We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel, not the best location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   506 West Harrison Street, Chicago, IL 60607 (The Loop)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #97 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Sutton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“nice hotel, not the best location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2010

A really nice stay at this hotel in downtown Chicago. It is only a short walk from Union Station which is very convenient if you do not have a car – it is also only about 15-20 minutes walk from the centre and all the attractions, shops,etc. The CTA station (Clinton) is right outside and it took just under an hour to get to O’Hare airport when we left. The only real downside to the hotel is the rather scruffy alleyway under the expressway you have to walk through to get to the centre of town.
The room we had was quite small but perfectly adequate; it was quiet even though we were on the second floor with the expressway outside. The restaurant was also only adequate; we went out for all our meals after the first night. They also have a rooftop pool which unfortunately does not open till Memorial Day; the temperature was 90 the week before so that would have been good.
Next time I think I would probably choose somewhere nearer downtown but this is perfectly acceptable at a good price.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    158
    69
    33
    17
See reviews for
86
62
55
117
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
missouri
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2010

I searched for weeks to find an affordable one night stay the first Thursday in June and ended up with this property through priceline and was very happy with my night stay. Surprisingly quiet and the room was acceptable. Do not expect all the bells and whistles but for one night it served my needs.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2010

Excellent staff-very friendly and helpful from the bellhop to the front desk. Awesome price on Priceline.com. Suite was very comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

As a solo traveller, it was a good spot - but not close to United Arena

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

I have stayed at this hotel 2 times & I have found this quite good place with raesonable size rooms & good facilities.

Centrally located-all city attractions within 4-5 miles range.

Breakfast in Restaurant on ground floor is really good with Dinner options of Pizaa & Pastas.

Will come back anytime.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

The service at checkin and check out was very prompt and efficient as was the paking valet bringing my car. Could use a business center with computers & printers. Location was ok but didn't feel safe in walking past the boarded up buildings when returning from drop off point from I.R.A.Convention. Felt the pricing was a little high considering location and lack of some services.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

The location was ideal for my business meetings and the staff was friendly.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown

Address: 506 West Harrison Street, Chicago, IL 60607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#100 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether business or pleasure brings you to the Chicago downtown area, our hotel's free high-speed Internet access keeps you connected, and our state-of-the-art fitness center lets you keep up your workout routine, while our seasonal, outdoor rooftop pool provides great entertainment for the entire family. Let's not forget, for a unique dining experience visit Sunny's Bar & Grill located in the hotel. Clearly, with these choice amenities and prices, it's easy to see why guests prefer us to other hotels in Chicago, IL ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, IHG, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Holiday Inn Downtown
Chicago Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Chicago Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.