We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Undergoing construction, newly renovated but cheesy feel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Silversmith Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Silversmith Hotel to your Saves list
The Silversmith Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10 S Wabash Ave, Chicago, IL 60603 (The Loop)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Wilmette, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Undergoing construction, newly renovated but cheesy feel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Disappointed that booking online meant no notice that hotel is undergoing renovation. Construction 'hidden' by plywood walls that blocked out windows/natural light in public areas, creating a weird feel to entry and lobby. We were offered a minimal continental breakfast to compensate but there wasn't anything I would want to eat. The newly renovated areas were done with a very cheap feel: small cheap woodwork, silver foil wallpaper a la '70's (uncool retro), and shiny grey curtains with the package folds still evident. While the hotel is centrally located, it butts up against the noisy "L". You either have the train noise in front or have a quiet back room that faces a brick wall. Hmmm, wouldn't recommend this place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the "L".
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans R, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We value your feedback as we aim to make everyone's stay a pleasant experience. Please feel free to contact me so we can discuss your experience in more detail. We hope you will join us once renovations are complete.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    740
    359
    99
    26
    32
See reviews for
222
416
87
255
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

I stayed here in early November 2013 as part of a US holiday. Great location in The Loop, within walking distance of many fine places to shop, eat, drink and have a good time. Easily reachable via the el train from O'Hare. All of the hotel staff we dealt with were very friendly and helpful. Despite being so close to the train line, noise was never an issue during our stay. The room was bigger than I had expected and the hotel was very clean and well-appointed.

The parking is not great, but this is central Chicago so was expected (we did not have a car with us, so not an issue at all). There was so extensive building work ongoing on the lower floors, but this did not really detract from our stay and when finished should make the hotel even better. I would be delighted to stay here again, where the opportunity to arise again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans R, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope we are able to welcome you back to The Silversmith Hotel soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Recently worked at the Silversmith in downtown Chicago. Pleasantly surprised with this property. Older property getting a nice face lift. Attentive staff and nice updates for the rooms. Front door and front desk staff were friendly and it is located right in the middle of the action in Chitown. Parking stinks, but what parking doesn't in downtown Chicago? Very nice and roomy bathroom!This may sound silly, but 1 thing important to me is speedy elevators. The Silversmith's were. They had 3. Nice place, nice price and I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans R, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff was able to WOW you. We hope to see you again at The Silversmith Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurnee, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

By reading reviews on this hotel I was slightly apprehensive on booking here. Concerns from these reviews on noise from the el trains, construction, and lack of restaurant / bar turned out to be a non issue during our stay. We were on the 8th floor directly above the train and barely heard any trains. The construction was only noticed on the ground floor and a bit in the hallway on our floor. The room was perfect; nice large bathroom and a very comfortable bed. The only problem we had was the refridgerator, which never was cold. We did call this in and maintenance was to look at but never heard if they did check it out or not, but temperature did not improve. All staff members we encountered were friendly and helpful. In talking with one of the employees he explained some of the changes in process; finishing the restaurant / bar, expanding the fitness center and moving registarion to the ground floor. I'd really like to return to see the finshed product when these changes have been completed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans R, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again when our restaurant is completed. We can't wait to welcome you back to The Silversmith Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

This is a great small hotel located in the middle of the Loop.

The hotel is very clean, very well appointed and has an outstanding location.

The service staff was very helpful and friendly during my stay.

I was in town to see the sights and attend a sporting event. The location allowed me to hop on a number of the train lines (theres a stop right outside the front door) or many of the bus routes have stops on the same city block that the hotel is located on.

This hotel doesn't have a ton of the amenities that some high end places have. There's no spa on site or on site restaurant for room service. But for my money the location, comfort and cleaninless is the most important for a stay in Chicago. I can walk or commute to a nice restaurant when i need to.

This is a great hotel for visiting Chicago. I would recommend it for familes, couples and when the location is right for business.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side will be quieter as they are away from the train. Not sure it's a problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans R, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are glad that you enjoyed our great service from our employees and our location which can't be beat! We hope to see you again when our restaurant is up and running!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

The Silversmith is a wonderful hotel located at the center of just about everything that you need. My wife and I stayed four nights while she was attending a conference in Chicago. Upon our arrival we were greeted by the doorman and valet, who were very pleasant and helpful. Check in went very quick and we were given a king room on the 9th floor. 9th floor was undergoing some renovation at the time but nothing that we couldn’t live with. Room was very nice; having looked like it had recently been renovated. Room had a small sitting area with a television along with a king size bed with another TV. Bathroom was large with a great walk-in shower. Room was facing the front of the building and you could look down on the elevated tracks. Occasionally you could hear the train go by, but it wasn’t disruptive. Used the exercise room the following day and equipment was nice but room was a little small. The hotel provided a nice continental breakfast to start your day. It looked like one time the hotel had a restaurant but it was being remodeled at the time of our visit. The front door staff was very accommodating and friendly and helped us to both get cabs and advised us where to catch the Metro. “El” station right at the corner of the hotel and Metro was only a block and a half away. Everything was in walking distance from the Hotel. We easily walked to the shops on Michigan Ave, the Aquarium and the Field Museum from the hotel. A fifteen minute stroll and you could easily be at the north end of Michigan Ave. However, there was plenty of shopping in the area on State Street, one block to the west. Plenty of restaurants in the area, including Panera Bread, Miller’s Pub and the Bergoff. For the value in Chicago, the hotel was well worth it. If traveling back to Chicago, we would look at staying at the Silversmith again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans R, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. We hope to see again soon at The Silversmith Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

The room we stayed in was recently redecorated with an old Hollywood chic elegance- it felt very posh. The room had everything we needed including plush towels and cozy bedding which are a must for a vacation. But the best part of the Silversmith is the staff! From start to finish we had incredible service. I had problems with Groupon and the manager fixed everything for me. It was our daughter's birthday and the staff left her goodies and a handwritten note in the room. I left my phone and gloves in the car and the valet walked four blocks to go hunt for those items in my car and brought them back to me immediately! I was so grateful as my phone is my life line and had all my precious photos in it. I could go on and on about the staff- truly the best of any hotel I have ever stayed in anywhere: USA and out of the country. Each staff member was kind, courteous, helpful, polite and genuine, not phony. From reservations/front desk to bell hops to valet to housekeeping. They truly made our visit a wonderful, lovely memory!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans R, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thank you for your great comments. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our wonderful service. We hope to see you again at The Silversmith Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Silversmith Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Silversmith Hotel

Address: 10 S Wabash Ave, Chicago, IL 60603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#18 Family Hotel in Chicago
#21 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Silversmith Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy exceptional service, a warm and elegant setting with an unparalleled location in downtown Chicago. The Silversmith Hotel is a a rare gem, that is encased in classical architecture and sparkling with a new choice of luxury through contemporary spacious guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Silversmith Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Silversmith Hotel Chicago
The Silversmith Hotel And Suites
Silversmith Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Silversmith Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.