We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice honeymoon location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Silversmith Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Silversmith Hotel to your Saves list
The Silversmith Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10 S Wabash Ave, Chicago, IL 60603 (The Loop)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Farmington, Michigan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice honeymoon location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

My Silversmith Hotel & Suites is a very nice hotel is a prime downtown location, south of the river. My husband & I stayed there for our honeymoon in April.

Pros:
1. Large Rooms.
2. Free Internet - not the fastest, but it didn't lag too badly either.
3. A short walk to the Red Line CTA stations & bus lines.
4. 15-20 minute walk to Union Station
5. Close to Millennium Park & the Museum Campus
6. Polite Doormen
7. Polite Front Desk Staff
8. Lisa Le was very great to work with

Cons:
1. Not the best neighborhood at night... lots of homeless asking for money. But it's Chicago, so I expected that.
2. Not impressed with the breakfast at Ada's... flavorless & greasy.
3. I did not get the room that I had requested & spoken with Lisa Le about - apparently they were full and/or someone had stayed over - that was disappointing, especially since I was there for my honeymoon. We had picked out a specific suite and I was told that was the one reserved for us, but we didn't end up getting to stay in it.
4. We were told that the hotel was going to provide some sort of Chicago food/drink type amenity since it was a special occasion and that it would be waiting for us when we arrived. We checked in on April 7th - the amenity on the 9th. It was still appreciated, but seemed less special, especially since it was generic chocolate cake and champagne instead of something that was unique to Chicago or the Silversmith.
5. No white noise in the rooms.

Overall, the hotel was nice and I would stay there again, but I would make sure that I would bring a small travel fan or something to provide white noise. The noise from the El outside didn't bother us at all, and in fact we almost wished that it ran 24/7 since it provided us with at least some white noise where we were! I was disappointed in the fact that we didn't get the room & amenity that we were promised, but the rooms were nice overall and the staff was pleasant. The location was great and within walking distance of everything (or within walking distance of transit TO everything) so I was very happy with that.

Room Tip: Don't expect a view at this hotel, since you're surrounded by high buildings, but a higher f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank L, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you for your review and comments from your stay with us back in April. We sincerely appreciate all your feedback. Congratulations on your marrage and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    754
    364
    99
    26
    32
See reviews for
227
425
88
255
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Streator, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I traveled here with a group of ten people for a school trip. The staff was excellent, very helpful. The noise from the L, which is right outside of the hotel, was not noticeable. The price we paid fr our rooms also made it a great value.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank L, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments with us. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff made you feel welcome. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This is the second time we've stayed at the Silversmith and we will definitely be back!
Within walking distance of the Art Institute, Milineum Park, and all our favorite restaurants and shops. Great location, clean quiet rooms, but what really made our stay was the terrific staff. They we're extremely friendly and profession.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank L, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you so much for such a fantastic review! We're happy to hear that you've stayed with us before and that you enjoy our service and accommodations. We're especially appreciative of the positive feedback on our staff. Thanks for choosing the Silversmith and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I wrote an earlier review recounting my experience of getting to the Silversmith and being told the hotel was oversold despite the fact that a colleague and I prepaid our reservation. Somehow the review was deleted by TripAdvisor even though it met the guidelines. Hmmm.

At any rate, we were "walked over" at 1 am to another, cheaper hotel. We weren't "walked over" so much as shown the door with a letter that said the Silversmith would pay for our hotel at this other hotel. No apologies, not even directions, though the hotel did spring for cab fare after we complained about having to walk the streets in search of another hotel at 1 am.

It seems that this isn't rare at the Silversmith. Beware before you prepay. The hotel was gracious enough to refund our prepayment after I complained. Caveat emptor.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank L, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Following up to our previous conversation, let me know if i can be of service to you in the future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Downtown Chicago just minutes walk from Millennium Park and the shore of Lake Michegan with transport networks almost on the front door. This was a 45 min El train ride from O'Hare airport terminal and really easy to find when we arrived into downtown.
The staff were attentive and welcoming, particularly those on the lobby desk who helped with all manner of questions we had abut the local area and how to get to the Lincoln Park Zoo (well worth the visit as it's free).
Room 201 was great. It had a huge king and reasonable size bathroom. The antique furniture throughout the hotel adds to the experience, and sets the Silversmith apart from any in-city chain hotel. There was no outside noise in our room - but admittedly no view either but what do you expect on the 5th floor :)

Staff were happy to hold our bags as we arrived a number of hours prior to check-in, and when we arrived back at the hotel around 1.30 and they had ensured our room was ready early for us.

Would stay again.

Room Tip: Room 201 although near the lift has very little noise from the corridor. No view, but no outside noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank L, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and comments. We're happy to hear that our staff took good care of you and that you enjoyed your accommodations. We appreciate your feedback and we look forward to seeing you back at the Silversmith in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The rooms were gorgeous and clean, far more roomy than I was expecting for the price. The location was perfect. I flew into Midway and took the Orange line straight to the hotel. When I got off, I had to walk less than a block.
But what really made this experience was the staff. Every time I came into the hotel, Enrique or another bell man greeted me at the door with a smile. They gave me some fantastic recommendations for lunch. Enrique stashed my bags for me and gave me directions to a great pizza place after I had checked out. I cannot recommend this hotel enough!

Room Tip: The elevated ran right outside my room, and I could hardly notice it. They have excellent sound pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank L, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you so much for such a wonderful review! We're happy to hear that you took the orange line directly to our hotel. It really is a convenient and affordable way to travel downtown. We sincerely appreciate your feedback on our staff; especially Enrique. Thanks for sharing your comments and for choosing the Silversmith. Hope to see you again on your next visit to Chicago!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I stayed here for two nights during a recent business trip to Chicago. The hotels I usually stay at were booked, so my assistant put me here based on Tripadvisor reviews. My experience was vastly different from that of others on this site. The property itself is would be acceptable as a low-end hotel, but it's a rip-off at the $400 a night they charged us. The room, on the 9th floor, faced the solid brick wall of the building next door, with plenty of noise from trucks in the alleyway below. There was no direct light in the room, and I needed to keep the lights on regardless of the hour. There was construction on the floor, which the front desk staff never mentioned. Service was mediocre at best: I had to call down when I returned at 1 PM to get my room made up. For $150 a night I wouldn't have bothered to complain, but this is really just a typical low-end hotel, and I received way too little for what they charged.

Room Tip: Insist on a room that does not face the alleyway and a brick wall - way too dark and depressing. On...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank L, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for your review and comments. We're very disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. At your convenience, please contact me at the hotel. I would sincerely appreciate the opportunity to speak with you. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Silversmith Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Silversmith Hotel

Address: 10 S Wabash Ave, Chicago, IL 60603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#15 Family Hotel in Chicago
#23 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Silversmith Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy exceptional service, a warm and elegant setting with an unparalleled location in downtown Chicago. The Silversmith Hotel is a a rare gem, that is encased in classical architecture and sparkling with a new choice of luxury through contemporary spacious guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Silversmith Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Silversmith Hotel Chicago
The Silversmith Hotel And Suites
Silversmith Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Silversmith Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.