We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great birthday weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown to your Saves list
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 East Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611 (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park and Chill Savings
Ranked #45 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
East York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great birthday weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Celebrated my brother's 50th - very comfortable, loved having the kitchen and well located. Service friendly and the staff even left him cupcakes and a card upon checking which he really appreciated. Thanks for a great weekend!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
LindaW5050,

I want to thank you for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us. I was happy to see that you and your family had a great experience celebrating your brother’s 50th birthday at Homewood Suites downtown Chicago. If it would not be too much of an inconvenience, would you be kind enough to “like” us on facebook? We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Chicago.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,012
    505
    146
    30
    28
See reviews for
688
375
97
345
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melrose
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

This hotel is ok - equivalent to Comfort Suites in Chicago. Pro- good location - a block or so from Michigan Ave and sound proofing of rooms was good. Con - mediocre breakfast & dinner offerings, would benefit from an upgrade of furnishings.

Front desk clerk was helpful. Some of the staff at breakfast/dinner check in were less than welcoming.

I don't think I'll be back - there are better places at similar prices.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Teddysdad,

Thank you for your review of Homewood Suites downtown Chicago. I apologize for you average experience with us. We make it a point to go above and beyond all our guest’s expectations. I sincerely thank you for your feedback and hope that you give us the opportunity to deliver an excellent experience.

Graciously,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Suites are okay (other than the sofa beds) but there are better value/modern/larger suite hotels in the neighborhood. Very good location, helpful staff but breakfast is average (no fruit offered, toaster broken, limited selection, average food). Okay hotel if you get a good rate.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Scott K,

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts on our hotel. I was pleased to see that the location of the hotel was convenient for you and that the staff was helpful. In regards to breakfast, I do apologize for any displeasure. We tweak the menu daily in an attempt to satisfy all of our guests. We hope that when your travels bring you back to downtown Chicago, we will remain a top choice for you.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We are a family of four with teen kids and stayed for 9 nights here: it was really a home away from home. The location could not be better. Within walking distance of the Navy Pier, the Hancock Tower, Millennium Park, the Art Institute, the Magnificent Mile, Willis Tower and all the wonderful stores and restaurants that you could ever want to visit. Wrigley Field, Adler planetarium, Shedd Aquarium and Field Museum are all accesible by hailing one of the infinite supply of taxis available everywhere or by walking around the corner for the subway station (Red Line). If you plan to go to the Museum of Science and Industry you should take the subway and a bus ride since it is considerably farther away. A taxi will cost you over $20 to get you there.
TA short three block walk to Gino's East Pizza for the bountiful Meaty Legend or to Al's Beef for the famous Italian beef are required. (For a truly unforgettable Chicago experience you HAVE to go Deep Dish in pizza at Gino's and dunk the Italian beef sandwich at Al's). Two grocery stores around the corner: Trader Joe and Jewel Osco will take care of every grocery need for you. Walgreens is a couple blocks away. Of course, you will not be cooking all that much at this place since you have a complimentary buffet daily breakfast and an evening reception (Monday to Thursday) to take care of you. The food is not memorable but it does the job nicely. Scrambled eggs, sausage, potatoes or biscuit, hot and cold cereals, fruits, yogurt, bagels, bread, pastries and do-it-yourself waffles. Evening reception dinner is more limited but adequate.
The suite is not spacious as other similar type of hotels but was good enough for us. We stayed on a King Suite on a corner of the building,1904, with a splendid view of the Intercontinental hotel with its lighted dome to the East, the Hancock Tower to the north and the Trump Tower to the South. The sofa bed barely fits in the room when it is open. The mattress is in poor condition and uncomfortable. Asked the front desk for a replacement and they brought a two inch foam top that did the trick. The kitchen is well equipped. Microwave, coffee maker with complimentary coffee, full size refrigerator with freezer and ice maker, toaster, two-burner stove top, plenty of storage space, all the utensils, pots and pans, sink with garbage disposal and automatic dishwasher. The maid comes every day, makes up the room and does the dishes. Super excellent service. The room was clean and the bathroom was impeccable with a tub and shower separate from the sink for privacy. The bedroom has a door also for privacy although the lock does not work. Iron, ironing board, hair blower available in the room also. Limited TV options but there is a DVD player in the living room area. Never used it. Plenty of power sockets for charging all your electronics. I certainly would have preferred to have a safe in the room.
There is an indoor pool on the 19th floor: 4 feet deep at its deeper end. Good for the kids. Visited the fitness center every day. Also on the 19th. It has two treadmill machines, one recumbent pedaling machine and an elliptical machine. All very good. There are dumbbells for all your needs (up to 70 pounds), an adjustable bench, a Home Gym and various medicine balls. You can get your workout done although the room is rather small. With five to six people working out at the same time it feels crowded. There are complimentary single use headphones available.
There is a small convenience store besides the front desk. It does the job. You can buy the single use laundry detergent packets here. There is a coin operated guest laundry on the 7th floor with two washing machines and two dryers. All cost $1.50 and there is no change machine. You have to take the stairs to the 6th to ask for change at the front desk.
All said, the staff is friendly, helpful, courteous and their best asset. Definitely will be staying here again when we return to Chicago.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner suite. They say they are bigger. And ask for the foam mattress top for the sofa bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Hectorjuan,

Thank you for your feedback after your recent visit to our hotel. I was delighted to see that during your 10 day family trip, Homewood Suites made you feel at home. I see that you all had the Chicago experience visiting all the sights, trying deep dish pizza, and the Italian beef sandwiches. If it would not be too much of an inconvenience, would you be kind enough to “like” us on facebook? We look forward to accommodating you again the next time your travels bring you to Chicago.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Valet service was excellent and friendly. The L, Union Station, Shopping, and Restarants - able to ask questions on all topics and staff was courteous, friendly, and knowledgeable on all questions asked. The hot breakfast was great, and the hotel staff bused/worked the breakfast area in a quick manner and were very friendly. Location of hotel was idea for our stay in downtown Chi-town. Thanks for making our stay even more enjoyable!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Work23,

Thank you for recently staying with us and for posting a review of Homewood Suites downtown Chicago. I was glad to see that you had an enjoyable experience at our hotel. I appreciate you taking the time to mention the courteous, friendly, and knowledgeable staff you encountered throughout your visit. If it would not be too much of an inconvenience, would you be kind enough to “like” us on facebook? We hope you give us the opportunity to create a great experience for you again soon.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAllen, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Sometimes it's not the bells and whistles, the shiny lights, or high end fixtures, but the people that MAKE a hotel; and after spending 7 nights here with my family, I can say, this hotel has a FANTASTIC staff. Amir and all the ground floor door men are beyond friendly and helpful... ready to offer directions, hail a cab, or just make you day with a warm smile and a "Great to see you again!" The efficient front desk has an answer or will get one quickly. The housekeeping does an outstanding job of keeping things neat and tidy, and they truly go above and beyond. My boys especially loved coming back to the hotel to find their stuffed animals in special "new" places. I was also pleased to see management up front, readily seen, and not hidden away. Good people. That makes a big difference in my book. Some fancier hotels can learn a thing or two about service, and they can learn it from this particular hotel!

Overall the hotel is clean and well maintained, and the king size beds are very comfortable. The hotel is perfectly located to great downtown shopping and dining (personal dining highlight was India House just down the street), and although we had a kitchenette with cook top, microwave, dishwasher, and nearly full-size fridge, the downstairs complementary breakfast was more than adequate. If there is room for improvement, it would be the dinners, which were so-so. But come on... how many hotels do complementary dinners and while there is no doubt that the quality pales in comparison to a $35 meal down the block, a family of 4 can save some real $$$ here, and after a long day of sight seeing, the hotel's dinner is just fine.

Ultimately, if I had to pick between great food or a great staff, I'd take the great staff any day. After all, you can always go out for a great meal, but a great chef isn't gong to be drawing a map for you, fetching your towels, hailing your cab, or delivering your luggage.

Two thumbs up Homewood Chicago. I'd recommend y'all any day of the week!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
IreneBT,

I want to thank you for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us. I was pleased to see that you and your family enjoyed every single day of your seven day visit at Homewood Suites downtown Chicago. I truly appreciate all your feedback in regards to the superb staff; I will be certain to pass-along your compliments to the entire team. It seems like the complimentary breakfast, dinner reception, and in-suite amenities really added value to your seven day trip. Thank you for recommending our hotel to everyone out there, it is greatly appreciated. If it would not be too much of an inconvenience, would you be kind enough to “like” us on facebook? We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Chicago.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ct
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Had a great two night stay here, family of four. The suite was very spacious and had a full kitchen. Enjoyed free cocktails, dinner and breakfast the next morning. All was very good. The location was centrally located. Rates were great; staff was friendly and helpful. Would stay again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodHiltonChiIL, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
G K,

Thank you for your review of Homewood Suites downtown Chicago. I was delighted to see that you and your family enjoyed your experience at our hotel. It seems like you were able to take advantage of the full kitchen in your suite, the breakfast, and the dinner reception. If it would not be too much of an inconvenience, would you be kind enough to “like” us on facebook? Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to hosting you at the hotel the next time you are in town.

Sincerely,

Jason Park
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown

Address: 40 East Grand Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Business Hotel in Chicago
#42 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#44 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your downtown Chicago experience begins here, welcome to the Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown. Our location places you within walking distance to the Magnificent Mile, world-class restaurants and the infamous Chicago attractions. Where service is nothing short of extraordinary, the Homewood Suites family will welcome your every request. All of our guests will enjoy the following amenities,•Spacious, Newly Renovated two-room King suite with separate living, sleeping areas and fully equipped kitchens •Complimentary daily hot breakfast buffet •Complimentary Monday through Thursday Dinner Reception, meal with beer, wine and soda •Complimentary high-speed Wireless Internet access throughout the Hotel •Complimentary executive business center with high-speed Internet access •Complimentary cardio-fitness and indoor pool •Complimentary grocery shopping service •Complimentary coffee, tea, hot chocolate or cider all day long in the lobby •24 hour convenience shop •Hilton Honors Points –receive BOTH airline miles and hotel points for every stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Homewood Suites Chicago Downtown
Homewood Chicago
Hilton Chicago
Chicago Hilton
Chicago Homewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.