We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown to your Saves list
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 East Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611 (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Park & Save
Ranked #58 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Noida, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

The staff is very courteous and quality of hotel, rooms, food is very good. The location is also at the center of the city. Each and every minute detail is taken care of and I would love to stay back in the hotel if happen to visit the city again. The staff is very courteous and quality of hotel, rooms, food is very good. The location is also at the center of the city. Each and every minute detail is taken care of and I would love to stay back in the hotel if happen to visit the city again. The staff is very courteous and quality of hotel, rooms, food is very good. The location is also at the center of the city. Each and every minute detail is taken care of and I would love to stay back in the hotel if happen to visit the city again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Vikas S,

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts on our hotel. I was delighted to see that you enjoyed your experience at Homewood Suites. I appreciate you mentioning the courteous staff. If it would not be too much of an inconvenience, would you be kind enough to “like” us on facebook? We hope that when your travels bring you back to downtown Chicago, we will remain a top choice for you.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,773 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,034
    520
    156
    33
    30
See reviews for
708
389
100
355
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Have been going to this hotel once a year for many years and the week stay has always been enjoyable. The hotel staff does a great job to accommodate your needs and we have always found the location superb. You are close to everything in downtown Chicago.
This stay we met the evening manager and he went out of his way to help us enjoy our visit. When sitting in the lobby he would often come over to see how our day went and offer suggestions on what to see in Chicago. We had to leave earlier than anticipated and he made a point of coming over to thank us for staying and wish us a safe trip home. We are looking forward to our week visit in 2014.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Terry T,

Thank you for your feedback after your recent visit to our hotel. It made me happy to see that you had another great experience at Homewood Suites downtown Chicago. I appreciate you mentioning the accommodating staff. If it would not be too much of an inconvenience, would you be kind enough to “like” us on facebook? We look forward to accommodating you again the next time your travels bring you to Chicago.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Hotel is in a great place (one block from Magnifcient mile, and maybe two blocks from the river), easy walk to some great restaurants and even to the loop. A really amazing complimentary breakfast and staff were super helful. Look forward to next visit to Chi-Town

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Klinton C,

Thank you for recently visiting with us and for posting a review of Homewood Suites downtown Chicago. I was pleased to see that you had a great experience at our hotel. It seems like you were able to take advantage of the complimentary breakfast and the location of the hotel while visiting downtown Chicago. If it would not be too much of an inconvenience, would you be kind enough to “like” us on facebook? We hope you give us the opportunity to create a great experience for you again soon.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Enjoyed a great overnight stay in downtown Chicago. Valet and attendance were remarkable, never had to wait long for anything. Hotel was clean and quiet. And what a great location, central to everything and right next to Michigan Ave!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Julie L,

I want to thank you for sharing the details of your recent visit with us. I was proud to see that you and your family enjoyed your experience at Homewood Suites and that you felt you received fantastic customer service. If it would not be too much of an inconvenience, would you be kind enough to “like” us on facebook? We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Chicago.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeWitt, Michigan
Top Contributor
421 reviews 421 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Had a 3 night visit for pleasure with my 7 year old granddaughter. Everything from the doormen (so attentive and helpful), the staff, the kitchen workers, front desk, housekeeping were all so friendly and welcoming. The first night of our stay our room was a little warm, I brought it up to the front desk and told her no hurry and there was someone up to take care of it within 20 minutes. The roof top (enclosed) swimming pool with its wonderful views was a complete hit, my granddaughter loved it and had a blast. It was very clean and not over crowded. Our room was very welcoming and clean. We had an amazing trip and HomeWood made it the icing on the cake.

Room Tip: We had an upper floor room, highly recommended for a Chicago stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
SharieN_13,

Thank you for your review of Homewood Suites downtown Chicago. I was delighted to see that you and your family had a great experience at our hotel. I appreciate you mentioning the attentive and helpful staff. It seems like your family had fun at the pool and enjoyed the view. If it would not be too much of an inconvenience, would you be kind enough to “like” us on facebook? Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to hosting you at the hotel the next time you are in town.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, Connecticut, United States
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Booked this online, going off the grid for "host hotels" for business. Staff were great - friendly, helpful. They moved me, no problem, when someone in a nearby room was smoking. Clean rooms, lots of extra coffee. I'd go back!

Room Tip: Not near elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
S_CT30_13,

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts on our hotel. I was delighted to see that you had a great experience at Homewood Suites. I appreciate you mentioning the friendly and helpful staff. If it would not be too much of an inconvenience, would you be kind enough to “like” us on facebook? We hope that when your travels bring you back to downtown Chicago, we will remain a top choice for you.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Location is excellent for exploring the Miracle Mile, Navy Pier, and Millennium Park areas. Easy to reach all 3 on foot. Nice to have 2 rooms, each with a TV and to have a full kitchen and coffee maker. Manager's reception during the week is very nice, especially if it was a long day walking! Only 10 min to the Architecture Boat tour at Michigan Ave bridge. Definitely a tour to take.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Oldandgo,

Thank you for your feedback after your recent visit to our hotel. I was pleased to see that Homewood Suites downtown Chicago is your home-base while visiting the city. I was glad to see that you were able to take advantage of many of the amenities we offer such as the Manager’s reception, full in-suite kitchen, and spacious suite. If it would not be too much of an inconvenience, would you be kind enough to “like” us on facebook? We look forward to accommodating you again the next time your travels bring you to Chicago.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown

Address: 40 East Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Chicago
#40 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#50 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your downtown Chicago experience begins here, welcome to the Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown. Our location places you within walking distance to the Magnificent Mile, world-class restaurants and the infamous Chicago attractions. Where service is nothing short of extraordinary, the Homewood Suites family will welcome your every request. All of our guests will enjoy the following amenities,•Spacious, Newly Renovated two-room King suite with separate living, sleeping areas and fully equipped kitchens •Complimentary daily hot breakfast buffet •Complimentary Monday through Thursday Dinner Reception, meal with beer, wine and soda •Complimentary high-speed Wireless Internet access throughout the Hotel •Complimentary executive business center with high-speed Internet access •Complimentary cardio-fitness and indoor pool •Complimentary grocery shopping service •Complimentary coffee, tea, hot chocolate or cider all day long in the lobby •24 hour convenience shop •Hilton Honors Points –receive BOTH airline miles and hotel points for every stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Hilton Hotels so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown
Homewood Chicago
Hilton Chicago
Chicago Hilton
Chicago Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.