We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“acceptable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Allegro Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Allegro Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Allegro Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   171 W Randolph Street, Chicago, IL 60601 (The Loop)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 15%
Ranked #77 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersGold level
Kuwait
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“acceptable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

my room was in 18th floor, quiet, small but adequate. Décor was silver and gray and made me feel little depressed. I stayed there for 6 nights and the only issue was few short hairs on the bed blanket sheet and in room breakfast that I ordered and charged 28 dollars instead of 11 dollars for 2 eggs and a hash brown. Otherwise I had good time. it is very close to the train, lots of restaurants all around.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllegroManager, Rooms Director at Hotel Allegro Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Thanks so much for sharing your feedback. I am so embarrased about the hairs you found in your room and have shared your feedback with the Housekeeping Team already. I am sorry that we overcharged you for the breakfast. We can certainly look into that for you if you wish and get that corrected.

Iris Junge
Rooms Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    699
    655
    254
    99
    34
See reviews for
182
570
123
507
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wauwatosa, WI
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed here because we went to see The Book of Mormon. Very easy to walk to the show, dinner and back again. Great staff, fabulous lobby and very comfortable bed. Room was small but more than adequate. They do accept pets and except for one pooch's barking when we checked in at 1 pm, you couldn't tell animals were present (I am allergic to dogs and cats and was a bit concerned but I shouldn't have been).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllegroManager, Rooms Director at Hotel Allegro Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
We totally agree with you, that the Allegro is THE place to stay. Thanks so much for this awesome review. We hope to see you again for another visit.

Iris Junge
Rooms Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

My wife and I have stayed here many times now. This past visit the hotel was booked solid for a wedding and yet there was very little noise. The nightly wine reception was very enjoyable and we had a very spacious room. I wish we were staying longer than one night. I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllegroManager, Rooms Director at Hotel Allegro Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your loyalty and the wonderful review. We appreciate it.
See you again soon!

Iris Junge
Rooms Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cresent city il
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Went to The Book of Mormon. This is a great place to get to the theater! Staff is very friendly! Rooms are small but adequate for the wife and I. The bed and pillows are very comfortable! The fitness center has nice treadmills. The free wine bar is a nice touch. in the 60's and early 70's my family would stay at the hotel Bismark, Kimpton has done a nice job of make Allegro modern and retain the historic feel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllegroManager, Rooms Director at Hotel Allegro Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback and for your loaylty over so many years! We do think it's a great old building.
We hope to see you again soon!

Iris Junge
Rooms Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Allegro for three nights on a business trip (Jan 2013). This is a fantastic hotel. Beautiful lobby and very nice rooms. Yes, they are small but this is a hotel -- not an apartment people :-) The free wine and beer every night is a nice amenity. There are games and books scattered throughout the lobby. The room service was reasonable, prompt and friendly. The staff was very nice -- I did not feel they were snobbish. This location is very close to the train, lots of taxis, shops and restaurants all around. Very, very convenient. The beds were comfortable and while the bathroom was small -- it does the job. Nice bath products in larger tubes than normal hotels. The doormen tripped all over themselves to open the doors and were helpful when asking directions or for getting a cab. I will definitely stay at this hotel again. Check out the history of the hotel and the adjoining theater. Very interesting.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllegroManager, Rooms Director at Hotel Allegro Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback, we really appreciate it and love that you love us! We look forward to your next visit!

Iris Junge
Rooms Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaker Heights, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

The good: Nice location in the theatre district, easy access to cabs and trains, walking distance to cool restaurants on W. Randolph, very friendly staff, attached Starbucks, Encore, and 312 restaurants were quite good. Coffee and flavored water in lovely lobby with nice settees where you could hang out and enjoy reading.
The bad: very small rooms with inadequate drawers in the dresser. Bathroom was really tiny; felt like a cruise ship small cabin. Sink was the smallest I have ever seen!
The front desk clerk nicely explained that as an older property, we would need to adjust our expectations about room and space. She did pleasantly find us a larger room at the end of the hall (for additional money -- which was fine w/us). The bathroom and sink however still were sized for Lilliputs.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllegroManager, Rooms Director at Hotel Allegro Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thanks for sharing your feedback. We are glad to hear that you had an overall pleasant experience and hope that you will be back for another visit.
We are currently looking into upgrading our bathroom sinks and counter space to make it more userfriendly and hope that you will get a chance to check it out.

Iris Junge
Rooms Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IN
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We decided to stay at this hotel because we were seeing at show at the Cadillac Palace Theatre. First, I was really disappointed with the staff. They had an "air" about them - rude and impersonal. The room was tiny, even smaller than a NYC hotel I'd previously stayed in. The bedroom wasn't bad, but the bathroom was awful. You couldn't even stand fully in front of the sink because of the location of the toilet. It hadn't been updated in awhile. Also, there was gum on the wall!

As for the location of the hotel, it is in the heart of the Loop. Therefore, it was great during the day, but dead after 6pm. After seeing the show, we didn't feel safe walking around (I've actually never felt like that in Chicago). Not even restaurants were open. Overall, it isn't a good location if you're looking for nightlife.

I've stayed in worse hotels, but for the price, Hotel Allegro was not worth it. We won't be staying here again and do not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllegroManager, Rooms Director at Hotel Allegro Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
I am sorry to hear that the Allegro just wasn't doing it for you. It's disappointing to hear that your encounters with our staff. We normally get great reviews about them.
I have already shared your feedback with the Housekeeping Team as well so they can ensure that the room is properly cleaned and the gum is removed.
We are hoping for a bit of a make over to address our small bathrooms. We'd love for you to check it out after completion.

Iris Junge
Rooms Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Allegro Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Allegro Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 171 W Randolph Street, Chicago, IL 60601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Chicago
#19 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#38 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#65 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#69 Family Hotel in Chicago
#70 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Allegro Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the downtown Chicago Loop and newly renovated, the exquisite Hotel Allegro Chicago has reopened to great acclaim. Centered in the lively theatre district, adjacent to Encore Lounge and restaurant 312 Chicago, this hotel is convenient to Chicago’s greatest attractions. The historic building, dating from 1924, features original Art Deco elements combined with modern luxuries to create a multi-sensory feast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Allegro Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Allegro Chicago Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Allegro Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.