We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely recommend - great hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Chicago Downtown River North

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Chicago Downtown River North to your Saves list
Courtyard Chicago Downtown River North
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   30 East Hubbard at State Street, Chicago, IL 60611 (Near North Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$20 Daily Credit
Ranked #58 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Definitely recommend - great hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

Great location; clean, updated & spacious rooms; but the best part was the staff - SO friendly, helpful and always going the extra mile. Next time we come back to Chicago, we are staying here again for sure!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CY-Chicago-Downtown, at Courtyard Chicago Downtown River North, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for the recommendation. Our associates are the best and we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Please feel free to contact us before you're next visit, we would love to assist you in planning another memorable trip to our fabulous city!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    292
    70
    18
    5
See reviews for
124
130
27
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Stayed with a group of friends for our annual trek to Chicago. Location is perfect for getting around key areas - Michigan Ave, Navy Pier, Millennium Park. Plenty of restaurants, shops, and nightlife in the area (Jazz Bar across the street which we heard was nice, although we never went). Starbucks in lobby which kept our group happy with the coffee fix. Breakfast in the am and cocktails in the evening a nice touch (although service was a bit slow). The hotel lobby was undergoing renovations during our stay which made our last day checking out a little clunky (no elevator to lobby so we had to carry bags up a flight). Hotel staff were extremely nice and friendly (particularly the girls at the front desk). Room was clean, functional and adequate with a pull out couch, fridge and sitting area. Some of my friends were a bit put off by random sirens at night but this is what you get being in the big city (for what its worth, it never bothered us). Minor incident in room with the shade coming off the track--the front desk had maintenance fix it in no time. I'd stay at this place again. Could beat having everything in the city at our fingertips.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CY-Chicago-Downtown, at Courtyard Chicago Downtown River North, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback. We're so sorry the elevator wasn't available for your checkout and would love to make it up to you. Please contact me directly at (312) 595-6407. I would love to assist you in planning your next visit and introducing you to our brand new space. Thank you again for your comments, please allow us to provide you with the experience you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I really liked the location of this hotel. There were so many great restaurants near by! Everything was convenient. The staff was very friendly and helpful. My TV was broken and that was a hassle, every time I turned it on, I had to call the desk for service. On day 2, the maintenance staff replaced the TV and everything was fine. The engineer who helped me was great! I also had something gross on my shower curtain and they quickly brought a new one. Otherwise the room was kept very clean. The downfalls would be street noise, lots of sirens waking me up all night and the thermostat was hard to control. Otherwise everything was good, even with all the construction going on.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CY-Chicago-Downtown, at Courtyard Chicago Downtown River North, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback. We're so sorry there were problems during your stay. We would love to make it up to you on your next trip to our hotel. Please contact me directly at (312) 595-6407 to plan your next stay. We are glad that the service was excellent, we love our jobs and we're glad it shows!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskegon Michigan
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

We spent the weekend at the hotel. The hotel is on the corner of Hubbard and state not on Ontario. This hotel is excellent if you know your way about the city. We go to Chicago maybe once every few months and loved this hotel. There is a nice self park about 1/2 block away. The Red line of the EL is only 2 blocks away so getting around without the car is very easy. Walk out the front door and 2 blocks to Michigan Ave. at the Wrigley Build. Great start for the stroll on Michigan Ave.

The staff was fun and everyone seemed to be enjoying their job. The rooms were large and very clean and modern. The view isn't anything to get excited about but we were there for the city not the hotel. They had a nice Resturant in the lobby but we had billions of others to frequent so didn't eat there. If you want a great location in downtown Chicago this is definitely a place to stay.

Stayed September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CY-Chicago-Downtown, at Courtyard Chicago Downtown River North, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you so much for your loyalty to our hotel and to Marriott. We can't wait to show off our brand new lobby. Our return guests are the heart of our business and we love to provide them with a home away from home. Please let us know when you're planning to visit again, we would love to recommend some of our local favorites for you to enjoy. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This is the hotel at 165 East Ontario. Need to make sure the taxi driver takes you to the right one. Central to many locations in Chicago. I always felt safe walking in the area. Hotel room was very nice. Roomy and very clean with a tub/shower combo. Marriott pillows are always the best. Hotel personnel very friendly. Requested a microwave and refrigerator after I got there and they were delivered to the room within minutes, free of charge. Exercise room had one bike, several treadmills, some other exercise machines, and free weights. Pool water was not the best. Staff very responsive when I told them to check it for chlorine levels. Really should be drained and refilled. Not very fresh. Used it in later days for water walking to minimize getting any water on my face or in my eyes. Other than that, hotel is a good choice while staying in Chicago.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

The service was excellent. Free wifi in room. Rooms are clean and most importantly the street noise was minimal. Air conditioning noise was also minimal. Everything you need is in walking distance. Shopping, Navy Pier, trolley stops, etc. are close by. The staff are very knowlegible of what is in the area and how to get there. I will definitely use them again next time I visit Chicago.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Top Contributor
763 reviews 763 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 164 cities Reviews in 164 cities
215 helpful votes 215 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Our family stayed the weekend here. Great location and the hotel has all you need on top of the convenience. Lots of restaurants and shopping nearby. The hotel has a small restaurant/bar. Great breakfasts and evening snacks. The rooms were very clean. They had some construction going on, but it did not cause any issues for the guests. The staff was amazing. Good job Marriott

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CY-Chicago-Downtown, at Courtyard Chicago Downtown River North, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us! Our new lobby is open and better than ever. We are glad you weren't inconvenienced by the construction and invite you to visit us again to tour our new space. Thank you again for your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Chicago Downtown River North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Chicago Downtown River North

Address: 30 East Hubbard at State Street, Chicago, IL 60611
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Family Hotel in Chicago
#56 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#64 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Chicago Downtown River North 3.5*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a haven of urban sophistication among downtown Chicago, hotels at the Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North Hotel. Located in the trendy River North area on famed Restaurant Row, this hotel offers easy access to fine dining, exciting nightlife and the closest proximity to the EL Train. Experience the Windy City from the modern comforts of over-sized downtown hotel rooms offering plush bedding and amenities. Grab a gourmet doughnut and coffee at Glazed and Infused for breakfast, and enjoy a unique and authentic meal at Davanti Enoteca, located in the Courtyard Chicago Downtown/River North Hotel. For those looking to stay fit on the road, the fitness center with indoor pool sets this hotel apart from the rest- not to mention a beautiful sundeck for when the weather is nice. Plan accordingly with technologically adept meeting space, ideal for corporate gatherings or intimate social functions. Depart from typical downtown hotels and take advantage of the revitalized Courtyard Downtown/River North Hotel located in the heart of Chicago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard Chicago Downtown River North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Courtyard Chicago Downtown
Chicago Marriott
Chicago Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Chicago Downtown River North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.