We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous boutique style hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast to your Saves list
Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1244 N Dearborn Pkwy, Chicago, IL 60610 (Formerly Claridge Hotel) (Gold Coast)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #104 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
London
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fabulous boutique style hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Stayed for 8 nights at this small but smart boutique styled hotel. Colorful, clean and modern room of great comfort. Relaxed stay on a busy and hectic business schedule just far enough away from the main drag in Chicago. Walking distance of dozens of great bars and restaurants as well as the shores of Lake Michigan. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destini W, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
LondonAlan63,

Thank you for sharing your great comments! We appreciate the feedback and share all our comments with our Team. We celebrate the successes and focus on the opportunities for improvement.

We are happy you were able to relax a bit during your busy visit to Chicago! This is really our goal, to offer superior service and accommodations for a relaxing and enjoyable stay in our fine city.

Please come back and see us again soon,

Destini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    347
    112
    59
    38
See reviews for
164
272
78
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fishers, Indiana
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Check-in took over four hours. They kept telling us the room would be ready soon and it wasn't. Found out later from someone else that they had two people on vacation and had someone from maintenance in charge of housekeeping that had never done the job before.
Only two desk people available so there was always a line for any transaction or question.
The floor laminate was peeling in our room. The shower looked questionable. Water was squirting out of the faucet, which created a mess and we had to tighten it ourselves. The elevator was so antiquated that it took forever every time you needed to use it.
The set up with the garage next door was extremely confusing. A guest could not tell who to pay, how much to pay and that it was NOT part of the hotel. Very expensive for just overnight. Mistakes made at the front desk several times.
Overpriced and just was not worth the hassles at all!!!

Room Tip: Don't go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destini W, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
MJMS589,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We take all our guest reviews very seriously and we will be sharing your comments with our entire Team. As well, while we don't own the garage next door, we will be certain to share your comments with them as well in an effort to improve the overall guest experience.

Thanks again for taking the time to share your comments. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose our IHG Brands for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Destini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbana, Illinois
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I came to check in with my party at approximately 5:20 pm. Check in time was listed as 4:00pm on the website and in my confirmation email. Once I got to the desk, the clerk informed me that my room was not ready. So I asked them for an approximation of time we still had to wait, since my party was waiting there for me since 5pm. I felt like they brushed my question off and told me that they would let me know when it was ready. (I had to ask them awkwardly "...so will it be within an hour.. or more?"). After about ten minutes, I came back to talk to them and explained that "some people from my party traveled from Wisconsin and were tired from the drive and the fact that we had to wait until around 6pm just to have our room was kind of crazy." The clerk got defensive and said something along the lines of "who said you had to wait an hour?" and magically our room was ready immediately.

I mean besides this experience, it was a pretty cute hotel. The colors of the hotel complimented each other and the lobby was very nice, it was in a nice location, and the staff helped call a taxi for us. The hotel room was generally nice - the beds were very comfortable and the view was enjoyable. There were random stains on the beds and the bathroom was not very clean. I would have loved to give this hotel more stars, but just considering the circumstances..I wouldn't necessarily come again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destini W, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Pamu033,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your most recent stay. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience at check-in and will be sure to look into the matter further. You are correct, our check in time is guarantee at 4:00 PM and I sincerely apologize we did not have a room ready upon your arrival.

I am glad to hear you did enjoy the hotel but am sincerely disappointed you did not experience superior service. Feedback such as your gives us the opportunity to improve and we welcome the opportunity to improve.

We hope you'll give us another chance to have you as our guest. Please feel free to reach out to me personally for future accommodations, I'd love to assist.

Safe travels,

Destini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staines, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for one night before flying back to the UK after a few days on back to back meetings.
The hotel was really lovely, comfy beds, spotlessly clean.
Great location for exploring down town. The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destini W, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Chalie48,

We loved this line in your review..."The hotel was really lovely, comfy beds, spotlessly clean." This is exactly what we aim to provide and your comments will be shared with our entire Team.

Please be sure to stop in and see us again if your ever back in the Chicago area. We'd love the opportunity to have you as our guest once again.

All the best,

Destini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Had a lovely stay here. Staff were really friendly. Maria Z in housekeeping was great and very helpful for directions. Alma was amazing managed to get us cubs tickets. Would definately stay there again. Beds were extremley comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destini W, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Hannah,

We hope you enjoyed the Cubs game and will certainly pass on your comments to both Alma and Maria Z! We love to recognize employees who have stood out during a guest stay and couldn't be happier that both Alma and Maria Z. contributed to your enjoyable stay with us!

We're delighted you would stay with us again and hope to see you soon! Unitl then, safe and happy travels to you and we hope you will continue to choose our Hotel Indigo brand for all your future travel needs.

All the best,

Destini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Stayed here 10-16 June as part of an architectural group visiting the city and area.

The hotel is situated in a pleasant residential street with an interesting variety of houses. It is within walking distance of the lake, restaurants and shops.

Our room was on the 10th floor (1003): it had two large beds, a small sitting area, shower room and separate area with washbasin. A coffee maker with coffee capsules was provided but no bottled water or fridge. The airconditioning unit was extremely noisy although we did manage to open the windows. The shower and sanitaryware were old and needed replacing. Aside from whether you liked the questionably bright colour scheme, the rooms and public areas were rather chipped at the edges and generally needed updating.

Breakfast was a lottery. Apparently you were allowed to choose one cooked item and one drink from the menu although on some mornings, orange juice was included - on others, we were charged. It was also not possible to substitute oatmeal/yoghurt/fruit if you didn't want cooked items. This caused confusion and unnecessary delay in the mornings.

Generally a good location but rooms not up to a standard expected of a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear christinaelisabeth,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. I am pleased that you liked our location. However, please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations. Your comments about the air conditioning unit, bathroom facility and hotel condition will be forwarded to the ownership of the hotel to be taken into consideration for future upgrades. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Charisse V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normal, Illinois
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Amazing location and service. Stayed here and used it as basecamp to - catch a Cubs game, visit Navy Pier, hit numerous restaurants and area bars. Alma @ front desk - fantastic! Room - clean and comfy. Parking is available nearby and if you use the garage there is a $45 24 hour charge. Not bad given you can take the EL so no Cub or downtown parking expenses incurred. The hotel itself is very welcoming, bright and modern. The room is quaint and comfortable. Given the fantastic location not sure if I would need more of our room given we weren't in it much. Overall, I am really looking forward to staying here for my next trip to the Windy City.

Room Tip: Just use the parking garage given street side parking is hard to come by
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast

Address: 1244 N Dearborn Pkwy, Chicago, IL 60610 (Formerly Claridge Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#85 Family Hotel in Chicago
#93 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast The newest member of the Intercontinental Hotels Group family, Hotel Indigo is a branded boutique hotel that offers a refreshing alternative to traditional hotels. Quietly nestled on a tree-lined street, Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast is located in one of Chicago's oldest and most historical neighborhoods, and is just steps from downtown Chicago and easily accessible from O Hare International Airport (ORD) and Midway Airport (MDW) . The location is ideal for guests who want to spend their days shopping on Chicago's Magnificent Mile and Oak Street's Boutique Row or indulge in the nightlife of Rush Street. Guests staying in enjoy free wireless Internet , Aveda bath amenities, spa-inspired showers, complimentary fitness center, locally roasted Metropolis coffee products in our restaurant and a fine wine selection in Phi, our lobby lounge. Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast is pet friendly , and has numerous amenities for your travel companions so they may enjoy their stay as much as you will. Our Torchbearer Award winning service will be sure to impress all guests. Enter Hotel Indigo and sense the difference. The colors calm. The imagery excites. The architecture delights. You are relaxed, refreshed, renewed. You are inspired! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Chicago
Chicago Hotel Indigo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.