was told it had 2 beds and hot tub. We got a pull out couch and a bath with jets. The first night a barking dog. The second a wedding directly under our room. They refunded a portion of my stay. That was nice, as we had 2 nights of limited sleep. The staff was great. The hotel has a lovely free wine tasting. I would however not regard this as a 4 star hotel. The W hotels have spoiled me. I would take a Westin or W over Klimpton any day. The best part of our stay was the exceptional concierge.

Room Tip: Book at a Star wood hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janesville, Wisconsin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We were fortunate enough to get Hotel Allegro on a Hotwire bid. It was perfect for our weekend trip to see Book of Mormon. We walked everywhere and enjoyed the free wine tasting that the hotel offered. The front desk was kind enough to let us check in early, however, with that, we received the small room directly in front of the elevators. The room was small, but clean and had all we needed for our night in Chicago.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Allegro Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Allegro Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 171 W Randolph Street, Chicago, IL 60601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Chicago
#21 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#45 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#68 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#74 Family Hotel in Chicago
#76 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Allegro Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the downtown Chicago Loop and newly renovated, the exquisite Hotel Allegro Chicago has reopened to great acclaim. Centered in the lively theatre district, adjacent to Encore Lounge and restaurant 312 Chicago, this hotel is convenient to Chicago’s greatest attractions. The historic building, dating from 1924, features original Art Deco elements combined with modern luxuries to create a multi-sensory feast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Allegro Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Allegro Chicago Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Allegro Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.