We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel & friendly service in Gold Coast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast to your Saves list
Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1244 N Dearborn Pkwy, Chicago, IL 60610 (Formerly Claridge Hotel) (Gold Coast)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 20%
Ranked #92 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Lake City, Michigan
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Nice hotel & friendly service in Gold Coast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Just checked out of this hotel. Got a great deal on Priceline. Got a nice king room on the 8th floor... by the elevator, some noises but didn't really bother me. Very courteous staff, they held my luggage prior to chk in and after chk out. Would recommend this place. It's a nice change of scenery from the usual Magnificent Mile location.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destini W, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for the great review!! We hope you'll chose our hotel the next time you travel to our fine city. If you haven't already, you should visit in the summer. We have an incredible Farmer's Market one block south of the hotel that truly offers a wonderful Chicago experience. We're also in the process of changing our seasonal menus, please be sure to try out our 1244 Bar & Bistro during your next visit! See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    318
    103
    50
    32
See reviews for
154
252
73
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent one night here for Valentine's Day. I recommend the Penny Parking Package. It cost 119 for a King Bed Room and Overnight Parking. Overnight parking in Chicago can be over $35, so it's a great deal.

The Good- The decor is lovely. The bright blues and greens really made it feel like summer in the middle of February. I really don't think the room was that small- it's a good size for the rate. Again, we had a king bed- there wasn't much room on either side of the bed, but the room is shaped so that there's still a lot of space to walk around between the door and the bed. It was perfect for a couple, definitely not for a family. The bed and pillows were soft and clean. The location is just a 10-15 minute walk to all the major shopping on N. Michigan Avenue. If you're into the college-age/yuppie bar/club scene, you're less than half a block away from lots of places. If you'd like a quiet night in (like we did) the CVS up the street sells liquor :-) (note, the only ice machine in the hotel is on the 2nd floor). We didn't spend much time in the hotel lobby restaurant or bar, but both were really cute. I love that the decor theme carried throughout the hotel. The staff was very friendly as well.

The Bad- The view was non-existent- the one window in the room looked out onto a fire escape and another wall in the hotel. It made for a very dark room (we got up at 10 the next morning, and it still looked like it was nighttime). There aren't any ceiling lights in the place, so even with the lamps the room is not nearly as bright as the management provided photos suggest. One of our face cloths appeared to have makeup on it. Also, the paint on the sink was peeling off. There's also not much in the room that gives information about the neighborhood. A list of neighborhood restaurants or something would be nice. The walls are thin- in the morning, the woman next door was talking to her boyfriend on the phone and I heard EVERY SINGLE WORD. It woke me up because it sounded like someone was in our room. Room service was expensive- automatic 20% tip + $3 service charge. I didn't realize those were included, so I put in my own tip. Two lukewarm breakfast sandwiches and OJ came to $33.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't face the fire escape. We were in 805
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destini W, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for your great review!! We appreciate your honest feedback and will share your comments with our Team. We were thrilled you enjoyed our Team and were disappointed we did not have the opportunity to tell you about our local neighborhood! We much prefer to tell you all the great places to visit and the local hidden treasures than to have you read about them in our guest directory. We'll make note that we need to be more engaging for you and future travelers. We hope you'll come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This is an absolutely horrible property! The rooms are small, the staff is extremely rude and unorganized, and it was a complete dump for 25,000 points.
My wife and I spent the night in Chicago for our honeymoon. When we showed up they did not have our Priority Club Express check in ready, the gentleman checking us in didn't even speak to us lead alone look at us. Very rude!
The room we got was small, the mattress was very uncomfortable, and the TV was small! They have very old tube TVs. Don't come here expecting to hang out in your room and enjoy the day together.
Miserable experience!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destini W, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. Our Customer Care Team has sent you a private message in an effort to follow up on your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Visited Chicago for a Valentine's getaway. Loved the hotel's beach-centric decor and the Aveda bath products, but hated our room's location. We were in room 804, right across from the elevator. We were kept awake all night by hotel guests using the elevator. It was probably worsened due to the large gap at the bottom of our hotel door. Walls in our room had multiple scuff marks, otherwise everything was clean.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destini W, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for your review! Honest feedback such as yours gives us the opportunity to improve. Please don't hesitate to make room requests, we aim to please and will gladly find you another location in our hotel away from the elevators. Please try us again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, West Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Were in Chicago with another couple to attend the Moody Bible Institute Founder's Week conference. Location was convienient for the conference and mass transit stops. Price was reasonable. Four in a room, yet the layout was such that it didn't feel crouded. The color scheme made it seem like you were in a place of childhood bliss. The staff from the first greeting was special and the doorman had a talent for being cordial and polite.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destini W, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for the terrific review!! We agree with you regarding our color scheme. It's a fun, unique and energizing. You should work here, it's great!! We hope you'll come back and see us again soon!! May we recommend you try our other Hotel Indigo locations? We think you'll fall in love with each one and become a loyal Hotel Indigo guest!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Comfy, cozy and clean. Staff was very friendly. I can recommend this hotel without hesitation. Stuck because of the snow storm out East and no regrets. My room was well appointed and clean. I plan to come back for a vacation visit. The location was good.

Stayed February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destini W, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Your recommendation means the world to us and we can't thank you enough for your wonderful review!! Please come back and see us again when the weather is warmer, you'd love the Farmers Market that takes place every Saturday though the summer months just blocks from the hotel. Our neighborhood really comes alive when temperatures are above 30 degrees! We can't wait to have you back as our guest again soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

We come to Chicago 2-3 times a year to visit our grandchildren. Hotel indigo has become our home away from home. Rooms are clean and charming. But it is the friendly staff that is the reason for our return visits. Chris and Greg went out of their way to help us. They made sure we got the room we wanted and followed up with a phone call to make surf we were comfortable. We can't say enough about them.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destini W, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review and for recognizing two individuals on our Team by name!! We will be sure to reward these individuals for their hand in your Hotel Indigo guest experience!! We can't wait for your return visit and thank you again for being loyal to our hotel!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast

Address: 1244 N Dearborn Pkwy, Chicago, IL 60610 (Formerly Claridge Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Chicago
#25 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#76 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#80 Family Hotel in Chicago
#92 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast The newest member of the Intercontinental Hotels Group family, Hotel Indigo is a branded boutique hotel that offers a refreshing alternative to traditional hotels. Quietly nestled on a tree-lined street, Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast is located in one of Chicago's oldest and most historical neighborhoods, and is just steps from downtown Chicago and easily accessible from O Hare International Airport (ORD) and Midway Airport (MDW) . The location is ideal for guests who want to spend their days shopping on Chicago's Magnificent Mile and Oak Street's Boutique Row or indulge in the nightlife of Rush Street. Guests staying in enjoy free wireless Internet , Aveda bath amenities, spa-inspired showers, complimentary fitness center, locally roasted Metropolis coffee products in our restaurant and a fine wine selection in Phi, our lobby lounge. Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast is pet friendly , and has numerous amenities for your travel companions so they may enjoy their stay as much as you will. Our Torchbearer Award winning service will be sure to impress all guests. Enter Hotel Indigo and sense the difference. The colors calm. The imagery excites. The architecture delights. You are relaxed, refreshed, renewed. You are inspired! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Chicago
Chicago Hotel Indigo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo Chicago Downtown Gold Coast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.