We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central located, but simple rooms with old furniture” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown

Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 East Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611 (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Downtown Parking!
Ranked #31 of 167 hotels in Chicago
Hamburg
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Central located, but simple rooms with old furniture”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

I choosed the Homewood Suites by Hilton, because I am Hilton gold card member and thought I can get an room upgrade for my whole week stay.

I got a so called 'king suite', but that king must be very poor. The room was really simple and old funitured. Well, what you get is a small sleeping room with a king size bed and direct connected bathrrom and a livingroom with a kitchen.

The fridge made loud noises and you have to turn it down if you dont want to hear it at night when you sleep.

The Homewood Suites offering free breakfast, but don't expect much. It's very simple scambled eggs and saussage (tasting like filled with 80% bread and 20% meet) or bacon, some fruits, thin juices and coffee or tea.

Monday to thursday you get some food and cheap wine in the late afternoon as well.

The housekeeping is not cleaning very professionell. The bathroom was not really clean and there was dust everywhere in the livingroom.

If you don't want to get disturbed by the street noise, choose a high floor and stay away from the elevator; btw, they have just elevators, that's enough. Sometimes you have to wait long time to get an elevator.

I don't know why americans always have to slap the doors and have to talk very loud late night on the floor.

The stuff is friendly and tries to help you for any question.

The location is perfect for shopping and the next tube station is just one block away.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Harlemjump,

Thank you for recently staying with us and for posting a review of Homewood Suites downtown Chicago. I would like to apologize for any disappointment you felt during your stay at our hotel. In regards to the dust and cleanliness of your suite; we will discuss the issue as a team to ensure that this does not happen again. Thank you again for you feedback; it is greatly appreciated!

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,527 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    929
    442
    117
    21
    18
See reviews for
620
327
88
296
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hannover, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

We had outstanding experience with Amer. This Guy is extremly friendly. When asking for the care he was able to get it within less than 10 minutes at any Time. The service is remarkable. The company can be proud to have such an employee.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Ulrike R,

I want to thank you for sharing the details of your recent visit with us. I was delighted to see that you had an outstanding experience with Amer. We are extremely proud of the services Amer and the entire Valet team provide. If it would not be too much of an inconvenience, would you be kind enough to “like” us on facebook? We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Chicago.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

It is old, but homey. A good bargain for me, since I use Hilton Honors points, They have the best complementary breakfast anywhere, every day, and a very complete dinner 4 nights a week. I was just there over Thanksgiving and they had the full Thanksgiving dinner for us -- ham, turkey, cranberry sauce, mashed and sweet potatoes, green beans, salad, two kinds of pie, rolls, beer, white and red wine, water. It is also nice to have a kitchen and a separate sitting room, especially if you are traveling with someone with different habits.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
oldlawmom,

Thank you for your review of Homewood Suites downtown Chicago. It made me proud to see that you loved our hotel so much. I can see that you and your family took advantage of the full Thanksgiving dinner and the extra space in your suite. If it would not be too much of an inconvenience, would you be kind enough to “like” us on facebook? Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to hosting you at the hotel the next time you are in town.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

I've stayed here several times. Great, great location, 1.5 blocks from Michigan Ave and an easy walk to many places. Well-maintained property, terrific service, food(!), and at a very good rate. I'll stay here again next time I'm in Chicago without hesitation and definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
RickTx,

Thank you for recently staying with us and for posting a review of Homewood Suites downtown Chicago. I was delighted to see that you and your family had a great experience at our hotel. If it would not be too much of an inconvenience, would you be kind enough to “like us on facebook? We hope you give us the opportunity to create a great experience for you again soon.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincennes, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

I had never been to Chicago and quite frankly was overwhelmed with the traffic and stress of navigating.Looking back now its not a problem but while staying at Homewood Suites in Downtown Chicago, one of the front desk workers named Amer left a lasting impression.Amer had a knack for organizing droves of people while incessantly whistling and calling for cabs. He was someone you could trust to get you the cab you needed in an extremely efficient manner. While staying there for the week, my boss and I had to load a large assortment of gear from one car to a taxi.Amer called the taxi quickly and began loading everything in.It was clear there would be no way to fit everything in without some discomfort. Amer quickly called another cab and my boss rode in the second while the gear and myself were transported first. Time and again, Amer never failed to get a task done.We are forever thankful.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Sam B,

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts on our hotel. I was pleased to see that you were so impressed with the service Amer provided. We are fortunate to have such a wonderful valet team; I appreciate you taking the time to mention all the work that they do. If it would not be too much of an inconvenience, would you be kind enough to “like” us on facebook? We hope that when your travels bring you back to downtown Chicago, we will remain a top choice for you.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Kentucky
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

A bit dated in the rooms, but ample place, clean and friendly staff. Close to michigan ave shopping, Nordstrom and lots if dining options in various $ ranges. Repeat visitor and we'll come back. Stayed here with family and several times on convention travel.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
SabineB702,

Thank you for your feedback after your recent visit to our hotel. It made me happy to see that you frequently choose to stay at Homewood Suites downtown Chicago. I was glad to see that you took advantage of the location of the hotel visiting the many shops, sights, and restaurants in the area. If it would not be too much of an inconvenience, would you be kind enough to “like” us on facebook? We look forward to accommodating you again the next time your travels bring you to Chicago.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saline, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit and were quick to recommend Homewood Suites to friends & family. Management was especially accommodating for our daughter's birthday! Homewood Suites was easy to find as we drove into Chicago. The hotel was convenient walking distance to the Thanksgiving Day parade, shopping, museums, and restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Jean W,

I want to thank you for sharing the experience of your recent visit with us. I was pleased to see that you and your family had an excellent Thanksgiving Getaway for your daughter’s birthday at Homewood Suites downtown Chicago. It seems like you were able to take advantage of the wonderful location of the hotel as you walked to the Thanksgiving Day Parade, shops, museums, and restaurant. If it would not be too much of an inconvenience, would you be kind enough to “like” us on facebook? We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Chicago.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown

Address: 40 East Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Chicago
#29 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#32 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your downtown Chicago experience begins here, welcome to the Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown. Our location places you within walking distance to the Magnificent Mile, world-class restaurants and the infamous Chicago attractions. Where service is nothing short of extraordinary, the Homewood Suites family will welcome your every request. All of our guests will enjoy the following amenities,•Spacious, Newly Renovated two-room King suite with separate living, sleeping areas and fully equipped kitchens •Complimentary daily hot breakfast buffet •Complimentary Monday through Thursday Dinner Reception, meal with beer, wine and soda •Complimentary high-speed Wireless Internet access throughout the Hotel •Complimentary executive business center with high-speed Internet access •Complimentary cardio-fitness and indoor pool •Complimentary grocery shopping service •Complimentary coffee, tea, hot chocolate or cider all day long in the lobby •24 hour convenience shop •Hilton Honors Points –receive BOTH airline miles and hotel points for every stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hilton Hotels, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown
Homewood Chicago
Hilton Chicago
Chicago Hilton
Chicago Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.