We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel for weekend shopping trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown to your Saves list
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 East Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611 (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park and Chill Savings
Ranked #40 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel for weekend shopping trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2010

This is a nice hotel. It has a pool but no hot tub. There is an exercise room with 2 treadmills, weights, recumbent bike, and some sort of elliptical type thing. The pool is hit or miss on crowding. On Fri at 8PM there was no one there but us, but on Sun at 1030AM it was too crowded for my daughter to want to swim. On Sun at 1140AM it was empty. It goes from 3 feet to 4.5 feet.
The room has a living room/kitchen with table seating for 2. There is a 2 burner stove, good size microwave, almost full size fridge, coffeemaker, and 2 slice toaster. There is a separate bedroom with king bed and a full bath off of that. I did notice some little imperfections (toilet paper holder slightly bent, luggage rack looks a little worn), but in general the room is clean and in good repair.
There is a breakfast buffet (7-10 on weekends and 630-930 on weekdays). So far they have had eggs, bacon or sausage, potatoes, corned beef hash, grits, fruit, toast/bagels to toast, and tea/coffee/juice/milk. They have takeout containers so you can take breakfast back to the room. Tip for this, I brought down one of those plastic bags you get from the store and it was really helpful for carrying the food back. Usually I end up juggling the containers and drinks and everything in the elevator. The elevators were really crowded on Sun AM, but otherwise have not been bad.
You enter on the 1st floor (there is valet parking which I think was about $40-50/day, but it was included in our room rate so I don’t remember exactly). I’m pretty sure there are in and out privileges, but we are not driving again until we check out. There are several restaurants within a block or so of the hotel, and Nordstroms is right across Grand Ave (the other entrance to the Nordstroms Mall is on Michigan Ave). We walked to Navy Pier and it took about 30 min or so (not rushing and running into the parade on Michigan making us have to backtrack). We took the bus up to Water Tower Place, but it was certainly walkable, we just felt like taking the bus.
The staff has been pleasant. The guy who parked our car has called me by name every time we have come back to the hotel (just saying hi). In fact last night when we came in he said “Hi Mrs X” (using my last initial) which was a little disconcerting, but did not offend me. I don’t know if that familiarity would offend others or not.
There are a lot of families with kids staying here, but they have been generally well behaved and well supervised. Several times my daughter went to the pool and it was empty except for her, which doesn’t happen often in hotels we stay at.
We did have a slight problem on checkout. On the receipt they put under the door for express checkout they charged me for parking, which was supposed to be included in my rate. However, when I took it down to the desk and told them they immediately changed it with no argument and apologized, so I certainly can’t hold it against them. All we lost was the express checkout. They also let us leave our car in the garage until 5 or 6 PM on our check out day at no extra charge. Overall, I would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper64, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, December 31, 2010
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for submitting a detailed review of your stay complete with useful tips. I'm sure other travelers will find this useful. I'm glad to see you took advantage of our location and it seems you enjoyed your time in Chicago.

Thank you again and Happy New Year.

Regards,

David Prentiss
General Manager
Homewood Suites Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    980
    488
    140
    25
    24
See reviews for
663
361
95
331
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moline, Illinois
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2010

I called on December 6th, 2010 at 3 p.m. to book a room for an upcoming weekend getaway, and was taken aback when the phone was picked up and promptly hung up without a word. Thinking this might have been a simple mistake, I gave it another try. A woman introducing herself as "Toni" answered the phone, rushed through her introduction, sounding incredibly bored and annoyed that she had to answer the phone. Barely letting a second go by after her introduction, she gave a snotty "Hello?!" before I could open my mouth and tell her "Never mind." Never has a hotel answered my call so rudely. I'd like to give the hotel the benefit of the doubt and pin this unpleasant experience to "Toni"; however I will not be calling back again in hopes to stay at this hotel during this trip.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper64, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, December 7, 2010
Dear caller,

I am very sorry you had this difficult experience trying to make a reservation with us. I was somewhat surprised as Toni receives consistently very positive feedback from our guests. It is possible that she was having trouble hearing you over the connection but I will bring this to her attention as I know this is not the impression that she would want to leave with a prospective guest.

Thank you for the feedback and I hope that you do enjoy your time in Chicago.

Regards,

David Prentiss
General Manager
Homewood Suites Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2010

This hotel offers very spacious one-bedroom suite accommodations with separate bedrooms and a fully-equipped kitchen allowing for private dining and cooking. The week night offering of an evening meal with complimentary beer and wine is a definite draw. The staff at this hotel are very friendly. The offer of a free hot breakfast and evening meal is so cool. This hotel is superbly located right in the middle of the North Bridge area of the Magnificent Mile. I like this hotel and I love Chicago!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper64, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, December 6, 2010
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts about your stay with us. I appreciate that you mentioned our staff and our location as I consider those to be two of our greatest attributes. More importantly it seems you enjoyed your entire Chicago experience.

Thank you again and I hope you consider us should you return to Chicago.

Regards,

David Prentiss
General Manager
Homewood Suites Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normal, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

My family stayed for one night on Thanksgiving Day. It was a great deal for us. We found the Park-and-Play deal on Homewood Suites' own website so we paid only $25 on valet parking. Overall the stay was great. We enjoyed the free breakfast and dinner. Most hotels don't offer free dinners, let alone free beer and wine!

The room was clean and the kitchen was great for heating up food for our baby. It was also quiet at night. The location is great and the hotel is warm and cozy overall. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper64, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, December 6, 2010
Dear valued guest,

Thank you so much for reviewing your recent stay and thank you for spending the holiday with us. It was nice to see many families staying with us that week. I'm glad that you were able to take advantage of our special value and that you enjoyed your time with us.

Thank you again and I hope we have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Regards,

David Prentiss
General Manager
Homewood Suites Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

Stayed one night at this hotel while attending the magnificent mile lights festival. We had a one bedroom suite with a king bed and a sofa sleeper. The room was big and roomy as well as the bathroom. The kitchen was big and well equipped. The decor is very outdated and needs a bit of a face lift, but the place is clean and the service was great. My 13 year old daughter and her friend loved the pool on the top floor which is surrounded by floor to ceiling windows and has a great view of the city, especially when swimming at night. The beds were very comfortable, the only negative was that I heard several sirens during the night that woke me once or twice, but hey, you are in downtown Chicago.

The location was excellent. To get to Michigan ave we simply walked across the street to Nordstroms and cut through the North Bridge mall to bring us right out to Michigan Ave. You can also walk one block and take the steps up to Michigan ave as well. It was so easy to go back and forth and do what we wanted but go relax and get warm whenever we needed to.

They had movies you could rent to watch on the living room TV. Pricey (most were $12.99) but all newer releases or some still in theaters. You could also rent games to play and the controllers are already connected to the television.

There is a PF Chang Chinese restaurant across the street which we enjoyed for dinner that night, excellent food!!

I would definitely stay here again in a heartbeat!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper64, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, December 6, 2010
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your stay with us and for the kind comments. Your comment about the decor design is certainly noted as we continue with our renovation cycle. Thank you for noting that the furnishings are clean and well maintained.

I noted your familiarity with the tricks for walking around the area which showed me you made good use of our location. That was nice to see.

Thank you again for your feedback and I do hope we have the opportunity to serve you in the future.

Regards,

David Prentiss
General Manager
Homewood Suites Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southfield
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

I've stayed at the HWS, 30+ nights this year for business. It's the standard I expect when I travel on business, but it also exceeded my expectations for a combined family vacation/business trip.

Last week I brought my wife and son along with me for this business trip. The staff was exceptionally friendly and personal to all of us, all the way from the Assistant Sales Manager to the doorman. The assistant sales manager welcomed my family personally at our room with a personalized card and suggestions to take our 2 year-old son. Also, the free breakfast and "welcome reception" are a nice touch for families that don't want to splurge everyday during a long business trip a

I could go on and on, but the staff here is like no other in downtown Chicago.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper64, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, December 6, 2010
Dear valued guest,

It is always nice to receive feedback from a regular guest. I really appreciate that you took the time to share your thoughts. I also appreciate your specific mention of some of our staff members. That means a lot to them.

It is our pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to continuing to serve you.

Regards,

David Prentiss
General Manager
Homewood Suites Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

Great location and excellent priced compare to other Chicago hotels in the Magificant Mile area. close to many shops and restaurants. Plenty of transportation in area to get to other sections of Chicago such as Navy Pier and Wrigley Field.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper64, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, December 6, 2010
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about our hotel. The nice thing about you mentioning the location is that it shows you made the most of your time in Chicago. I hope you enjoyed your time in our city.

Thank you again and I hope you consider us for future visits.

Regards,

David Prentiss
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown

Address: 40 East Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Chicago
#36 Family Hotel in Chicago
#47 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your downtown Chicago experience begins here, welcome to the Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown. Our location places you within walking distance to the Magnificent Mile, world-class restaurants and the infamous Chicago attractions. Where service is nothing short of extraordinary, the Homewood Suites family will welcome your every request. All of our guests will enjoy the following amenities,•Spacious, Newly Renovated two-room King suite with separate living, sleeping areas and fully equipped kitchens •Complimentary daily hot breakfast buffet •Complimentary Monday through Thursday Dinner Reception, meal with beer, wine and soda •Complimentary high-speed Wireless Internet access throughout the Hotel •Complimentary executive business center with high-speed Internet access •Complimentary cardio-fitness and indoor pool •Complimentary grocery shopping service •Complimentary coffee, tea, hot chocolate or cider all day long in the lobby •24 hour convenience shop •Hilton Honors Points –receive BOTH airline miles and hotel points for every stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown
Homewood Chicago
Hilton Chicago
Chicago Hilton
Chicago Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.