We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Chicago Visit and stay in Silversmith” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Silversmith Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Silversmith Hotel to your Saves list
The Silversmith Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10 S Wabash Ave, Chicago, IL 60603 (The Loop)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“First Chicago Visit and stay in Silversmith”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Wonderful experience, brilliant location - I could walk everywhere - shops, sights, theatres and restaurants. Very safe area - near Millenium Park, Art Institute, seconds from Michicgan Avenue and very near trains and buses. The best room I ever stayed in - spacious, super comfortable bed, fabulous bathroom supersized shower, great sitting area, two big TVs. All the staff without exception were very professional in their approach. They particularly paid attention to every request and followed up promptly and efficiently. Nothing was too much trouble. I cannot praise them highly enough. It was a great bonus to have free Internet access 24/7 since I came from Ireland. I recommend this hotel highly - it is exceptional.

Room Tip: Book directly with the hotel and tell them the type of room you want - a quite room, a high floor or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans R, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments about The Silversmith Hotel. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and hope that the next time you are in Chicago you will visit The Silversmith Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    739
    358
    99
    26
    32
See reviews for
222
416
87
255
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Traverse City, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I loved my stay here - the room was immaculate, the bed and linens were super comfortable, and the staff was top-notch. I don't think you could find a better hotel in downtown Chicago for the price. The location is outstanding - lots of shopping and food all around, and right next to the Wabash/Madison L station for convenient transit. (I could hear the train in my room - it didn't bother me one bit, but might bother others, so FYI.) The only thing they could improve on is the continental breakfast - it was a little basic.

Room Tip: You might ask for an out-facing room - mine faced the inside of the building, with views of other pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans R, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words about The Silversmith Hotel and the amazing staff. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see again at The Silversmith Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

If you are looking for a boutique hotel in a super location, then this is the place for you. It's on the National Register of Historical Buildings but if you didn't know it was there, you would walk right by and I must add, you would miss a wonderful hotel experience. The place is a delight. The staff couldn't be more helpful . Chicago is not an easy place to get around but when the desk prints you out a map and description of your desired "special venue" then everything becomes less stressful. The rooms are exactly what you would expect in a fine, boutique hotel .Luxury in the suites with sitting room and elegant,spacious bathroom. As mentioned above,The Silversmith is centrally located to art museums,restaurants and all forms of public transportation. Our 5 day visit to Chicago was definitely made MOST enjoyable as a result of staying here!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans R, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your wonderful comments. I am so glad that you enjoyed the comfort of our guest rooms and the amazing hospitality of our staff. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Wisconsin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This was the best hotel I have ever stayed in Chicago. We had a King bed ( super comfortable,) and a rollaway ( super comfortable ) and our room was still spacious. The bathroom was immaculate and had a supersize shower. This was near Macy's, Millennium Park, and a block off of State Street.. Enrique and Andre were wonderful doorman, and were always there to help us. Kudos to them :)

Room Tip: ask for a room near the back - the L rumble was only 'quiet' noise to us..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans R, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
WOW! Thank you so much for the great comments and mentioning our amazing staff members. I am so pleased that they ensured that you had such a wonderful stay. Thank you for choosing The Silversmith.

Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I was expecting something more in the middle of the road, but this hotel was stunning. Right from the lobby my husband and I were so please with how beautiful and elegant this hotel was, and our room was no exception. We went to check in only a few minutes after check in began, and since our room wasn't ready they upgraded us to a suite immediately. Everyone on staff was incredibly friendly and helpful, our room was gorgeous and huge, and our stay was nothing but wonderful.

If I HAD to complain about something, it was that the hotel was right next door to above-ground L tracks, so the trains were a bit on the loud side. But they slow down a lot at night so I was able to sleep with no problem (and I am a very light sleeper). Otherwise, I couldn't complain about a single thing. I can't WAIT to go back and stay here again!

Room Tip: Per my review, if you're a light sleeper, consider asking for a room furthest from the tracks, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans R, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and loved the hotel. Thank you for choosing The Silvermith Hotel and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Chicago.

Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We had less than 48 hours to see Chicago and staying on Wabash allowed us to walk to the museums and Millennium Park easily. Our visit was pleasant and we would definitely stay here again. The hotel was quiet, we heard the subway during the day but it stops late at night (1am?); no noise from other guests. The king suite was spacious, as was the bathroom, and pretty comfortable; one nice detail was a padded window seat that allowed us to seat and watch the rain outside (no real view to speak of, just other buildings). The staff was helpful but even so the room was not well supplied. For instance, we came in from a very late flight and found the sofa bed for my son was not made up and there were no extra sheets, blankets, or pillows in the room – these were delivered within 10 mins but we were the ones that had to make up the bed. Ditto with the towels, there were not enough in the bathroom for two people. There was only one coffee cup the first day (Styrofoam) and the second day there were no cups and I had to call down and ask for some to be delivered.

The suite has two TVs but since there are only 9 feet apart, it is not really feasible for two people to be watching different shows. There was a light breakfast in the lobby: mini-bagels, cream cheese, orange juice, muffins, and coffee. We decide to walk half a miles down the street and have breakfast instead at the Yolk.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed here for three nights while sightseeing in Chicago. The hotel has a fantastic location; very central. The rooms were clean. As Downtown Chicago hotels are pricey, we thought this was a fair value. Nothing special other than a good location.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans R, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I am sorry that we did not "WOW" you during your stay, and hope that we will see you during another visit to Chicago so that we have the opportunity to WOW you.

Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Silversmith Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Silversmith Hotel

Address: 10 S Wabash Ave, Chicago, IL 60603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#18 Family Hotel in Chicago
#22 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Silversmith Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy exceptional service, a warm and elegant setting with an unparalleled location in downtown Chicago. The Silversmith Hotel is a a rare gem, that is encased in classical architecture and sparkling with a new choice of luxury through contemporary spacious guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Silversmith Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Silversmith Hotel Chicago
The Silversmith Hotel And Suites
Silversmith Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Silversmith Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.