We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in the heart of the downtown” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Warwick Allerton Hotel Chicago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Warwick Allerton Hotel Chicago to your Saves list
Warwick Allerton Hotel Chicago
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   701 N. Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611 (Formerly Allerton Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #108 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Northville, Michigan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in the heart of the downtown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Stayed there for a couple of days on personal work. The hotel is clean and the staff are polite. It is very close to many businesses and all the shopping on the magnificent mile and is within walking distance everywhere. I parked at a public garage next block.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Warwick-Allerton, General Manager at Warwick Allerton Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
vicdude333,

It was our pleasure to have you and your family as our guest and look forward to your return.

All the best,


General Manager
Warwick Allerton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    149
    85
    24
    14
See reviews for
44
131
25
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Enjoyed staying at this hotel for a few nights in May 2014. Room was clean and modern, restaurant and bar was pleasant and location fantastic.

Would have no hesitation to stay here again - the only slight issue we had was that the lifts are very slow and one of the nights an event was going on so they were holding a lift just for guests of the event so it took about 20 minutes to get upstairs!

A perhaps trivial thing as the rest of the hotel was very nice.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Warwick-Allerton, General Manager at Warwick Allerton Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
J L,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at our hotel.

As a Chicago historical landmark hotel built in 1924, we have features that embrace this era. We are also in the process of upgrading the hotel and our elevators and their efficiency are on the immediate list.

We hope to you will visit us again when you are in Chicago.

Sincerely,

General Manager
Warwick Allerton Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I typically shy away from older hotels, but not this one. I found the hotel to be clean, up-to-date, bright, and quiet, even though my room faced Michigan Avenue. The location is in the center of anywhere you'd like to go. You can walk everywhere (I did) and there are great dining and shopping options just outside the front door. The staff was friendly and helpful. Each night I could relax with a glass of wine in the lobby bar. Be aware the rooms are small as in all older hotels, and since I was there on business, it didn't matter because I wouldn't be in my room much anyway. I thought this was a an excellent value and would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Warwick-Allerton, General Manager at Warwick Allerton Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
JamesC458,

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent visit to our hotel. I will share your comments with our team.

Our landmark status does incorporate some unique features with our hotel such as variable room sizes, incredible views and great location.

We hope you will be able to visit us again when you return to Chicago.

Kindly,

General Manager
Warwick Allerton Hotel Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O'Fallon, Missouri, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We read a lot of reviews of this hotel and many complained of small rooms. Yes it is smaller than your average hotel but this hotel was built in the 20's and had all the room we needed. The beds were not that great but we got a tripadvisor special and paid $119, per night for a King room, I won't complain. The location is great, right off Michigan Ave, with great views. We did not eat at the hotel but the workout room on the 25th floor was great. A very rare commodity in a hotel, the weight room had free weights.

Room Tip: They tried giving us a small interior room based of what we paid. I got a special from TripAdvisor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Warwick-Allerton, General Manager at Warwick Allerton Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Al W,

Thank you for sharing your experience.

We agree that our location is perfect to all Chicago has to offer!

I can assure you that within the next few months all our rooms will have new mattresses and linens. Hopefully you can return and experience one for yourself.

All the best,

General Manager
Warwick Allerton Hotel Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Centrally located and near everything you need! Gino's East pizza and Wallgreens is one block away, shops on the mile are 5 steps away, and taxis are always at your doorstep.
My only complaint (and it's not even a real complaint) is that all the double rooms are on the west side of the building are quite small. We were hardly in our room, so it didn't matter too much, but for someone who needs space to lay out their stuff or get ready with more than one person in the room... It's tight.
Overall great experience. Would stay again!

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Warwick-Allerton, General Manager at Warwick Allerton Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Italarmo,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience. Yes, Gino's East is a treasure and our location is accessible to so many exciting areas of the city.

As our hotel is a landmark in Chicago, we have many uniquely designed and sized rooms. We hope that you will experience some of them the next time you are in town.

Sincerely,

General Manager
Warwick Allerton Hotel Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Saw some good reviews so I booked this Magnificent Mile Hotel in the heart of the shopping district for a vacation with my parents. Let me start by saying that the location is great. It seems to be right in between Wrigley Field and US Cellular Field, so if you're a fan of baseball (I am) and shopping (my wife) the location couldn't be better. You're only a few blocks from the Hancock Center and many of Chicago's other famous skyscrapers as well as from the Chicago River where they have boat tours, etc.

The hotel is clean, the bar was well stocked ad I loved the older look of the place. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Warwick-Allerton, General Manager at Warwick Allerton Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Mike D,


It is wonderful to hear you were able to enjoy all that Chicago has to offer.

We agree that our location and unique charm of being a Chicago Landmark makes us a perfect location!

Hope to see you again soon.

Regards,

General Manager
Warwick Allerton Hotel Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

I got here by mistake. Another hotel canceled me out and this was the option I got. Having said that, the staff was friendly, the hotel location great and the room comfortable enough. Pillows are lumpy and the bed too hard for me, but no big concerns. Location is the best part of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Warwick-Allerton, General Manager at Warwick Allerton Hotel Chicago, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
michigantraveler05,

Thank you for sharing your experience. We agree that our location is best in the city.

As we speak, all new mattresses and linens have been ordered for the hotel. We hope when you return to Chicago you will personally experience them!

Sincerely,

General Manager
Warwick Allerton Hotel Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Warwick Allerton Hotel Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warwick Allerton Hotel Chicago

Address: 701 N. Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611 (Formerly Allerton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Warwick Allerton Hotel Chicago 4*
Number of rooms: 443
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a spectacular, multi-million-dollar renovation to match our dynamic downtown setting, we have reaffirmed our coveted standing among Magnificent Mile Chicago hotels. Luxuriate in sleek, modern rooms and suites appointed with every conceivable comfort, along with a few surprises. Stay at our dazzling downtown Chicago upscale boutique hotel and be at the center of it all with world-class shopping, dining, sightseeing, and entertainment beckoning from right outside our doors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Warwick Allerton Hotel Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allerton Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Warwick Allerton Hotel Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.