We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location otherwise Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Silversmith Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Silversmith Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Silversmith Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10 S Wabash Ave, Chicago, IL 60603 (The Loop)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 20% Now!
Ranked #24 of 168 hotels in Chicago
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great location otherwise Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed here for three nights while sightseeing in Chicago. The hotel has a fantastic location; very central. The rooms were clean. As Downtown Chicago hotels are pricey, we thought this was a fair value. Nothing special other than a good location.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans R, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I am sorry that we did not "WOW" you during your stay, and hope that we will see you during another visit to Chicago so that we have the opportunity to WOW you.

Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,119 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    636
    335
    90
    27
    31
See reviews for
196
352
78
217
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monterey, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

This was our second visit and like the first it was great.
Staff friendly, upgrade to suite on request. Clean, quiet great room on 9th floor.
Just wish it was cheaper to park a car in Chicago.
Forgot a mini ipod in room and they called to return it.
Will return on next visit to Chicago.
Love the location for Museums and the Park.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans R, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Wow! What a great review! Thank you for the kind words and for thanking the staff for going above and beyond! We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in Chicago!

Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Usually we stay at more name recognizable hotels - Marriott, etc.. so this was a really great surprise. We were in town for the Chicago Marathon and this hotel on S. Wabash was perfectly located by Millennium Park. The staff was very friendly, always willing to run down the block to hail us a cab and Andre has a great smile! Large comfortable lobby with citrus water available and complimentary breakfast in the morning. Rooms were larger then average, very clean and beds were wonderful. Decor was modern and lovely. There was also a work desk, large TV, free wifi, and wonderful big bathroom! We walked to Water Tower Place but it's a bit of a hike.

Room Tip: The 'L' runs on Wabash so make sure to book a room "not facing Wabash". We asked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily C, Front Office Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear valued guest-

Thank you very much for your comments. We are glad that you not only enjoyed our hotel rooms and amenities, but that Andre was able to WOW you with his service. We hope to see you again in the future!

Emily C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Beautiful facility. The beds were super comfortable. There is complimentary wi-fi (in a good hotel? who would have guessed?) and the staff was lovely.

A bit pricey, but so are all the other really good hotels in the Loop.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the opposite side of Wabash to lessen the train noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily C, Front Office Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments! We are so pleased that you not only enjoyed our amenities such as the complimentary WIFI, but also our amazing staff. We hope to see you back at The Silversmith again.

Emily C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

It is located in a great location in loop but hotel has limited amenities. Room was small but adequately furnished and clean. The exercise room had only a few machines. No pool or spa. Wifi only in lobby with ethernet plug in room. Staff was courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily C, Front Office Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest-

I am so sorry that we did not meet all your needs. We strive for 100% satisfaction guaranteed and I am sorry that we fell short this time. Please email me directly at emily.cohen@silversmithhotel.com so that we can discuss this in more detail.

Emily C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This was an elegant and friendly hotel. The staff were so helpful and welcoming. We had a renovated room. It was spacious and well equiped. My only small disappointment were the sheets. At first I thought they had not been changed but on closer inspection they were clean but appeared poorly ironed . The bed was very comfortable and although the room was adjacent to the el we slept through it. This is a stylish hotel and very convenient for sight seeing and shopping.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans R, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest-

Thank you so much for your comments. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the comfort and quietness of our rooms. Thank you for informing me that we did not meet your standard with our sheets and know that we will correct that immediately. We hope to see you again in the future.

Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Exceeded expectations during a stay in August. Special mention for Enrique and others on staff - gentlemen above and beyond the call of duty. The location is excellent. Easy walking distance of all the important destinations. The lobby is spacious, fine spot for meeting outside of room to talk. Best trip of the year!

Room Tip: Ask for one in the back away from the elevated train.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans R, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Kathleen-

WOW! Thank you so much for the wonderful comments and for mentioning Enrique. We are glad that you enjoyed his top notch service!

We hope to see you on your next trip to Chicago.

Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Silversmith Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Silversmith Hotel

Address: 10 S Wabash Ave, Chicago, IL 60603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#23 Family Hotel in Chicago
#27 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Silversmith Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy exceptional service, a warm and elegant setting with an unparalleled location in downtown Chicago. The Silversmith Hotel is a a rare gem, that is encased in classical architecture and sparkling with a new choice of luxury through contemporary spacious guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com and Venere so you can book your The Silversmith Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Silversmith Hotel Chicago
The Silversmith Hotel And Suites
Silversmith Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Silversmith Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.