We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW WOW WOW!!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast to your Saves list
Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1244 N Dearborn Pkwy, Chicago, IL 60610 (Formerly Claridge Hotel) (Gold Coast)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #102 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“WOW WOW WOW!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Was in Chicago on business and was a bit weary when booking because it seemed to good to be true. This is just an amazing hotel with fantastic value for money. The area is awesome, like South Beach, good restaurants and convenience stores within a block or two and the rooms are well appointed and clean. Our entire group just loved it here and was like a home from home. Having been around the block a few times, I can assure you that this is great value and an awesome environment.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destini W, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you for sharing your positive feedback with us!! We strive for five and always feel GREAT when read reviews like yours! Thank you for choosing our hotel and for giving us the opportunity to host your entire group. We hope you'll consider us again for any return trips to Chicago.

Please reach out to me personally if I can be of assistance in any way. Be sure to check out our other Hotel Indigo locations. We're confident you'll love the experience at each property!

Happy travels!!
Destini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    341
    111
    56
    36
See reviews for
162
269
78
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Always look forward to my stay in Chicago, because we stay at the Indigo. The staff goes out of there way to help.Big clean rooms.Also Maria and Anna in House Keeping does an outstanding job! Hats Off to them. Keith M, Blackmon

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destini W, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Mr. Blackmon,

Thank you for sharing your very positive feedback with us!! Our entire Team enjoys having you as our guest. We sincerely hope we'll continue to see you on occasion moving forward and if there is ever anything we can do to assist you while you're in Chicago, you know who to call!

Safe and happy travels,
Destini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here as part of a surprise visit and we were pleasantly surprised. After a late flight that was delayed and a van ride from O'Hare, we felt that we were in South Beach when we entered the lobby. Our blood pressure dropped, we checked in, and found the room to be well appointed. In the we enjoyed breakfast; the menu is small, but varied. The service we received was excellent. The layout was perfect for surprising someone with a special guest appearance. The beds were comfortable and the room was clean and quiet. Just half a block from busy Division Street, this place is an oasis.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destini W, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
We're so glad we could help lower your blood pressure and be a bright spot in your travels!! Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. It's great to hear the good with the "not so good" and we appreciate all those to take the time to share honest comments with us! We hope you'll come back again soon. If I can be of assistance to you in any way for future reservations, please don't hesitate to reach out to me.

All the best for your future travels,
Destini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mitchell, Kentucky
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We came to Chicago to see a play. What a treat to stay in a residential area with a beach-like atmosphere. The staff make us feel like we were visiting friends. Indigo is an easy walk of .5 mi to Oak St. Beach on the Lake. We spent two days there enjoying the sights and the drinks.
Also, we were within walking distance to several bars and restaurants. Will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Don't get a room by the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destini W, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel, giving us the opportunity to have you as our guest and for your wonderful feedback!! I'm very happy you felt as if you were among friends during your stay with us, we strive for everyone to have the same feeling! What's more enjoyable than being among good friends? We hope you'll come back and see us again soon!

May we suggest you come back this fall? We have a great Macy's Shopping package available and you could always get some early holiday shopping done during your trip! If I can assist you with future reservations, please don't hesitate to reach out to me.

All the best,
Destini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed here while visiting my son in Old Town. The decor is more like South Beach, but was very pleasant. My room was very spacious with nice morning coffee amenities and big bathroom, all spotlessly clean. The staff was friendly and helpful, evening holding onto my bag after checkout as my flight was later in the day. I particularly enjoyed walking around the beautiful, nearby residential neighborhoods finding great spots for breakfast and dinner. The lake is nearby and suprisingly beautiful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destini W, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
We hope we'll see you again during future visits to Chicago! Have you been to The Spice House on Wells? It's one of my favorite stores! If you did not get a chance to visit, please put it on your list for next time! We also highly recommend the Twisted Baker. You can't go wrong with anything you order from this wonderful bakery.

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to have you as our guest and for choosing our hotel. We hope to see you again soon!

Destini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute, Indiana
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed here on a guys night away from town to catch some baseball. We parked at the garage next door and found that the parking was about average pricing for Chicago, although I cannot remember the exact amount. The lobby was distinct, with chairs I would love to have in my office. The elevator was a little small and we had a slight wait to get to our room. The room was nice and very clean and the bed was comfortable. We had a little problem with the toilet but their "engineering" staff came up to fix it quite quickly. The hotel has free wifi with sufficient bandwidth for anything except streaming video.
The neighborhood around the hotel is quite nice and it was a short walk down to Lake Michigan. We were in town for a guys getaway and found the local bars quite pleasant with a good crowd to talk to, although expensive. We were only in the rooms for a short time and back out the next morning for another game but we enjoyed our stay here. I would stay here again anytime. I look forward to trying the little bar downstairs next time.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destini W, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you for your great review and for choosing our hotel! We hope you will take the opportunity to "try our little bar downstairs" next time you're with us. We highly recommend a few drinks in our bar before you walk to the great restaurants and bars located on Rush Street. It's a great way to start the evening!

Thanks again and and we'll see you soon!!

Destini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delafield, Wisconsin, United States
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

This hotel is on the prettiest street in Chicago. The lobby looks very fresh and inviting with a small bar. The feel is almost Miami-like. But the service has been spectacular. We did not have a reservation and we just saw this hotel as we were driving. They found a room for us but it was not ready. To make up for that, they gave us free drinks at the bar. And, Alma gave us a box of chocolates (which I think she did because my husband is such a goof). This hotel is out of the way but near enough to walk to Rush Street. The room is nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destini W, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
We absolutely loved the first line in your review and we agree! Our hotel is on the prettiest street in Chicago. You can't find a better neighborhood that ours. We're so close to everything Chicago as to offer, but just far enough away that you enjoy the peace and quiet of our tree lined street. We'll be sure to recognize Alma for the role she played in your stay with us!!

Thank you for taking a chance and staying with us and for sharing your comments!! We hope you'll come back and see us again soon!! And, please, be sure to bring your husband, the "goof"!

Happy travels,

Destini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast

Address: 1244 N Dearborn Pkwy, Chicago, IL 60610 (Formerly Claridge Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#82 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#84 Family Hotel in Chicago
#90 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast The newest member of the Intercontinental Hotels Group family, Hotel Indigo is a branded boutique hotel that offers a refreshing alternative to traditional hotels. Quietly nestled on a tree-lined street, Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast is located in one of Chicago's oldest and most historical neighborhoods, and is just steps from downtown Chicago and easily accessible from O Hare International Airport (ORD) and Midway Airport (MDW) . The location is ideal for guests who want to spend their days shopping on Chicago's Magnificent Mile and Oak Street's Boutique Row or indulge in the nightlife of Rush Street. Guests staying in enjoy free wireless Internet , Aveda bath amenities, spa-inspired showers, complimentary fitness center, locally roasted Metropolis coffee products in our restaurant and a fine wine selection in Phi, our lobby lounge. Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast is pet friendly , and has numerous amenities for your travel companions so they may enjoy their stay as much as you will. Our Torchbearer Award winning service will be sure to impress all guests. Enter Hotel Indigo and sense the difference. The colors calm. The imagery excites. The architecture delights. You are relaxed, refreshed, renewed. You are inspired! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Chicago
Chicago Hotel Indigo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.