We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Room/Great Proximity to the Mile” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown River North

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown River North to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown River North
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   30 East Hubbard at State Street, Chicago, IL 60611 (Near North Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
3-Night Stays: Save 15%
Ranked #62 of 167 hotels in Chicago
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Clean Room/Great Proximity to the Mile”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Had a girls getaway in Chicago. All of the rooms were sold out so we were thankful that we were able to squeeze in at the Marriott. The ladies at the front desk were great! They were dressed in their Bears attire and were a great introduction to the city. The rooms are pretty basic but they were clean. Our room had a great city view but like other reviewers said, when you look down you see a rusty roof, but I say just don't look down. It appears that the hotel is going through a renovation so the potential is definitely there. All in all the room served its purpose. We were able to valet park our car and walk to great shopping and entertainment. I would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CY-Chicago-Downtown, at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown River North, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments. We love our Chicago Bears and are proud to support them on game day. We hope that you'll join us again for a little football and popcorn in the lobby. Thank you again for kind remarks, we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    186
    253
    60
    16
    5
See reviews for
101
110
25
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We found this hotel to be well located for shopping and restaurants, however, the traffic noise at night was one of the worst I have ever encountered. We stayed in an outside room on the 7th floor and could hear horns and people yelling all through the night. I would recommend asking for a even numbered room, as those rooms appear to be on the interior of the building. Overall, the room was extremely clean and updated. It was close to restaurants and shopping on Michigan Ave. We will most likely stay here again, but ask for a quieter room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CY-Chicago-Downtown, at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown River North, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback. We're so sorry the city noise interrupted your stay and would love to explore other options for your next trip. We thank you again for your patronage and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Came into town for Hot Chocolate Run. Valet and front desk service was excellent! Loved the comfy bedding and all the pillows! Everyone was extremely nice and helpful right down to the bartender! the room was EXTREMELY clean especially the bathroom! Will definitely stay again

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukegan, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Spent the weekend here for the Hot Chocolate Run and we had a blast!! The hotel is newly renovated and it is beautiful!! Everyone from the bellmen to front desk, food service and Steve in the bar were so friendly and accommodating! The best part was the most comfortable beds ever!!! None of us wanted to get out of the beds to go to the race!! Thank you all for such a wonderful time!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CY-Chicago-Downtown, at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown River North, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you so much for the Five Star Review! We hope you enjoyed your time in Chicago and had a successful run. We love providing a place where guests can accomplish their goals and take time to enjoy River North. We would love to host your next stay in Chicago and would be happy to recommend a few of our favorite pre-race shops and restaurants for you to enjoy. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We arrived mid-morning but the hotel had a room ready on the top (15th) floor. The room was nice, but this area of Chicago is noisy at night - sirens from fire, ambulance, police and who knows who else could be heard a lot all night, and I was surprised the soundproofing wasn't better. You may want to ask for a room facing the inside of the block if noise is an issue. The hotel had a fairly large pool for a downtown Chicago hotel, and hot tub as well. The location is good just a couple of blocks to Michigan Ave. The el is a few blocks away, but close enought that you can walk with carry on luggage. Staff was friendly and always ready to help. Good restaurants are really close - the Star of Siam has great and cheap Thai food just around the block.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CY-Chicago-Downtown, at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown River North, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you so much for your remarks. We're so sorry your rest was disturbed by the city noise and we welcome any additional feedback you would like to provide regarding your experience. Our guest satisfaction is at the heart of what we do and we work diligently to ensure your needs are met. We are glad the rest of your stay was enjoyable and hope that you give us the opportunity to host your next stay in Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orpington, null, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Recently needed a city center hotel and was surpirised that my choice of hotel fitted the bill perfectly. Rooms are clean, staff are friendly and it is situated five minutes walk from union train station.
Forget going to yuppy bars in Rush Street, instead walk out of the hotel main entrance, turn right and walk across the road to find about six or seven bars within three minutes walk. As for breakfast ask the hotel for directions to Eggsperience and you will be blown away.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CY-Chicago-Downtown, at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown River North, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you so much for the five star review! We are glad you had an outstanding stay and enjoyed your time at neighboring bars and restaurants. We are fortunate to be in the middle of the culinary epicenter of Chicago and we're so glad you took advantage of it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chanhassen, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I spent two nights at the Courtyard Marriott and our stay ended up being a pleasant surprise. Because I was using points and staying here at no cost my expectations were low. However the staff from the minute I arrived was as good as any four or five star hotel that I have stayed in. The concierge Neil Fiorito was a huge part of why our stay was so pleasant. He took care of us in a way that was like we were a guest in his own home. The front desk staff was always attentive and helpful. Room service was prompt and friendly. The Starbucks in house was a added bonus for us coffee lovers. The restaurant and bar were very nice we only had drinks but it is Zagat rated. We had a great breakfast at Yolk walking distance from hotel as is Michigan and all the sites on the Gold Coast.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown River North

Address: 30 East Hubbard at State Street, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#61 Family Hotel in Chicago
#62 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown River North 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a haven of urban sophistication among downtown Chicago, hotels at the Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North Hotel. Located in the trendy River North area on famed Restaurant Row, this hotel offers easy access to fine dining, exciting nightlife and the closest proximity to the EL Train. Experience the Windy City from the modern comforts of over-sized downtown hotel rooms offering plush bedding and amenities. Grab a gourmet doughnut and coffee at Glazed and Infused for breakfast, and enjoy a unique and authentic meal at Davanti Enoteca, located in the Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North Hotel. For those looking to stay fit on the road, the fitness center with indoor pool sets this hotel apart from the rest- not to mention a beautiful sundeck for when the weather is nice. Plan accordingly with technologically adept meeting space, ideal for corporate gatherings or intimate social functions. Depart from typical downtown hotels and take advantage of the revitalized Courtyard Downtown/River North Hotel located in the heart of Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Marriott, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Courtyard Chicago Downtown
Chicago Marriott
Chicago Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Downtown River North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.