We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two Big Thumbs Up!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast to your Saves list
Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1244 N Dearborn Pkwy, Chicago, IL 60610 (Formerly Claridge Hotel) (Gold Coast)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #92 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Two Big Thumbs Up!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Big thumbs up to the fabulous boutique hotel in the Gold Coast area of Chicago. We stayed at Hotel Indigo for 4 nights and staff was very helpful and courteous. The hotel was in a great location, as we were able to walk to almost all locations we had on our list to visit. Our room was clean, roomy and comfortable!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destini W, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review and the two thumbs up!! We couldn't ask for more. We hope you'll come back and see us again soon. If I may be of assistance for future reservations, please do not hesitate to reach out to me.

Thanks again for choosing our hotel and for giving us the opportunity to have you as our guest!!

All the best,

Destini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    314
    101
    49
    32
See reviews for
152
248
72
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We spent 3 night there. The hotel is very good decoration, attraction and clean. The location is quite good, not too much far from Michigan Avenue. The room size is ok but no have refrigerator! The bathroom is very small, may not convenient for big guy. The maid always busy, so the room will be cleaned late afternoon and they do not change towel for us. They keep it, but do not provide the new one, we have to ask them for the new one.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destini W, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for your feedback! We sincerely appreciate honest feedback as it gives us the opportunity to improve. We will share your feedback with our Housekeeping Team as towels are an incredibly important part of your hotel stay. I apologize you had to ask us for replacements. As well, please note we do have refrigerators available upon request. While we cannot guarantee one will be available, you're welcome to ask for one upon arrival. Thank you for choosing our hotel and for giving us the opportunity to have you as our guest! We hope you see you back again soon!

Safe and happy travels,

Destini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

I go to Chicago for Dr apts.
Hotel Indigo is the only place I have stayed in the three year period I have had to go. They are courteous and do anything to make your stay the best. I would like to give a shout out to Lisa who works at front desk. She works hard, always has a smile, and is quick to help u in the most courteous way.
DN

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destini W, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
What can we say, your review made our day!! Thank you for sharing your feedback!! We will be sure to recognize Lissa for her role in your Hotel Indigo guest experience. Lissa has been with our hotel for years and is a true asset to our Team. Thank you for recognizing her!! We will be sure to do the same!!

All the best to you,
Destini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

It is shocking that this under the portfolio of IHG. I checked in to learn I was not receiving the type of room I reserved. I asked if my reservation would not be honored, and was told in one word, NO. My very small room smelled like a sweaty locker room and there was wallpaper peeling on the walls. There was a tray on the bed with TV guide, remote, etc., but the only place to put it was on the desk and it took nearly the entire surface. The coffee maker didn't work. The TV was not a flatscreen.

The huge ray of sunshine was Shavon, who worked in the hotel cafe. Sunny dispostion, helpful, offering stellar customer service. There were other staff who were lovely as well, such as a front desk person who offered to get me soup from a nearby restaurant because their cafe closes quite early for a hotel. I would have liked to have given the hotel a good rating just for them, but just can't--the hotel itself needs some serious improving.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destini W, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate the feedback our guests provide as it gives us an opportunity to improve our overall guest experience. I sincerely apologize your room request was not honored and that your room was one that had not yet had a flat screen TV installed. Our TV installation project is now complete with all of our rooms receiving new TVs. We are in the process of updating our guest rooms and hope you'll give us another opportunity to have you as our guest. Please feel free to contact me personally for future reservations. I'd really like you to have a true Hotel Indigo experience.

Again, my sincerest apologies that we disappointed you. If there is anything I can do, please feel free to contact me.

Destini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

First of all, we loved the design and location of this place. Very cheerful, bright, homey. Just plain well designed. Big thumbs up. The location is in a neighborhood, away from the noise but walking distance to almost everything you need. The price was right as well but did not include breakfast (but this is a reasonable breakfast available downstairs and some great breakfast joints in the neighborhood.

We had a couple minor issues in maid service showing up at 5pm, a broken air conditioner, a bit of confusion at checkout on room booking that should have been easier to fix. Staff was professional about it. Otherwise, a good stay. Would go back.

Room Tip: We were in 602 on the East side (facing the street). Long narrow room with lots of windows and a goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destini W, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for your review! I was happy to hear you enjoyed the overall design and location of our hotel. It is a very unique property in a very unique neighborhood and it's great when our guests appreciate the difference between our hotel and so many others in the city. I apologize we fell short on service and thank you for your honest feedback. We share our reviews with our entire Team in order to continue to improve the overall guest experience. We thank you for choosing our hotel and for being willing to give us another shot. Please contact me personally for future reservations, I'd be happy to assist.

Thanks again!!

Destini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Great hotel! The room interior made the place feel like home. The whole family slept great, which is usually a problem for us at other hotels. The staff was very helpful with directions to attractions and popular places to eat!

Room Tip: This hotel doesn't have a pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destini W, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Your review title could not have made us any happier!! Obviously we are in the service industry and we aim each day to create "fantastic" Hotel Indigo guest experiences for each of our guests. When we're successful, we celebrate! Thank you for giving us a reason to celebrate!!

We also thank you for sharing your feedback and for choosing our hotel! We hope you'll come back and see us again soon!

Safe and happy travels,
Destini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I really enjoyed the Indigo. Great location, and the look + feel is really fun: lots of bright colors everywhere. I had an issue with my original room, as the air conditioner or heating unit right outside my door was really loud. They moved me without any fuss.

I'm staying there for my next visit to Chicago.

Room Tip: Make sure you check out the noise level before unpacking your luggage. Ask to move rooms if necessar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destini W, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback!! We do have a "cute little hotel" in a great location! Thank you for sharing those sentiments as well! I was pleased our Team quickly resolved your concern regarding the AC unit and that we were able to get you moved quickly. I agree with your advice to other travelers, to...Make sure you check out the noise level before unpacking your luggage. It is always easier to find you another room right after check-in than around bedtime once everyone has checked in.

Thank you for choosing our hotel and for making us your hotel of choice for your next visit to Chicago!

All the best,
Destini
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast

Address: 1244 N Dearborn Pkwy, Chicago, IL 60610 (Formerly Claridge Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#76 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#78 Family Hotel in Chicago
#94 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast The newest member of the Intercontinental Hotels Group family, Hotel Indigo is a branded boutique hotel that offers a refreshing alternative to traditional hotels. Quietly nestled on a tree-lined street, Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast is located in one of Chicago's oldest and most historical neighborhoods, and is just steps from downtown Chicago and easily accessible from O Hare International Airport (ORD) and Midway Airport (MDW) . The location is ideal for guests who want to spend their days shopping on Chicago's Magnificent Mile and Oak Street's Boutique Row or indulge in the nightlife of Rush Street. Guests staying in enjoy free wireless Internet , Aveda bath amenities, spa-inspired showers, complimentary fitness center, locally roasted Metropolis coffee products in our restaurant and a fine wine selection in Phi, our lobby lounge. Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast is pet friendly , and has numerous amenities for your travel companions so they may enjoy their stay as much as you will. Our Torchbearer Award winning service will be sure to impress all guests. Enter Hotel Indigo and sense the difference. The colors calm. The imagery excites. The architecture delights. You are relaxed, refreshed, renewed. You are inspired! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Chicago
Chicago Hotel Indigo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.