We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, clean, accessable, I will Definitly stay here again.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Silversmith Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Silversmith Hotel to your Saves list
The Silversmith Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10 S Wabash Ave, Chicago, IL 60603 (The Loop)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BED & BENEDICT PACKAGE...
Ranked #23 of 171 Hotels in Chicago
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Modern, clean, accessable, I will Definitly stay here again.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights and was very happy. The rooms were very modern and very clean. The hotel has a restaurant in the lower level called Ada's, that wasn't too pricey for a large city and my breakfast was good. The location is awesome if you are a shopper with all the majors retailers being one block over. The subway/El/train lines are all at your disposal as well. If you are into sight seeing or the art scene, you are within walking distance of Chicago's art museum, their amphitheater, the Willis (formerly Sears) tower, and are in the heart of what Chicago calls The Loop. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful when asking for information and directions. I felt very safe and comfortable in this area and hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    699
    351
    98
    25
    32
See reviews for
219
393
85
237
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bay Area CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

Stayed here one night to be close to a family event. Great location, clean, really comfortable bed, large room with little living room area. We didn't use the TVs but they do need to upgrade them. Staff was pleasant if not overly enthusiastic. Gym was adequate, although if I'd gone in during early morning hours it probably wouldn't have been, with only 2 treadmills & a handful of other machines. For a first-time visit to Chicago this hotel would be great, since it's walking distance to what you want to see and the price, at least on http://hotels.com, was very good. And it's walking distance, without having to change trains, to the Blue Line to O'Hare.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the El tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Good central location, beautiful large Craftsman style lobby/lounge, helpful staff. Despite close proximity of L, I didn't detect any noise and slept like a baby. Variety of nearby places to eat and easy walk to Michigan Avenue and the Magnificent Mile, Millennium Park, Navy Pier, theaters.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011 via mobile

Let me start by saying that I'm incredibly impressed by how spacious our room was! We had a room with 2 double beds. The height of the ceiling really made it feel grand. The bathroom was also surprisingly large, which is plus. Often in big cities you have to give up space if you want to save a little money, but this wasn't the case at the Silversmith!

Some people are complaining about the noise from the train. I don't know where their rooms were, but from our room we barely noticed. Every now and then we'd hear what sounded like a gust of wind, but that was it. Actually, the sound was rather soothing.

Other people have commented on the "outdated" furnishings. With an emphasis on solid wood and an earthy color palette, the design of the hotel recalls the Arts & Crafts Movement of the late 19th and early 20th century. This is very appropriate considering the building's history. If you're a history/design/architecture person like I am, you'll really appreciate it. Otherwise, I can see how some people might simply write-off the furnishings & fixtures as "outdated."

There are many things I liked about this hotel. Our room had a nice closet so we were able to hide all of our bags & luggage away. I think it always makes a room look unnecessarily cluttered, so having a closet is great.

The room was very clean. Each day we came back to our beds neatly made. The sheets and bedding are comfy, and there are plenty of pillows.

The refrigerator came in handy for storing leftovers. Cold pizza in the middle of the night? Yes, please.

The price and the location of the hotel can't be beat. The 'L' train is only a few steps from the door, and there are also several bus stops nearby. The hotel is within walking distance to Millennium Park, the Art Institute, and dozens of restaurants. If you like to eat late, there's a pub just down the street that serves food until 2 am.

There's one minor thing I didn't necessarily "hate," so I'll be brief. When you walk in, you have to take the elevator up to the 2nd floor to get to the lobby & check-in desk. The doormen are nice though. The ground floor smells like garbage, not sure why. Don't worry, once you get up to the lobby, it doesn't stink anymore.

Overall, I was more than satisfied with the Silversmith. I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

We rented two king suites for the weekend of Lollapaloosa. The location was perfect and the staff were friendly and helpful. We paid circa $400/night per room. This is not unusual for Lolla weekend. There were a few downsides. First, the bed was a bit too soft for me. Tastes differ but I sank in and tangled with the sheets all night. Second, the pillows are sorta like napkin-wrapped cotton balls. I asked for an upgrade to the pillows and they sent up more of the same. There is a Filene's/TJ Maxx next door. I spent $20 to buy my own pillows. The rooms are clean but a bit dated and worn. Each room comes with a bath and a separate shower. The hotel is close to a a red-line metro stop. It is also right next to the El. However, the soundproofing was excellent. Our rooms faced Wabash a little above the level of the train and we could barely hear anything.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lexington, kentucky
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

We chose this hotel because of three things. The price, the location and the room size. The location was excellent. One block from Millenium Park, tons of shopping, restaurants etc. The el train is right there and the subway right down the street. The room size was great for the price. We have a 12 year old and he used the pull-out sofa and watched his tv shows and we closed the door and watched our shows at night. Yes, you do hear the el-train, but it was not annoying. Also, free wireless internet, and it worked well. Here are the things I did not like about this hotel. First, parking was $46 a night. We did use our car alot and after dark, there was rarely anyone there to take our car. I had to go inside, take the elevator to the lobby and tell the front desk. The front desk woman was rude. She could care less that we were waiting. It took a long time for the valet to finally get the car. This was a pattern at this hotel with the car. We would call 25 minutes before we needed our car and the car would still not be there when we came down. The gentleman who was down there didn't even apologize, he just gave us a lecture about how his manager has to wait this long to get his car too. Another thing that was a little annoying was the entrance to the hotel. The lobby is one floor up, so you enter into this hallway-like cavern which smelled horrible! It was the weirdest smell ever. Very disturbing. The actual lobby is really nice, but we never saw it except to ask for someone to please get our car and park it! The past reviewers were correct about the bedding for the rollaway. There isn't any so ask for it if you need it. The air-conditioning is motion dectected and it did get hot at night, but it was really hot the week we were there so that might have played a part. We go to Chicago quite a bit and have stayed at many hotels downtown. This hotel was reasonably priced, clean, and the rooms were large. If you are looking for an "experience", go somewhere else. When you stay at a Kimpton hotel, you will get an experience, but you will pay for it too! This trip, we spent alot on theatre tickets, which the big theatres are walking distance from this hotel, and didn't want to spend alot on the hotel, so it fitted our needs. When you go online, use the AARP rate, it's quite a bit less.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

I recently stayed here with my daughter on a girls trip for a few days. We loved the hotel. From the moment we arrived everyone was very helpful. The bellman took our bags from the taxi and stored them for us until we could check (and promised my 6 year old to take care of her American Girl doll!) and promptly brought them back after we did check in. Our room was very quiet, clean and a good size for what we needed. The location of this hotel is amazing. We walked to Millennium Park about a dozen times in our 4 day stay to check out the bean or play in the fountains. There are plenty of places to eat nearby and it's steps away from transportation. The price was amazing for the location and we would without question stay here again! If I had any complaint, we would skip eating in the attached restaurant. We had breakfast there once and it took a really long time to get our food and then to get our check. We were anxious to start our day exploring and it just took too long, especially when the restaurant wasn't crowded. It was also a little pricey for what we received.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Silversmith Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Silversmith Hotel

Address: 10 S Wabash Ave, Chicago, IL 60603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#20 Family Hotel in Chicago
#28 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Silversmith Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy exceptional service, a warm and elegant setting with an unparalleled location in downtown Chicago. The Silversmith Hotel is a a rare gem, that is encased in classical architecture and sparkling with a new choice of luxury through contemporary spacious guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your The Silversmith Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Silversmith Hotel Chicago
The Silversmith Hotel And Suites
Silversmith Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Silversmith Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.