We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Silversmith Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Silversmith Hotel to your Saves list
The Silversmith Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10 S Wabash Ave, Chicago, IL 60603 (The Loop)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Houston
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2009

Great location, but after booking I checked the location with the orange suited guy on Google Maps, and realised there was the elevated metro on Wabash. E-mailed and requested a room away from the street, which we got. Background whoosh of trains, but did not disturb our sleep.
Checked in with hand baggage so really never used any of the hotel services, except was able to use their internet facility and print our boarding cards back to Houston. Would have been nice to have a microwave, even with the ice machine and automat.
Rooms at the rear would have been quieter, other than traffic.
Great location with CTA train station at the front door and buses one block away.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    743
    359
    99
    26
    32
See reviews for
222
418
88
255
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, WI
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2009

Even though this hotel is located on a street where the train runs right out front....it was so unbelievably quiet! When you think about why you go to a hotel in the first place, it's usually to get a good nights sleep! You will here. If you are looking for a room with a view...don't stay here! If you are looking for a good nights sleep...this is it. We did have breakfast in the dining on the ground floor and it was a nice breakfast. Staff was very friendly and helpful, parking and valet was a breeze! Would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2009

I stayed at the Silversmith in Chicago for 2 nights on Sept. 13 & 14, 2009. I loved it! I was looking for a small boutique hotel and it was perfect. Great location within walking distance to everything downtown. I thought the room and it's furnishings were very nice. And we were shocked at the fact that you couldn't hear the El even though it was right out the front door. I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel to friends and family!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

I stayed there with friends on the night of September 11, 2009. The valet person was lazy and took his time to move our cars and picked them up when we had requested for them. The front desk was untruthful in where to park which caused one of the guests to have her car ticketed and towed. The housekeeping was very unprofessional. We had requested more sheets and blankets at 4am and they took an hour to bring it to my room. I will never stay there again nor recommend anyone else to do so.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Il
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2009

We stayed 3 nights at the Silversmith. We had previously stayed at this hotel and were looking forward to our trip. The Silversmith was a complete letdown. The bed was so uncomfortable my fiance barely slept the entire time. The bathroom was also dirty (the garbage was not cleaned out, one of the ceiling tiles had been wedged into place and had a piece of toilet paper hanging out, the tiles were cracked and moldy). The service was also so/so. On the plus side, they let us check in early. But they gave us one bottle of shampoo for the two of us for 3 nights. I finally called after I realized that the room had been cleaned but they hadn't replenished our soap/shampoo. The only great thing about the Silversmith is its location. It's 2 blocks from Millenium park, about half a mile to the museums, a mile or mile and a half to the heart of the shops. Even so, there are other better hotels that are just as conveniently located.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Center Line, MI
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2009

We just spent three nights at the Silversmith and couldn't be any happier with the hotel. We planned the trip primarily to visit the Art Institute, only a few blocks away, and the hotel was perfectly situated. We were very pleased with the room, the staff, and the especially convenient location. Great area to stay in, with plenty of attractions, wonderful and reasonably priced restaurants, and shopping if you're into that. We will certainly stay at the Silversmith again and recommend it highly.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnwood, Washington
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2009

Paid about $170 a nite for three mid-week nites, which seems high but was the cheapest that week, it seemed. The Silversmith is a historic-registered downtown building that faces a noisy elevated L train. Don't worry: many of the rooms face rear-ward. Mine did, and it was dark, but totally quiet, did not hear the L at all. Room and bed was comfortable but smallish, which was emphasized by the large Oak furniture...happy I didn't stub my toe :)

The gym was tiny, as many hotel gyms are. The wired Internet was very slow, made it hard for me to do my work. And I was disappointed by the downstairs Ada's deli...friendly wait-staff but food was only so-so.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Silversmith Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Silversmith Hotel

Address: 10 S Wabash Ave, Chicago, IL 60603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#18 Family Hotel in Chicago
#22 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Silversmith Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy exceptional service, a warm and elegant setting with an unparalleled location in downtown Chicago. The Silversmith Hotel is a a rare gem, that is encased in classical architecture and sparkling with a new choice of luxury through contemporary spacious guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Silversmith Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Silversmith Hotel Chicago
The Silversmith Hotel And Suites
Silversmith Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Silversmith Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.