We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Silversmith Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Silversmith Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Silversmith Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Silversmith Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10 S Wabash Ave, Chicago, IL 60603 (The Loop)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 20% Now!
Ranked #24 of 169 hotels in Chicago
Fenton
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Silversmith Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

Very nice, moderatly priced suite hotel in a historic building. Convenient location in Loop area. L noise could be an issue. Request a high floor.

Room Tip: Request a room above the 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,138 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    655
    334
    92
    25
    32
See reviews for
207
365
83
224
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New England
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

From Midway Airport mass transit (CTA - L Line) to the hotel could not have been easier. We did not want to stay on the Miracle Mile in Chicago but more in the arts and park and museum area of the city.
The Silversmith Hotel was a surprise and a treat. The building was designed by Burnham and has been restored to a very, very private accomodation hotel. No grand teas or open lobbies to the public streaming through here. At the same time, the lobby floor was enormous and lovely place to sit in relaxing chairs and sip fruit water while admiring the decor. You wouldn't be able to find the lobby if you were not headed to the hotel. Security is great. To access the upper floors you need a card. Every time we arrived, at least two security or staff were on hand to greet us.
Our room was immaculate, spacious and all designed in the Craftsman/Stickley/ Arts and Craft period with nice attention to detail. Large room with a sitting area lounge with refrigerator. Enormous bathroom for a hotel room. Plenty of storage and closet area.

Service was fine, not overly friendly. Just a nice welcome and any information you could need. Room service was prompt . Downstairs there are two options for dining, A restaurant deli for breakfast and a bar.

Room Tip: There is the train outside the hotel room, so there is a rumble. We were right next to the track, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

i really liked this hotel - there were a lot of good things going for it: the staff were friendly and helpful, the room was huge (i had a large bedroom area with a huge bed, and a separate living room type area with a sofa, desk and coffee table - there was a TV in both areas, plus a large bathroom with tub and shower), and immaculately clean (one of the curtains in the bedroom was off its hooks a bit and too high up for me to reattach it, and presumably for the cleaners too, but that was no big deal).

there was a vending and ice area down the hall, as well as free wifi in the rooms and in the lobby (which is large, has citrus water to drink and comfy chairs to sit in). there was a diner type restaurant in the ground floor that was open fairly often and could be accessed from the hotel or outside, that did decent, inexpensive breakfasts and had a bar and ATM.

the location was great - right next to wabash/madison L station, which has green, purple, pink and brown lines i think; the red line was very close too, Monroe station was 1 block away. millennium park, the bean and the art institute were 2 blocks away, the cultural center about the same, there were lots of restaurants close by (including pizano's pizza literally across the street), bars, cafes, useful shops (CVS, walgreens & two 7-elevens within a couple of blocks).

the only downside - and actually for me it really wasn't, because i find this oddly comforting - was that being positioned almost under the L tracks & station meant the hotel was generally very noisy. if you stood outside the entrance (say, waiting for a shuttle to the airport etc) the noise was really loud, every time a train goes through you really know about it. but even within the hotel you could still hear the rumbling of trains and sometimes also the bells to signify opening/closing doors and platform announcements. my room was at the back so this was lessened, but it was still clearly there. i have no problem with this but any travellers who prefer to be somewhere quiet should perhaps rethink and do just that. however, if that kind of thing isn't a problem for you and you want somewhere with impeccable location, good staff & lovely rooms, go for this.

Room Tip: if you don't like noise, ask to be at the back, away from the L station
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

I really enjoyed staying at the Silversmith, because it isn't too big and it is very conveniently located. Everyone was very friendly, helpful and courteous.

Room Tip: If the sound of trains affects your sleep, then ask for a room that doesn't face the tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Our room was spacious with a very nice bathroom. Despite the train line running close to the hotel, the room was quiet. Location is excellent - Millenium park is on your doorstep, most tourist attractions are within walking distance and the hotel is easy to get to on the L line from o'Hare airport. Would definitely recommend it!

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Exceptionally well located in the center of Chicago, the hotel is only a few blocks from the Art Institute and a dozen other attractions. Walking to shopping, parks the lake and musea is quite easy. The room was very clean, tastefully decorated and functional. The view was of a lovely brick wall, but that also assured it would be quiet and that was among our goals in finding a hotel. The hotel offers valet parking at about $50. I felt quite uncomfortable giving up my MB500S to the valet, however. There are also security agents in the ground floor foyer and a lovely reception area on the second floor. We took advantage of a coupon, so the price was just around $100 per night. We would happily return any time over-nighting in Chicago. It was a lovely and comfortable hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room. The "L" runs noisily on one side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemount, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

Very cute hotel with an EXCELLENT location. One block walk from Millennium Park and about a10 minute walk from the Miracle Mile. We were only in Chicago for one evening and with the great location of the hotel, we didn't have to take any taxis to see everything we wanted to see. We were also upgraded from a standard room to a suite which was a very pleasant surprise (especially because we are younger guests and we usually aren't treated with as much respect as older guests as we are seem to be "cheap"). The bed was super comfy as well :) I slept great. Genuinely nice staff (not fake-y nice) and overall a very enjoyable experience.

Room Tip: The hotel is right by one of the stops on the Loop. We were on level 8 which was nice because we wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Silversmith Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Silversmith Hotel

Address: 10 S Wabash Ave, Chicago, IL 60603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#24 Family Hotel in Chicago
#27 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Silversmith Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy exceptional service, a warm and elegant setting with an unparalleled location in downtown Chicago. The Silversmith Hotel is a a rare gem, that is encased in classical architecture and sparkling with a new choice of luxury through contemporary spacious guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Venere and Priceline so you can book your The Silversmith Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Silversmith Hotel Chicago
The Silversmith Hotel And Suites
Silversmith Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Silversmith Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.