We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel thanks groupon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Silversmith Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Silversmith Hotel to your Saves list
The Silversmith Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10 S Wabash Ave, Chicago, IL 60603 (The Loop)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
PREMIUM DEAL...
Ranked #20 of 176 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“nice hotel thanks groupon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

great location, great price, beautiful hotel/room.. had an issue with a toilet that was quickly fixed.. breakfast was included.. but was only allowed one item on the menu (bacon/eggs/pancakes/has browns/coffee). wish i could have chosen something healthier.. or since the place is a deli.. maybe something more deli-like. (fried matza/ lox/eggs.. etc). i was able to walk everywhere. located in the jewelry district a block from Michigan Ave/theater dist etc. only a couple of blocks from train station from o'hare.. only downside is the hotel is right across from the train.. i thought 10th floor was a benefit.. however.. it was closer to the tracks.. ie: i heard the train all night.. nect time i'd request a lower floor near the back of the hotel.. great service.. especially from bell-men

Room Tip: lower floor.. near the back.. there aren't any views anyway.. but would be further from the trai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael V, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. Thanks for also purchasing our groupon. We will take into account your comments about breakfast.
We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    772
    379
    100
    26
    32
See reviews for
234
439
90
261
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ingleside, Illinois
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This hotel is easy to miss while walking down Wabash street. For those of you not familiar with Chicago, Wabash is the forgotten street. It is located between the two main streets in the loop- Michigan Ave. and State street. We used a groupon to stay in a king suite over the weekend. The location is perfect. It is close to the museums, theater and restaurants. We went to the Art Museum (2 blocks), Goodman Theater ( 3 blocks), Macy's (2 blocks) and the Harold Washington library ( 4 blocks). No need to bring your car. The service was great and a free breakfast was thrown in at Ada's.

Room Tip: The larger rooms seem to work for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael V, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad you didn't miss us.
We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We found this hotel through Groupon and were not sure what to expect. All expectation were exceeded! Love the location, the rooms were very comfortable, the staff was attentive and we had just a great experience overall. Our package included breakfast for two which was delicious and served in a nice environment. We could walk virtually everywhere. This will now be our Chicago hotel!

Room Tip: Our son wasn't crazy about the sleeper sofa but all else was fine. There wasn't a view but n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael V, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review and for buying our groupon. We are thrilled to here that you will make us your Chicago hotel.
We appreciate your business. Come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Front desk manager Sergio went above and beyond to give my twenty-one year old daughter and her boyfriend an exceptional experience at the Silversmith! I bought my daughter a "Groupon" for one night's stay at the Silversmith for her birthday. Our logistics were complicated and I asked Sergio for some assistance. You would have thought I had booked the penthouse. Sergio was more than helpful, offering the type of personal service and attention that one can only find in a Ritz Carlton or a sophisticated boutique hotel. Good job Silversmith Hotel!

Room Tip: I will add room details as soon as I speak to my daughter for her input.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael V, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for the great review. It is nice to hear the news about Sergio. I will be sure to pass along your comments.
We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Just learned of this hotel through Groupon. Rooms are nicely done, clean and neat. Staff very helpful. Walk to Michigan Avenue and State Street. Access to public transportation.Just need to work on their food quality and services for room service and restaurant. They had good wi fi and a convenient workout area.

Room Tip: Just watch where the room is located because you are next to the "EL" tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael V, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for the review and for buying our groupon offer.

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
211 helpful votes 211 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed here in early November of 2012 and then again In December of 2012.

The location is fantastic. The rooms are large and plush. The costs are reasonable.

Even though we had rooms near the Ell, the sounds did not bother us. The lobby smells like the Loop, but that was the closest thing we could label as a negative.

The hotel staff was incredibly attentive.

Do not hesitate to stay at this property.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael V, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for the review! Now that you found us, come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago-land, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

If you're looking for a decent hotel in the loop of Chicago, without spending a lot, and you don't spend much time in your room, The Silversmith is perfect. It's 20 steps away from the L (brown/green lines) so transportation around Chicago is a breeze. And it's only about 1 block and a half away from Cloudgate (a.k.a. The Bean in Millenium Park).

The lobby was very nice (take the elevator to the second floor for the lobby). We were originally booked in a 2 bed room, and we got switched to a queen bed instead. Thank goodness. The room was SMALL. With a queen bed there was barely any room to move. But we weren't spending much time in there, so it worked just fine for us.

One thing I'd like to mention is the staff. Hands down some of the friendliest people you could ever want to run into while traveling. I don't just mean one or two people, but the entire time, every single person had a smile on their face, greeted you, and was just pleasant to deal with.

I'm not saying I would go out of my way to stay here again, but I sure wouldn't avoid it either.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael V, General Manager at The Silversmith Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for your review and the comments about the staff. I will make sure to share your comments.
We appreciate your business and hope that you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Silversmith Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Silversmith Hotel

Address: 10 S Wabash Ave, Chicago, IL 60603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#16 Family Hotel in Chicago
#16 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#16 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#26 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Silversmith Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy exceptional service, a warm and elegant setting with an unparalleled location in downtown Chicago. The Silversmith Hotel is a a rare gem, that is encased in classical architecture and sparkling with a new choice of luxury through contemporary spacious guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Silversmith Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Silversmith Hotel Chicago
The Silversmith Hotel And Suites
Silversmith Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Silversmith Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.