We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown to your Saves list
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 East Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611 (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park and Chill Savings
Ranked #43 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Green Bay WI
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2010

We felt welcome from the minute we walked in the door! Everyone was extremely friendly, helpful,professional,and went out of their way to take care of you. We received wonderful treatment the entire stay. The breakfasts were fantastic with many choices including fresh fruits, yogurt, and hot items - something for everyone! We went with our 3 kids ages 4,7,and 9 and our room was plenty spacious and comfortable for all and our bed felt like heaven! We were in the middle of all the downtown activities and could walk most places - Michigan Ave, Navy Pier, Hard Rock Cafe, and Rainforest Cafe. Sears Tower and Shedd Aquarium were a short cab ride away.
Would definately go out of my way to find a Homewood Suites whenever we travel and will be the first place I look to stay the next time we visit Chicago.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    981
    488
    140
    25
    24
See reviews for
663
361
95
331
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2010

I'm not sure how long this review will be, but I will attempt to keep it short. This hotel is fantastic. You see all those positive reviews on this site? Believe them because you cannot get a much better value for the money than with this hotel. Or maybe you can, but I'll make it easy for you and say that you won't. For starters, this hotel is perfectly located to just about everything. While this may seem like a bold statement, it really isn't. If the place you're trying to go to is not physically near, a mode of public transportation is very near for you to utilize to help you get to your destination. The Red Line subway is literally one block west of the hotel and can be used as your means of getting to and from O'Hare International Airport after utilizing the Blue Line. If the bus is more your thing, the stops are near here as well. What is also very near is the fantastic Magnificent Mile shopping district. You won't be in the hustle and bustle of this district with this hotel, but it'll be close enough for you to reach without using a bus, train, or taxi.

The hotel itself if admittedly humble, but this works to its advantage. It's almost as if it is a hidden gem amongst the rest of the hotels that have huge signs begging for your attention. When you walk inside and go to the 6th floor front desk, you're greeted by a very knowledgeable and helpful staff that make the check in process way too easy. Before that you are always greeted by the very friendly doormen on the 1st floor who not only hold the door open for you, but will also give you tips on where to eat or what form of public transportation to take for a given destination. But back to the front desk, from the moment we said "hello" we were literally checked in in less than a minute. From the check in process you of course proceed to your room and with our particular room we had a view that was nothing short of stunning. My advice is to ask for a high floor if you are not afraid of heights because that will give you the best view possible.

Along with the great view, we had a great room. Clean, spacious, homey, and the big thing...complete with a kitchen! The sofa bed was at first suspect feeling, but once I actually slept on it overnight I did not want to get up from it the following morning. The bathrooms are well lit and appropriately appointed with enough towels and soaps and all the stuff you would expect to see in there. The room is relatively quiet and not much outside noise comes in to cause a disturbance.

Lastly, the food. The breakfast and the 'light meal' in the evening were well above average and should satisfy even the most critical of good food. The selection for both of these meals is wide enough given that they are included at no extra cost. The staff who are there when it is time for you to eat are extremely courteous and are always ready to assist you. Seriously, I can go on and on about this hotel, but the time has come for you to stop reading this and book your trip to Chicago with your hotel choice being this one. There is a reason why it is currently number 6 and climbing in the ranks on this web site for the simple fact that it is that good. I challenge you to not have a good stay here. If you don't, well, that's kinda hard to do.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest City, Iowa
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
109 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2010

We were delayed by a late Amtrak train and had to overnight in Chicago. We stayed here and from the moment we walked into the hotel to the moment we checked out everything was simply perfect. Friendly and quick check in. They gave us a $10.00 off coupon for a nearby restaurant which we used. A spacious suite and free internet. A complimentary breakfast as well. Nice and clean and a great stay. Will be my hotel of choice when in Chicago!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2010

I took my daughter downtown Chicago for a 17th Birthday overnight stay with a few girlfriends. Many hotels were booked up, so we stayed at the Homewood Suites by Hilton on Grand Avenue. From the service to the comfort and quality, I must say I was very impressed. Not only was a buffet breakfast included, and free coffee and tea available 24/7, the Concierge gave us a free movie rental for the special Birthday occasion. We found that the location was excellent for shopping (across from Nordstrom's) and dining out (so many choices, we had a hard time deciding). After dinner, the girls swam in the very nice pool atop the hotel (with a fabulous view). When we wanted a pick me up; free coffee, tea and hot chocolate were abundant in the lobby. All in all, the Homewood Suites was the perfect choice for a getaway with teenagers.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2010

We stayed here Valentines weekend with our two teenage boys. We had a king suite with a pullout couch and they provided us with a rollaway- no extra charge. The room was very spacious with a full kitchen. The location is fantastic- we walked everywhere. Located between Michigan Ave and Rush Street, it's close to Ginos's Pizza, Navy Pier, ESPN Zone, Trader Joes, etc. The breakfast each morning exceeded our expectations. Full hot breakfast including bacon, sausage, hash, biscuits and gravy, eggs potatoes and more. The staff was very friendly and helpful- everyone from the desk staff to the valets. Our room was very clean and because it was a corner room, we had a fantastic view of the city. We would definitely stay here again and commented all weekend about what a find this hotel was. It was not upscale- but it was very clean, spacious room, friendly staff, pool for the kids and great free breakfast. Great hotel for families.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2010

I travelled to Illinois from the UK on business, and booked Friday and Saturday night at the Homewood Suites so that I could have a weekend in the city. The location was perfect, walking distance to Michigan Ave for all the shopping and touristy stuff, and literally 100 yards to the L (red line) for getting out to the surrounding areas.
The room was great: not exactly 'wow' decor but clean and really well stocked. I was expecting a 'suite' to be a larger than average hotel room with seperate sitting area. It was actually a 3-room mini-apartment, with an open lounge/kitchen, bedroom, and bathroom. Two flatscreen TVs and a huge bed. Breakfast buffet eggs and bacon were great for the hangover(!), and the kitchen meant that I could cook up some lunch rather than eat out if needed.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2010

We stayed for 3 night and 4 days at the Homewood Suites with our 3 yr old and it was bliss! Where do I start?
The hotel staff greeted us everyday. Breakfast and dinner was great (and didn't cost extra!). The pool area was extremely well kept and the view was beautiful. I can't praise the valet service enough. They were prompt, with a great personality, and even kept an extra eye out for our daughter to make sure she was safe from all the downtown Chicago traffic. Free WiFi, and in and out parking privileges are sometimes hard to find in this town, so it this was a huge plus!!
The suite was VERY nice and the housekeeping was great. They even did our dishes for us! Michigan Ave was just down the street and up a flight of stairs, while Millenium Park was a quick walk away. We come to Chicago often and will definitely ONLY stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown

Address: 40 East Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Chicago
#36 Family Hotel in Chicago
#47 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your downtown Chicago experience begins here, welcome to the Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown. Our location places you within walking distance to the Magnificent Mile, world-class restaurants and the infamous Chicago attractions. Where service is nothing short of extraordinary, the Homewood Suites family will welcome your every request. All of our guests will enjoy the following amenities,•Spacious, Newly Renovated two-room King suite with separate living, sleeping areas and fully equipped kitchens •Complimentary daily hot breakfast buffet •Complimentary Monday through Thursday Dinner Reception, meal with beer, wine and soda •Complimentary high-speed Wireless Internet access throughout the Hotel •Complimentary executive business center with high-speed Internet access •Complimentary cardio-fitness and indoor pool •Complimentary grocery shopping service •Complimentary coffee, tea, hot chocolate or cider all day long in the lobby •24 hour convenience shop •Hilton Honors Points –receive BOTH airline miles and hotel points for every stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown
Homewood Chicago
Hilton Chicago
Chicago Hilton
Chicago Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.