We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Lush bedding...nice large room...downtown Chicago"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Chicago Downtown River North

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Chicago Downtown River North to your Saves list
Courtyard Chicago Downtown River North
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   30 East Hubbard at State Street, Chicago, IL 60611 (Near North Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Culinary Adventure Offer
Ranked #68 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Abuja,
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“"Lush bedding...nice large room...downtown Chicago"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed here on a second trip to Chicago and it was another fantastic experience in Illinois.The rooms were great, nice and large. Great view of the city, centered in downtown Chicago... just where I like to be. Good access to the city center, restaurants, shops, works great for moving around. Great value !!! Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankie S, Senior Executive Assistant at Courtyard Chicago Downtown River North, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
We are so happy that you came back to stay with us again! Staying in River North is really the best of all worlds. We're glad you enjoy the room size and amenities, too! Thanks again for choosing us, and we hope to continue to host you time and time again. We love when our guests become our family!

All my best,

Frankie Solomon, Senior Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    303
    76
    18
    6
See reviews for
130
136
29
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

There were three of us sharing a room and this worked perfectly for us. 2 queen beds and a sleeper sofa gave us each a good night's sleep. Since we were just there for one night we didn't have a lot of luggage and there was ample room to move around. The sink was outside the bathroom which worked great for us. The bathroom itself was plenty large enough; I loved that I didn't have to squeeze beside the toilet just to get the door to shut.

We had breakfast downstairs at the restaurant and they had a nice buffet as well as allowing a la carte ordering. We each enjoyed our breakfast very much. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankie S, Senior Executive Assistant at Courtyard Chicago Downtown River North, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Hi there! Thanks for leaving a review! Next time you're in Chicago we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willington CT
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Great area, easy access to a lot of places. Need to get the restaurant open though. Nice idea to have complimentary breakfast. Should be available for longer time in the morning though. Some people don't get up as early as others.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed a few nights for a family vacation, room was clean, beds were comfortable and housekeeping did a great job. The hotel is very conveniently located to a lot of great restaurants and attractions and made walking a great alternatives to taking cabs everywhere. There is city noise, but I can't believe this wouldn't be found at other hotels in the area. The pool was small, as expected, but the sun deck/balcony area right off the pool was very nice for the adults to sit while the kids swam (sliding glass doors separated the area).

We are fairly loyal to the Marriott brand (work travel) but had other Marriott options to chose from in downtown Chicago. We are so glad we picked this hotel! The staff here was truly exceptional in every way. They greeted us both coming and going, asked the kids what they had just done and what they liked best. A bellman even told my daughter to grab an ice-cream treat from the snack area (for her Bday) and tell them "Ronnie the bellman will take care of it". While we travelled as a family this trip, we would return for business or for adult trips too. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankie S, Senior Executive Assistant at Courtyard Chicago Downtown River North, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review! We are thrilled to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay, and it really sounds like you "lived it up" during your Chicago trip! Restaurants, pool time, sight-seeing and more-- you were very busy!

Our team works hard to help families like yours create memories for a lifetime. It's why we do what we do! We'd love to see you next time you're in town- whether for work or play!

Thank you again for choosing Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Typical great Marriott, with comfy beds, glasses instead of cheesy plastic cups, coffee AND a refrigerator! A small quiet one, perfect for snacks and drinks. The issue was noise. If you have an odd number room you are on the back and facing weekend party and road noise non-stop. Get an even numbered room facing Hubbard OR the interior wings up high for maximum peace and quiet. Mag Mile just up the street, Mdse Mart the opposite direction, Millennial Park/Grant Park and the shore within walking distance. Great stay!

Room Tip: Get a high room facing Hubbard or the interior for quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankie S, Senior Executive Assistant at Courtyard Chicago Downtown River North, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Hi there! Thank you for leaving your review. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the location of the hotel!

Whenever possible, our team does our very best to honor guest preferences and provide you with a room that fits your needs. Being in the center of a city, there is always a lot happening around us. We are actively working with the surrounding businesses and community to create a peaceful neighborhood environment. We are also researching options in addition to our double-pane windows to help quiet the city-sounds in all rooms as well! Being downtown puts you in the heart of it all, and we aim to help our guests balance energy and rest!

Thank you again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay with exception of the lack of housekeeping during our stay. We asked the housekeeper to come back, she didn't and I found a privacy sign on the door that we didn't put up. The bottled water in our room had a really small tag, we thought they were complementary, we were mistaken.
The TV had static more often than not, but otherwise, everything was pretty good overall. Location was great! Close to the "mile".

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankie S, Senior Executive Assistant at Courtyard Chicago Downtown River North, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your review of your stay with us. While we are so very glad that you enjoyed the hotel's location, we are sorry you had a less-than-exceptional experience when it came to your housekeeping service.

For our hotel this is very much out of the ordinary, and I'd like to apologize. After a long day in the city, having a refreshing and comfortable room is essential. I'm sorry we did not deliver that this time. If you ever visit Chicago again, we hope you'll consider staying with us. We'd love to show you the kind of service we are capable of!

I'd love to hear more feedback from you. Please feel free to reach out to me anytime.

Thank you again,

Frankie Solomon
Senior Executive Assistant
(312) 329-2500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This hotel was a real pleasure to visit. The location is one of the best in Chicago, in my opinion. It is convenient to restaurants,downtown,both airports. The surronding area appears to be safe. The staff was excellent. All of the staff that I encountered were extremely pleasant and professional. The rate was reasonable. The rooms were very comfortable. They were also very spacious for a downtown hotel. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankie S, Senior Executive Assistant at Courtyard Chicago Downtown River North, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Hello Andrew P.!

Thank you so much for choosing the Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North for your Chicago visit! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay!

We hope to see you next time!

Best,
Frankie Solomon
Senior Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Chicago Downtown River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Chicago Downtown River North

Address: 30 East Hubbard at State Street, Chicago, IL 60611
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#69 Family Hotel in Chicago
#70 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Chicago Downtown River North 3.5*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a haven of urban sophistication among downtown Chicago, hotels at the Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North Hotel. Located in the trendy River North area on famed Restaurant Row, this hotel offers easy access to fine dining, exciting nightlife and the closest proximity to the EL Train. Experience the Windy City from the modern comforts of over-sized downtown hotel rooms offering plush bedding and amenities. Grab a gourmet doughnut and coffee at Glazed and Infused for breakfast, and enjoy a unique and authentic meal at Davanti Enoteca, located in the Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North Hotel. For those looking to stay fit on the road, the fitness center with indoor pool sets this hotel apart from the rest- not to mention a beautiful sundeck for when the weather is nice. Plan accordingly with technologically adept meeting space, ideal for corporate gatherings or intimate social functions. Depart from typical downtown hotels and take advantage of the revitalized Courtyard Downtown/River North Hotel located in the heart of Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Marriott, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Courtyard Chicago Downtown River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Courtyard Chicago Downtown
Chicago Marriott
Chicago Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Chicago Downtown River North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.