We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star service at this Great Homewood Suites Downtown!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown to your Saves list
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 East Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611 (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park & Save
Ranked #69 of 178 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario
Level Contributor
149 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“5 Star service at this Great Homewood Suites Downtown!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

We stayed here for the fourth time from July 26 to Aug.3 and had a wonderful time (as ususual!). We did encounter a few problems but they were dealt with quickly and joyfully. This suite hotel is fab, but it's the people that work there that make this the BEST hotel in Chicago. Kudos to these wonderful people...John, the assist. General Manager, who took a personal interest in our stay,and the problems we encountered. John, went beyond the call of duty. When my room key wouldn't work for the 3rd time, he PERSONALLY escorted me to my room...NOW THAT'S SERVICE! Thanks for all that you did John, I will always remember your kindness and understanding:D
Jonah, one of the best bell men ever always had a smile and kind word, he really did make me feel like I was coming "home" after a long day of shoppping/sightseeing. We shared more than a few restaurant reviews...thanks!
The wonderful ladies who manned the front desk...always friendly and helpful! No request was ever too big to be accomodated.
Connie that worked in the lodge...a smile every morning! along with that free breakfast!. I had gotten a touch of food poisoning one night and told Connie about the experience...she offered to get me some ginger ale to settle my stomache! Connie was working here that last time we were at the Suites in '07...and she remembered us!
Suggestion to all visitors: leave these hard working people a cash tip! Yes the breakfast and manager's reception is free, but the people that seat ya and clean up after you are in the service industry and deserve a tip for their service...I know that they even appreciate a dollar or 2! It's not a lot when you consider how much that meal for the family would cost in a restaurant....free wine & beer...enough said!
I just can't say enough good things about this place! They really do stand behind their 100% Satisfaction guarantee.
Don't know when we'll be back in Chicago but do know that this is the ONLY hotel we would ever consider staying at. Great location. great facility, great food and drink and most of all, the best group of people you'd every want to meet! Thanks for another wonderful holiday...

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,909 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,082
    569
    181
    40
    37
See reviews for
779
409
103
379
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2009

The Homewood Suites were a perfect central spot for exploring all the Chicago highlights. We were close by to shopping, the theatre, and plenty of good restaurants. Trader Joe's was just around the corner so we picked up some bottled water, wine and fruit on the first day. The free trolley was a great option to get to attractions and tours near the Pier. The only thing I would not recommend around the hotel is the ESPN Zone bar/restaurant.

The free daily breakfast was convenient and had plenty of options. The free wireless in rooms and business center were also nice. Our room was very large, but could have used some updating. We would not hesitate to stay here again on a future trip.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
145 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2009

We arrived too early to check in, but staff secured our luggage and we started discovering Chicago and came back at 4pm and had no problem checking in. Room was lovely, complete with stove top,dishwasher, full sized refrigerator, coffee maker, microwave. Would be great for families to cut down on dining out expenses. The full breakfast everyday was wonderful and yes you had to wait for a table, but that cut down on the confusion of everyone wanting to find a table at one time. The lady that worked 2 of the 3 days we were there was very friendly. The breakfast had a huge selection and was very satisfying to get fueled up for a day of walking and site seeing. Everyone at the hotel was very helpful. Three ladies getting away for a girls weekend had trouble getting the cork out of our wine bottle and the valet attendant was oh so nice in getting the cork removed for us! Kind of embarrassing to admit that :). Anyway would definately stay again at this hotel. Everyone was very friendly and helpful with any and all questions asked.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2009

Stayed for a week last month. Can't beat the location - close to the Magnificent Mile, Attractions, Tours, Great Restaurants & Night Life.
Have spent a lot of nights in other Homewood suites hotels and other suite hotels. Thought the room was ok, not great. Overpriced in my opinion.
Found staff to be uninterested and not very helpful. Had to wait in the lobby on the 6th floor for room to be ready and the front desk staff could care less. Watched during the week as other guests were made to wait as well.
Breakfast was the same stuff day after day. As the week went on, they actually started to run out of the more popular food items and these were not replenished (weekly delivery I guess). Also, the room was was so busy that the staff made people wait for a table and treated you as you were waiting for a 5 star restaurant.
Travel for work (sales) and frequently stay in hotels. Travel with family every year and also stay in hotels. This is roughing it for me...not a camper. Would come to Chicago again, but would not stay here. There are too many other options worth investigating.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2009

The lobby of the Homewood is right down the hall from the kitchen and dining room(actually more of a grade school cafeteria type set up). The odors from the kitchen were disgusting, and indeed reminded my of that of a institutional kitchen(I.e. hospital). The free breakfast and free dinner were not at all palatable. I suppose that if you are traveling with a young family as many guests were, that makes this hotel a good value. But i would not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joplin, MO
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2009

Homewood Suites, Downtown, was great. Toni, checked us in, and she was great. She gave us a room on the 17th floor because my son want to see the skyline at night. They serve breakfast everyday, and it was delicious. Plus, its Free. The staff in the dining room were exceptionally pleasant and helpful. We never ate dinner at the hotel, but one night my husband brought me carrot cake and it was great. The hotel is within walking distance to Grant Park. We would definitely stay here again, and I hope we can go back soon.

Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2009

Forty members of our family attended a four day/night 90th birthday week and party for our Mother (Grandmother, Great Grandmother, Sister, Aunt, etc.) and it couldn't have been better. All staff were more than helpful and courteous and friendly. In addition to full kitchens, a full hot breakfast and dinner each day we were able to keep expenses down for everyone. Our hotel contact, Alec Schraegle, worked with us over a year's planning and not only met but exceeded our expectations. Our family has stayed at this hotel for several years and have always been delighted with our choice. Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Downtown / The Loop
Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue
Magnificent Mile
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Streeterville
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown Lakefront
Streeterville
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown

Address: 40 East Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#56 Family Hotel in Chicago
#67 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your downtown Chicago experience begins here, welcome to the Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown. Our location places you within walking distance to the Magnificent Mile, world-class restaurants and the infamous Chicago attractions. Where service is nothing short of extraordinary, the Homewood Suites family will welcome your every request. All of our guests will enjoy the following amenities,•Spacious, Newly Renovated two-room King suite with separate living, sleeping areas and fully equipped kitchens •Complimentary daily hot breakfast buffet •Complimentary Monday through Thursday Dinner Reception, meal with beer, wine and soda •Complimentary high-speed Wireless Internet access throughout the Hotel •Complimentary executive business center with high-speed Internet access •Complimentary cardio-fitness and indoor pool •Complimentary grocery shopping service •Complimentary coffee, tea, hot chocolate or cider all day long in the lobby •24 hour convenience shop •Hilton Honors Points –receive BOTH airline miles and hotel points for every stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown
Homewood Chicago
Hilton Chicago
Chicago Hilton
Chicago Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.