We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just when we thought Kimpton hotels couldn't get any better...bikes!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Allegro Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Allegro Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel Allegro Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   171 W Randolph Street, Chicago, IL 60601 (Downtown / The Loop)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct: Get 20% Off!
Ranked #88 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersGold level
detroit
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Just when we thought Kimpton hotels couldn't get any better...bikes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We are already huge fans of the hotel allegro and always look forward to our visits with our dog. On our last visit a few weeks ago we were pleasantly surprised to see that they now offer bikes complete with helmets, baskets and locks. The concierge, Anthony set us up early on a Sunday morning and off we went! We rode to Michigan avenue, stopped for breakfast and then joined the locals for a ride along lakeshore. What a great way to check out Chicago!

The staff at the hotel allegro have always gone out of their way to make us feel welcome. We love their happy hour, morning coffee and tea in the lobby and their refreshing afternoon drinks. In the winter, they offer hot chocolate in the afternoon which is perfect after walking the cold streets of Chicago. Love,love,love this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllegroManager, Iris Junge ~ Rooms Director at Hotel Allegro Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
We just love to surprise our guests, especially those that come visit us often! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoy your visits so much and look forward to many more visits from you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    721
    684
    272
    101
    36
See reviews for
186
592
126
540
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fishers, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Hotel Allegro does a great job of having a modern and high class feel, with down to earth treatments. Everyone made us feel welcomed and deserving of being at Hotel Allegro. We missed wine hour but received two free glasses later that evening. Great touch with having coffee and tea available in the morning so Starbucks run was not needed. They do a great job making you feel welcomed, start and end your day with a little something special. Some interior is a bit dated but it's obvious they are working to keep everything modern and sophisticated. Also, COMFY BEDS!! Wanted to take home. I would recommend Hotel Allegro to anyone!

Room Tip: King Suites include a roll out couch that is in a seperate room, could easily fit 4-6 with room to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllegroManager, Iris Junge ~ Rooms Director at Hotel Allegro Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Thanks so much for your recommendation. We really appreciate it! We are happy to hear that you felt welcome and we hope to welcome you back again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Overall was happy with my stay at the hotel Allegro. We mentioned their secrete social media word after following them on twitter and received a free bottle of wine complete w nice glass sparkling and still water bottles along with dried apricots, olives, candied walnuts and a chicago picture frame. also was compd a free movie which was nice considering they charge 15$ to watch!

Enjoyed the friendly reception, free am coffee and tea and free pm sangria, wine and local beer.

All those things made the stay pretty great. In terms of the room itself, it was very average if not a bit on the poor side. It really was pretty small and plain, the sheets were old and low quality, the bathroom was VERY small and the tv actually stopped working (naturally after the obscenely expensive movie rental). I checked out the back of the tv and the high def cable had been make-shift glued into the slot and was falling out. After fiddling with it for a while it worked (haha).

overall a fun stay but would try someplace new next time...

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor, avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

This is one of my favorite hotel experiences by far. It smells great when you walk in, and it's right next to the theatre, if you're interested in going. There's one hour each day (either at 5 or 6 pm) where they host a happy hour - sangria, beer, and wine - for those who are 21+. The rooms are gorgeous and outfitted in a modern style. At first glance they seem a little small, but you have everything you need and all the space you need. Besides, it's downtown Chicago! Get out and do something! (I highly suggest Second City!)
It's an older edifice that's been completely gutted & remodeled. It has class and charm!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllegroManager, Iris Junge ~ Rooms Director at Hotel Allegro Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are so happy that this was one of your favority hotel expereinces and hope to see you again some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

I'm a Kimpton InTouch member and love all of the perks. I love the Kimpton vibe - trendy and cool. Hotel Allegro is in a great location for theatergoers and the price is right for downtown Chicago. My only complaint is the paper thin walls. Top to bottom, side to side, the walls are really thin! You can hear conversations and televisions, all at normal auditory levels. Thankfully Kimpton guests are normal and courteous so a disastrous night was averted , but things could have been very different had we had noisier neighbors. Also, for comparison purposes, I do prefer Kimpton's Hotel Monaco Chicago. It's really hard to beat Monaco's window seats!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllegroManager, Iris Junge ~ Rooms Director at Hotel Allegro Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
We love it that you love Kimpton's and are happy to have you as one of our Kimpton In Touch Members. If we could get those window seats you love at the Monaco, we would totally get them! We do hope you'll be back again regardless and look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normal, Illinois
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

This is the second time I have stayed here - great location right in the theater district - the lobby is visually stunning - modern rather than classic - really cool. The rooms are the same - but very comfortable. Rooms are smallish and I don't think that there are any rooms with two beds. Bathroom was small but well-appointed. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllegroManager, Iris Junge ~ Rooms Director at Hotel Allegro Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thanks for being a loyal guest at the Allegro. So happy that we can provide you with a home a away from home.
We do have rooms with two double beds, be sure to let us know if you need one next time you are in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tullahoma, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

My family and I stayed at the Allegro over Independance Day 2012. It was the best hotel we have ever stayed in on any vacation. It is located within walking distance of most big attractions. The beds were so comfortable that we slept better than we do at home. It was outstandingly clean and the decor beautiful! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllegroManager, Iris Junge ~ Rooms Director at Hotel Allegro Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
We are thrilled to be the best hotel you've ever stayed at! Can't wait to welcome you back again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Allegro Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Allegro Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel

Address: 171 W Randolph Street, Chicago, IL 60601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Chicago
#21 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#45 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#67 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#74 Family Hotel in Chicago
#76 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Allegro Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 483
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the downtown Chicago Loop and newly renovated, the exquisite Hotel Allegro Chicago has reopened to great acclaim. Centered in the lively theatre district, adjacent to Encore Lounge and restaurant 312 Chicago, this hotel is convenient to Chicago’s greatest attractions. The historic building, dating from 1924, features original Art Deco elements combined with modern luxuries to create a multi-sensory feast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Allegro Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Allegro Chicago Kimpton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Allegro Chicago - a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.