We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel Nice People” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Chicago Downtown River North

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Chicago Downtown River North to your Saves list
Courtyard Chicago Downtown River North
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   30 East Hubbard at State Street, Chicago, IL 60611 (Near North Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Culinary Adventure Offer
Ranked #68 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel Nice People”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Stayed here for a night due to a cancelled flight and was surprised by the generousity of the people there. I enjoyed the conversation of Ms. Tabitha the front desk agent while I tried to get myself situation and she recommended a few places for me to try before leaving that night. Instead of me taking a $50 cab the next day she suggested I contact the airport shuttle which cost me $30. Very nice of her and quite resourceful.

Room Tip: request a room on the higher side and viewing the city...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CY-Chicago-Downtown, at Courtyard Chicago Downtown River North, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us. Tabatha is awesome and a true pleasure to work with, we're so glad she was able to assist you in planning your travel to the airport. Please keep us in mind for your next visit to Chicago, it would be our pleasure to assist you in arranging your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    303
    76
    18
    6
See reviews for
130
136
29
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
oakland county michigan
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I was in a total panic when my flight was cancelled...I couldn't get cell reception...and, then the fabulous front desk rep, Adrion, came to my aid. She let me use the hotel phone while I was on the phone for an eternity and even was researching rental cars in case I needed to drive to my final destination. Hats off to Adrion and the team at this hotel

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CY-Chicago-Downtown, at Courtyard Chicago Downtown River North, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
We are so glad Adrion was able to assist you in getting your travel back on track. Thank you for the five star review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, OH
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Off of Michigan Avenue, a very nice spot to stay while shopping (for my ladies). Clean rooms, nice amenities and great beds. The attached restaurant is a nice place to have a cocktail. There is also a Starbucks for that morning jolt.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CY-Chicago-Downtown, at Courtyard Chicago Downtown River North, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you so much for the five star review! As you mentioned, our hotel is perfectly situated for a shopping weekend-just off Michigan Avenue. We would love to see you on your next trip and recommend some of our favorite shopping destinations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, Scotland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I stayed here with a friend for two nights (a Saturday and Sunday). For a Courtyard, it was in good shape and had nice touches (like Paul Mitchell shampoo, conditioner and lotion in the bathrooms). The beds (as always with a Marriott) were great and the room was clean and comfortable. It is two blocks from Michigan Avenue (just up a flight of stairs and over a block) and very convenient for getting around if you want to see the sights. The front desk staff were great and constantly asking how they could help (and I liked the fact there was always someone at the desk. As it's in a busy part of town, for security reasons, I appreciated that "non-guests" would be spotted by the attentive staff.) The desk staff were great about storing luggage, recommending good places to eat, sharing the password to the lobby computers to allow me to print my boarding passes, and they gave me a full bag of maps/brochures, etc at check in to help me find my way around. Be a little careful when asking for directions (even from other Marriotts!) as one parking attendant tried to send me to a Courtyard much further north than this one, but a great place to stay---only 2 blocks from a subway stop at Grand on the redline, which allows you to change at Jackson and take the blue line to O'Hare ($5 inbound, $2.50 outbound). I'd stay there again. Just up the stairs out of the hotel is a Dunkin Donuts and there is a Starbucks on the property (for breakfast needs if you don't want to pay for the hotel restaurant breakfast).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CY-Chicago-Downtown, at Courtyard Chicago Downtown River North, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thanks so much for your remarks. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. As you mentioned, we're a very short walk from the heart of Michigan Avenue, which is a dream for shopping enthusiasts. We hope to see you on your next visit to the Windy City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Stayed here a number of times and often frustrated by the lack of water pressure. Many mornings the water just dribbles out of the shower head. Managers are nice, rooms are clean, price is reasonable. Right next to the firehouse so if you're a light sleeper, and it's a busy night, it will keep you up! Fantastic gym for a hotel. It's part of an apartment / condo so you get to use the same gym/poos. BEST doorman in Chicago!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CY-Chicago-Downtown, at Courtyard Chicago Downtown River North, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
We are so sorry for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay with us and appreciate your taking the time to leave your remarks. I would like to speak with you regarding your recent experience, please contact me at (312) 595-6407 when you are able.

Thank you again,


Anesha Ali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Very centrally located just off Michigan Ave. Arrived on a Saturday night when the hotel seemed to have been taken over by partying college kids and "bachelorette" groups. We are talking here about groups of teens in their underwear swigging bottles of wine in the lifts and corridors...During the week the hotel is a mix of business and leisure travellers - much quieter apart from loud sirens in the street outside at all times of the night. I thought the staff were excellent, very welcoming and helpful. Rooms were decent size, basic but comfortable with excellent beds. Plenty of choices for breakfast in the State St Bread co / Starbucks on site. Recommend for family city break or good value business trips

Room Tip: Get inside facing room to avoid street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CY-Chicago-Downtown, at Courtyard Chicago Downtown River North, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and so sorry you were disturbed during your visit. We work very hard to ensure our guests are comfortable during their time with us. We hope you'll visit us again, thank you so much for your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We got a great deal on this hotel and I spent a million hours trying to make sure it was clean and well located through traveler ratings. The research paid off, It seemed newly renovated (room, pool, outside deck, exercise room, lobby, etc etc), extraordinarily clean (did the critter check), got a bit more space for a hotel in this price range in Chicago (Chicago is not known for spacious hotel rooms), and the staff was surprisingly and unnecessarily helpful. Got printed directions when needed, a sincere smile 24 hours a day (located on Hubbard/eating and entertainment central, so we were out 24 hours a day amid all the action), security (4am you're guaranteed an unconsenual shoe-shine in Chicago, even on tennis shoes, costing upwards of $8 - beware), free WIFI!!! AND free computers/printing downstairs!!!

I think it's safe to say (we checked out all the hotels by Marriott in person to see if the grass was greener as we were walking everywhere anyway, we were in this hotel for 6 days, it was the best priced of all the Marriott's) that ALL the Marriotts in Chicago are fantastic, and they seem aware of that need for location, service and cleanliness in a big city. As for location, 2 blocks from Michigan Ave/Miracle Mile, 5 blocks from the Blue Line El (the major one eg airport, Wicker Park, Lincoln Park), 2 blocks from the bridge to downtown (center of Miracle Mile and Downtown, can't decide which was more fun), right central the eating/pub/club district (but could here the noise upstairs in the rooms - Harry Caray 2 blocks away), solid walls (couldn't hear the neighbors). The bed was comfy as crazy, probably because they sell their linens online, good advertising. Chicago is a fantastic city, anyway, walked EVERYWHERE, the EL was fun, and it was a relief that our hotel was so useful for this trip. OH, and Starbucks downstairs, 7-11 across the street and next door, fancy grocery store a block away with a wing bar.

Room Tip: Seemed to be good views from all sides, no noises from any conveniences in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CY-Chicago-Downtown, at Courtyard Chicago Downtown River North, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
What a Review! You definitely did your research! We pride ourselves on service and we're so glad you felt the love. Thank you so much for your patronage, please contact us when planning for your next visit, we'd love to point you in the direction of some of our favorite places.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Chicago Downtown River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Chicago Downtown River North

Address: 30 East Hubbard at State Street, Chicago, IL 60611
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#69 Family Hotel in Chicago
#70 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Chicago Downtown River North 3.5*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a haven of urban sophistication among downtown Chicago, hotels at the Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North Hotel. Located in the trendy River North area on famed Restaurant Row, this hotel offers easy access to fine dining, exciting nightlife and the closest proximity to the EL Train. Experience the Windy City from the modern comforts of over-sized downtown hotel rooms offering plush bedding and amenities. Grab a gourmet doughnut and coffee at Glazed and Infused for breakfast, and enjoy a unique and authentic meal at Davanti Enoteca, located in the Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North Hotel. For those looking to stay fit on the road, the fitness center with indoor pool sets this hotel apart from the rest- not to mention a beautiful sundeck for when the weather is nice. Plan accordingly with technologically adept meeting space, ideal for corporate gatherings or intimate social functions. Depart from typical downtown hotels and take advantage of the revitalized Courtyard Downtown/River North Hotel located in the heart of Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Marriott and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Courtyard Chicago Downtown River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Courtyard Chicago Downtown
Chicago Marriott
Chicago Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Chicago Downtown River North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.