We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleased” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Silversmith Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Silversmith Hotel to your Saves list
The Silversmith Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10 S Wabash Ave, Chicago, IL 60603 (The Loop)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pleased”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Wonderful stay, the staff was amazing. The rooms are very nice, clean, and roomy. The only negative was the internet service. Says free internet, but it is literally slower than a dial up connection. Used the 4G hotspot on my Verizon phone throughout the stay as it was drastically faster.

Room Tip: The king room with a pullout worked perfectly for our family of four. Our boys are 4 and 10, and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans R, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Alan727, thank you for taking the time to share your review of The Silversmith Hotel. We are glad you and your family enjoyed our renovated accommodations and staff which strives to create memorable guest experiences. We are sorry for the issues with the wireless internet and we will looking into this issue to enhance further visits. We hope you join us again the next time you find yourself in the Windy City.

Best,
Hans Ritten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    740
    359
    99
    26
    32
See reviews for
222
416
87
255
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antioch, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

The room was very nice and spacious. The staff was very friendly and helpful in giving us ideas of great places to eat near by. The hotel is in walking distance to everything. I would highly recommend the Silversmith to anyone going to Chicago.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans R, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Hi Kellie, thank you for sharing your experience at The Silversmith Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed our accommodations with luxury amenities and chic decor, along with our central location. Our staff strives to create memorable guest experiences and we are happy we could enhance your trip to Chicago. We hope you join us again the next time you find yourself in the area.

Best,
Hans Ritten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

The location is excellent, the rooms stylish and large, and the staff are very friendly. Hotels in Chicago are very expensive and I think I got a good deal at the Silversmith Hotel. Since the monstrously noisy trains run in front of the hotel I would ask for a room towards the back or the side. The bed is great: I had a king size bed with a lovely pillow top mattress. After having checked in I found plastic and hairs from the previous guest and told the reception about it. They were appropriately apologetic and fixed the problem quickly. Overall I enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans R, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review The Silversmith Hotel. We love our central location in the Windy City, and we are glad you enjoyed it as well! Our recently renovated accommodations with luxury amenities and modern decor are a highlight for us too! We are sorry for the inconveniences in your room and please know we take customer satisfaction very seriously. We hope that you join us again the next time you find yourself in the Chicago area.

Regards,
Hans Ritten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aachen, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

The hotel is perfectly located within the Loop - all of Chicago's major sights are within walking distance! The staff is very nice, the rooms are big and clean. I would definitely recommend the hotel!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans R, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Jochen R, thank you for taking the time to review The Silversmith Hotel. We too love our convenient location right alongside the loop, within walking distance of famed attractions and premier shopping and dining. We do hope you will be joining us again the next time you find yourself in CHicago, and when perhaps you may try our newly opened restaurant and lounge, Adamus.

Regards,
Hans Ritten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York england
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Made welcome the moment you arrive. Valet parking was excellent & reception staff very helpful and informative all done with a smile. Had three nights at the start of our 3 week trip to USA. Deluxe room with Queen bed. All very comfortable and very clean. Hotel situated in good location close to most everything we wanted to see. The bar was very modern if a little expensive. The restaurant menu was not large and somewhat overpriced. Don't let that put you off as the ambience of the whole place was just so inviting and I would certainly stay there again

Room Tip: Our room was at the rear of the building but even then you could hear the noise of the trains but on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans R, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Gordonmaximus, thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Silversmith Hotel. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed our personable, attentive team here at Silversmith. Our recently renovated hotel extends large guest bedrooms and luxury amenities to make for a most comfortable stay. We very much look forward to your next visit and be sure to look to our website to find the best deals and rates.

Regards,
Hans Ritten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

The room was amazing except for two things, there was a strange wall or colom in the room its didn't apear to be a load bearing wall so it was just strange. The other thing was the beds were a bit too high up for a short person like me. Other than that I was very impressed. The staff was out of thier way nice and friendly. We had some confusion when trying to catch a can back to the train station and the staff went out of their way to grab two cabs because we had so many people in our group.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor and barely hear the El
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans R, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Ginger H., thank you for your review of The Silversmith Hotel. Thank you for bringing to light the issues you experienced in your room. We will look to see how we can improve upon these for future visits! Our team here at Silversmith strives to provide personable, attentive and helpful guest service, and we are so glad that we could leave a lasting impression. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience with us, and we do hope you will be joining us again on your next visit to Chicago!

Regards,
Hans Ritten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Staff were fantastic, helpful and knowledgeable and very accomodating for a solo traveller. A great location for Downtwon, train links and exploring Chicago for the first time. Would definitely stay here again to explire this fatastic, vibrat and unique city.

Room Tip: Get one at the back of the hotel because there can be some noise from the passing Elevated trains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans R, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
TraveliingTitan, thank you for your review of The Silversmith Hotel. Our team here at Silversmith strives to provide optimal guest services to make for a memorable stay, and we are so glad to have left a lasting impression on you. Our location is perfect for exploring all that the windy city has to offer! We very much look forward to your next stay, when perhaps you may try our newly opened Adamus Restaurant and Lounge.

Regards,
Hans Ritten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Silversmith Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Silversmith Hotel

Address: 10 S Wabash Ave, Chicago, IL 60603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#18 Family Hotel in Chicago
#22 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Silversmith Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy exceptional service, a warm and elegant setting with an unparalleled location in downtown Chicago. The Silversmith Hotel is a a rare gem, that is encased in classical architecture and sparkling with a new choice of luxury through contemporary spacious guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Silversmith Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Silversmith Hotel Chicago
The Silversmith Hotel And Suites
Silversmith Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Silversmith Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.